We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copenhagen Family of Four”
Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #29 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Copenhagen Family of Four”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

After an exhaustive search of properties suitable for my wife and two young boys during a holiday to Copenhagen, I chose the Strand. I looked at almost every location (Islands Brygge, Norrebro, etc); property type (International Name Brands, smaller boutiques, apartels, etc and finally pulled the trigger because of the price and proximity to all the main sights of Copenhagen.

The hotel was offering heavily discounted rates for the Easter week. I booked my reservation several months prior and found even greater discounts as long as I pre-purchased the rooms (no refunds or cancellations).

For my needs, the location could not be beat. Walking distance to NyHaven , Stroget, the Metro, but far enough from any crowds. The hotel is on a quiet street facing a peaceful canal across Cristianshavn. Many non-touristy restaurants are within several meters of the property.

I initially reserved a lower tier room, but was then emailed and offered an upgrade for a reasonable fee. I took the bait. It was well worth it. The room I got was a fairly large sun-drenched suite directly fronting the canal, with one entire wall full of windows. The main bed for my wife and I was equivalent to a Queen size by American standards. The kids were in a fold out sofa that was made up already when we checked in.

The bathroom was sized generously as well, done in class marble and granite replete with "his and her" sinks, heated floors, bathtub and shower combo, and the typical shampoo, conditioner, shower amenities. My wife is very picky about cleanliness, and she was impressed.

Our rate included daily breakfast which had quite a variety of options. I could have had just a croissant and danish butter everyday, and I would have been happy! They were THAT good. But there was so much more to try, like the cold cuts and cheeses. There were no "international options" during my stay, e.g. no bacon, no pancakes, no fried potatoes but I was not expecting such any way.

Only shortcomings during my stay had to do with the level of housekeeping service. Almost everyday, there were little things here and there that were not tidied up in the room. For instance, although the coffee cups in the room were replaced, the used cups were not removed. This happened EVERY day. Another example: old newspapers left near the garbage can were clearly meant to be discarded, but they were still there by the time we checked out.

Overall, the Strand offered the best place to stay for a holiday in Copenhagen with my family. I would choose this property again when we return to Denmark.

Room Tip: The Copenhagen Card allows you ride the Canal Boat Tour from either operator, despite what the Copen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    698
    318
    75
    29
See reviews for
222
586
65
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Strand Hotel in Copenhagen for three nights commencing the 21st of April. The Hotel is situated overlooking the canal and in a quiet area of the City, we experienced no traffic noise and it was a very peaceful location but only a short walk from Nyhaven and other key sites. We booked a Superior Double room which was very clean and of good quality with hair dryer trouser press and room in the mini fridge to hold some of our own items such as milk. The communal areas were also clean and tidy and all staff spoke excellent English and did all they could to help with an enquires we had. The breakfast was good quality, wide variety and plentiful. Local bread, cheese, pate, crisp breads, fruit, cereals, eggs and wonderful porridge with cranberries.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvik, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great location, got a cheap upgrade to Suite overlooking the harbor. Wonderful view, quiet. Nearby everything, especially great restaurants nearby. Great and wonderful beds - also long blankets :-) Very walking a biking friendly location, but then again so is most of Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Very little traffic overlooking the harbor. One way street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrodeKommode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A good hotel - nice big reception with comfy settees and welcoming staff - all speak good English - free city maps on reception.
Rooms small but fine - projecting bay window gives view along alley way to canal but looks out onto oppressive ware house building opposite - with lots of windows - offices? Beds comfy.
Shower tended to flood the bathroom.
Flat screen TV with BBC world news. Free wireless internet.
Breakfast manic - self service continental - with guests and staff milling around constantly. May need to queue if get there late.Not many English guests.
Few blocks walk to Nyhaven restaurants and canal trips.
Ideal spot and reasonably priced in what is a very expensive country.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Basically, it settle basic need. A comfortable room. Basic needs TV,, work desk, free wireless internet access. Reasonable and will satisfy those traveller who just require basic needs. Cost 900++ dkr.

Understand the breakfast is typical Danish breakfast. Noted there are no fried stuff (eg fried eggs or sausages, bacons,or harsh brown etc). But have to admit very heathy with stiff like boiled eggs, fruits, cheese, yogurts, various bread and cold cuts. Personally would have preferred more varieties.

Only setbacks the restaurant only serve breakfast.. You have to settle your lunch and dinner outside the hoetl No convenience of meal being served in your room

Staff is pleasant and helpful. No issues. Location good as near to Nyhaven

Because of the breakfast limitation, would have chosen a hetal that serve intercontinental breakfast and serve meals in your room

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fei61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located in Copenhagen. The reception area is nice, the staff are friendly, and the breakfast is quite good (though it can be crowded). The room I had is the smallest I have ever stayed in! Having said that, it managed to feel more cozy than cramped. The washroom was big and the shower was powerful. The bed was a bit too soft for my liking, and there was a fair bit of noise outside of the room (1002) both at night and early in the morning. I sleep with ear plugs in so this didn't bother me too much, but I can see it bothering a lighter sleeper. Overall it was a nice experience. (I can't comment on the cost as my room was paid for by my business colleagues.)

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CarriesDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here with a child, and small interconnecting rooms worked well for us, at a very good price for Copenhagen - an expensive city.
The hotel isn't stylish or special, but had everything we needed: wifi, umbrellas at reception, maps & advice, plus a pleasant breakfast.
The location is perfect, near Nyhavn restaurants and in walking distance to the shops, Tivoli, Experimentarium and main train station. 5 min walk to Metro station too.

Room Tip: We had an ugly view of backs of buildings - front of hotel more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
203 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#69 of 116 in Copenhagen
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#35 of 116 in Copenhagen
908 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#38 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,205 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Property: Copenhagen Strand
Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing