We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLE & FRIENDLY HOTEL”
Review of DGI-byens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DGI-byens Hotel
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
St-Germain-en-Laye, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SIMPLE & FRIENDLY HOTEL”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is very well located few hundred meters away from Copenhaguen train station. Rooms are simple but well filled. Free WIFI. Restaurant is very good for all meals breakfast lunch & dinner. The most differentiating facility is the huge swimming pool that contains several areas, including diving, round pool (endless swimming) and sauna. Price are reasonnable for Denmark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    160
    160
    72
    23
See reviews for
122
109
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While not the most upscale of hotels, it certainly fit my needs. The rooms were very clean, open and bright. The location was approximately three blocks to the train station, four blocks to Tivoli Gardens and the major downtown attractions.
I was a bit surprised on the cost of doing laundry.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the south side have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was my regular hotel sometime ago when I used to travel to CPH regularly. I liked the proximity to Central Station but also the proximity to the place where I had to do my work. Plus, the pool was excellent. So I was surprised how this place has not kept up with the times. As has been noted by several reviewers, there is no WiFi in the room; Internet is available only through ethernet cable. Also, pool is no longer free and you have to pay 30 kroners to use it. The pool was the only thing that kept me coming back but without it's not worth returning.

Room Tip: Side that does not face the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peregrine415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The room was big and bright, but the room was located next to the train station, so it was noisy. It wasn`t any aircondioning at the room, and it was to noisy to keep the balcony door open.
Very basic hotel with good location in the city. It was no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivanitast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for a weekend, and got a big and bright room. It was a bit noisy because the hotel is located right next to the train station, and the room was too warm to keep the balcony door closed. The drain in the bathroom didn't work properly, so the floor was flooded when we showered. The location suited us perfectly, as it's close to the shopping and restaurant areas. The breakfast was disappointing, especially as far as the vegan/vegetarian selection goes.

To sum it all up, it was just OK, and not what I expected in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I staid here for a couple of nights for a work trip to Copenhagen and I honestly could not bring myself to like the place.
The overall look and feel of the place (no room service, no in room wifi, no mini bar) is that of one of those hostels where you can get private rooms as well as dorms.
I didn't find it modern I found it squalid and shabby. Both room and bathroom are spacious but everything is absolutely plain, white, with nothing to cheer up the environment. The bathroom (specially the sink) could do with a bit of refurbishing as some items (specially the sink) are very old.
It was although clean and sleep quality good (it is by the train station but from the 3rd floor you could barely hear the trains in the distance).
Good points about it:
- breakfast was tasty
- the hotel is located within a sports center with gym and swimming pool that you can access for a decent fee (30 DKK for hotel guests)
- walking distance from both Tivoli and downtown
- right beside the train station

Beside this I found it sad. even for an average business hotel and incredibly overpriced (238€ for a room which is not worth it: ok we're in Denmark and everything is expensive but it felt like a rip off!). Maybe I don't fully understand Danish minimalism....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Because it was hot in te room and no air conditioning, we wanted to keep the windows open but we soon had to close them due to the fact it was too noisy because of the noises of the trains which is competetive all night! Although there was no air conditioning, we had a fan whick had to stay on all night as it was so hot! The fan made a horrible sound which was annoying and went on all night long reapeting over and over again! I enjoyed how near the hotel was to everything apart from the train station! Overall i liked my stay at DGI byen as they also have free wifi!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JixxyPixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
762 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Tiffany
Hotel Tiffany
#30 of 116 in Copenhagen
390 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#79 of 116 in Copenhagen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 116 in Copenhagen
484 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
992 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DGI-byens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DGI-byens Hotel

Property: DGI-byens Hotel
Address: Tietgensgade 65, Copenhagen 1704, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DGI-byens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DGI-byens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dgi Byen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing