We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Wantage
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here with my wife on a combined business and holiday trip. The hotel is on the waterfront and very convenient for Nyhavn. The room was clean and comfortable. We were on the 4 the floor and had a view to the side, rooms on lower floors have a window alcove which allows a water view (if you sit in the window). Breakfast was quite acceptable but got fairly bust about 9.00am. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. All in all a good hotel at a reasonable price for Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Go for floors 1-3 for an oblique view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain_and_Elma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    684
    313
    73
    28
See reviews for
218
573
63
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here on business. The hotel is in a good location near the city centre and on the waterfront. Rooms were a little small but were clean and in a decent condition. There was a good selection of different dishes for the buffet breakfast but this hotel has no other food from the restaurant at other times of the day. Staff were friendly and helpful but my only gripe was that I was on a ground floor room and had to put up with some music through the walls or floor in the early hours. Not really the hotel's fault but it did spoil my sleep on the two nights that I was there. I would recommend getting a room higher up to avoid this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_McCNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Recently stayed for 6 nights at the Copenhagen Strand hotel when visiting our daughter who was studying abroad for the semester. Great location and they upgraded us to a bigger room for a nominal charge. Very happy we went with the larger room-it was facing the harbor and was just lovely, especially with the windows open and a nice breeze. They even had bikes to rent, which was very helpful and fun. The staff was super and also helpful.
Only complaint was the room was a little hot since it was unusually hot for April and no a/c yet. But Henrietta hunted down a fan for us to use. I was so thankful she did that and we slept comfortably after that.
Breakfast was good, bountiful and traditional Danish fare

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Strand Hotel is an older hotel just across the road from one of the central waterways in Copenhagen. It's about a 5 minute walk from a major square and Metro station. I stayed twice in a room for a single person. The rooms were small but fine for one person and very clean. Both the rooms I had were on the ground floor on the back with a direct view of a small parking lot and the garbage bins. This isn't as bad as it sounds because both rooms had high windows on two sides so the rooms were bright.

Generally, the hotel does not really take advantage of its beautiful setting. The lobby is below ground level, dark and carpeted. The staff is not super helpful but the hotel was sold out both times I was there so they were likely very busy.

Overall, it's a good price in Copenhagen for a hotel in the downtown area that's clean and convenient. Not the sort of hotel you'd want if you were hoping to relax and enjoy your hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartecerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen nh, nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown copenhagen. The standard room is not very large but its ok. there is a mini bar and coffee equipment. Breakfast is very good with lots of choices and fresh fruits and salads. The guy behind the reception at arrival was not very friendly but for me it was not a problem. At night he served us a good beer and his mood was better. overall very good hotel to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A very nice hotel where we have staid twice. The location is perfect, close to Kongens nytorg and Nyhavn. The reception area is spacious with small alcoves to sit down and relax. The rooms are OK and the staff is friendly. The breakfast is good but the breakfastroom was a bit crowdy and we did miss the herring!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

we looked for quite but center location and this is great. take the excutive rooms (they are much bigger and face the canal) and as high as you can.
the hotel have no aircondition so be aware of that. in June just to open the window is enought but probably not in July / Aug. - 2 minutes to the NyHovn and 5 min to the metro - many good restaurant in 5-0 min radius. be aware that the room is not realy cleaned every day - just aranged and towel changed and it is done around 4PM. it was clean and very nice.

Room Tip: see above for tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaikidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,125 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
136 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#69 of 116 in Copenhagen
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
515 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
906 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#46 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Property: Copenhagen Strand
Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing