We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can not be beat!”
Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This location is about a 3 minute walk to the Nyhavn harbor, about a 20 minute walk to Tivoli Gardens. Shopping and restaraunts in between. We traveled with our 3 and 6 year old boys. This hotel sits right on the harbor, but only a small percentage of the rooms face the harbor. Make sure you upgrade to one of them. We got a Junior Suite. It was definatly worth the upgrade to face the harbor. A junior suite by the way is about the same size (maybe still smaller) as a typical American hotel room.
The Strand had a free breakfast everymorning with pastries and cerial, cheese, etc. It was good enough. There is also a "bar" behind the reception desk where you can buy some Carlsbad beer or get a mixed drink or wine. It isn't really a "bar" though. But a few times I did walk down to grab a beer, so that is nice. Checkin was easy, we arrived around noon and our room was not yet ready, but they did hold our luggage for us. Staff was VERY friendly, helpfull. This street, there is not too many cabs on there, so the front desk can always arange a ride for you. Hotel was very cozy and clean. It is probably a 3 star hotel by American standards. I would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: You MUST pay extra for a harbor view.... it will really make your trip. Who wants to look at a bric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impresiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a 3 night stay at the hotel for my first time visit to Copenhagen. Originally had a standard room and was told it's quite small for 2 adults. So agreed to upgrade to an Executive room for 30 kroner more per night. The room was adequately spacious, with a good size bathroom with a bath tub shower. The only weird thing is that the shower sprays onto the floor, reason being that there's only a narrow glass partition(3 feet?) that extends from the shower wall.
The front desk personnel were very helpful, especially BJORN who gave us quite a bit of good advise - kudos. The breakfast which was included and quite filling. It has a number of danishes, variety of bread (1 gluten free option that you have to request) with butter/jellies, juices, some cold meats and pate, hard/soft boiled eggs, fruits, yogurt, cereal, nuts and dried fuits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was there for 3 nights , end of June 2011, so things might have improved since.
Very good location. Small room (as in very small, especially for two people) but with clean and decent bathroom. Standing near the closed windows, I could still feel the air current form outside..so I was lucky to stay there end of June I guess :) .I didn't like the breakfast room as it was quite crowded and looked squized into the main hallway somehow. Not impressed by the breakfast itself, but it was passable. Service...not the worst I've seend but definetly should improve.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaZamfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here as a group of four - two adults & two kids. Anyone who has tried to book a family room in Europe knows how difficult it can be to find a good one. That being said, I got a great price on this room and by going back to the vendor I was able to lower the price significantly and get free breakfast.

We felt quite lucky to get a large room with windows looking out on the canal. The breeze at night was delightful and yes, there was some noise, but this is Copenhagen and we were expecting it. We did a ton of laundry in the sink, the bathroom was large and the room offered many hangers The kids were in a fold out couch, but it was comfortable and they are teens. The breakfast buffet was good, it was jam packed of people but the waitresses refilled items that went quickly. We were there 5 days and it was a little old by the 5th day, but overall very good

Front desk staff were great, giving directions, and very friendly. Next time I come to Copenhagen I will stay at the Strand Previously I have stayed at the Admiral and while it seemed fancier, the Strand is my choice for best location.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room that faces the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First room I was given was small , no aircon and the window opened on the road, so no security. Walls were lined with Damp, damp stained and cracked. Paid good money, so went to reception and no apologies , and treated with disdain - as was late, paid for an upgrade ( V expensive) just to get a room I could sleep in. Phoned up room Service and no food or drink delivered - told then I was hungry but attitude was "tough". Stayed in many Copenhagen Hotels and this is the worse - travel Europe a lot and never been to a Hotel as bad as this.
Never again.

Room Tip: Top floor room overlooking Harbour better, but get better rooms and view at half the price at other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarcSOxfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed two nights on a business trip to Copenhage at this old hotel by the canal, which means that the hotell is located close to city center and only two minutes walk from Nyhavn - nice.
The room was clean but very small. There was missing a light bulb in over the desktop, and I told one of the employees who promised to have it fixed - nothing happend.
If you choose to have breakfast at the hotell, you are charged DKK125, and that is too much for this breakfast - make sure to not make a reservation including breakfast, there are many alternatives outside the hotell.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel has a great location and was clean and the staff was helpful. Complimentary coffee in the lobby was good but to add breakfast was 125 DKK. Seemed high to me considering every other hotel we stayed at included breakfast. There are a couple good spots for a morning cup and croissant very close by. Room was very small compared to other hotels we've stayed at in DK. Location is within walking distance from the Metro stop in Nyhavn which works well if you fly in to CPH and take the metro into the city. Great location for exploring the sites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
318 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#35 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#26 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,079 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,235 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $155 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing