We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good location - we walked everywhere. Our room was small, but we expected that in Copenhagen. The staff were friendly on reception; we didn't have breakfast as there are lovely cafes and pubs nearby. It is in the perfect location to stroll by the canals. It was quiet and clean, which is what we wanted. The bathroom was new and clean. A good hotel to base yourself in if you want to explore the sights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank by_the_sea_Fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
There are newer reviews for Copenhagen Strand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice hotel, price was okay, but to be honest overpriced for what you get. The room was tiny and only literally enough for a bet, table and a chair. Bathroom was a bit old. For that however the breakfast was truly excellent with the staff having no problem with you drinking tea there until you fall of your chair. I was sitting in the breakfast area for couple of hours after finish time and could "refill" stuff no problem. Staff very friendly, foyer very lovely with interesting theme. Location is pretty central - about 5 min to Nyhavn and about 10 min to city center. At night you can park your car for free if you can find a spon near by. Internet was a bit slow, but acceptable. My rooms windows very looking into backyard. But that was also an economy room (maybe that explains the size). At the same time the price of 130 EUR was too steep for this value. Area felt pretty safe at night and that was the time I arrived at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a great place to base ourselves when my girlfriend and I enjoyed a few days in Copenhagen. The hotel is ideally located for most of the main attractions and the city centre. We booked a small double room which was as it is described, but it was absolutely fine for what we wanted. Really clean and everything you'd get in a larger hotel room. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast set us up for the day. I'd definitely recommend Hotel Strand to anyone who wants to spend a few days seeing the sights - especially because of the tiny trampolines built into the quayside opposite the hotel entrance!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bagsy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Great location - close to all of Copenhagen's attractions. Very nice breakfast. Declined offer of upgrade to a room with a view for an extra £30 per night. Recommend a visit to Copenhagen zoo, and a bus over the Oresund bridge to Malmo - if you take the train the view of the bridge isn't as good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tighthead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've spent two nights here in February - Valentines day! I asked the receptionist if they could bring up a wine cooler and put the Champagne I brought with me in the wine cooler before I got home with. They did that no problem, and further more they put a rose and some peanuts on the table next to the Champagne. That was so thoughtful! They really care about their guests!

Besides my amazing experience with the service, the hotel was nice and clean and a big room (junior suite).

Would definitely come here again. Good location in the center of the city, but on a quiet street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location (right on the water front) was very convenient (especially for attending meetings at many government offices). It is short walking distance from numerous bars and restaurants, but is in a quiet location and very calm. The room was small, but perfectly clean and comfortable. No English language or international TV chanels, which seemed weird given the quality of the hotel overall. The room had a lovely little balcony with table and chairs (on backside of the hotel). Breakfast was excellent and service fine. I got a good deal on Hotels.com so the price was very good value for money, but if you paid full rate it might be a bit on the pricey side (though this is to be expected in Copenhagen, especially this area).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Strand is right on the major waterway in central Copenhagen, however the canal facing rooms are quite expensive. We stayed in a standard room which was very comfortable and spacious, especially for Copenhagen. We just enjoyed the view all the more every time we left and returned to the hotel.

Service throughout our stay was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and bent over backwards to accomodate any request. During quiet periods we enjoyed a pleasant chat with various staff members. My only complaint was that the free wi-fi was only available in the foyer area. But you meet more people this way, so it's not necessarily a bad thing.

The hotel is walking distance to just about everything and there are good restaurants close by. Our favourite was in the old customs house building a few metres from the hotel on the canal. If you book from the hotel, you get a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival. The views are excellent and the food was also excellent and, while not cheap, the serving sizes were very good. If you want cheap food, go to Germany, not Denmark.

The locals are very friendly, unless you get in the way of cyclists which is a very easy thing to do. We loved Copenhagen. I recommend visiting this beautiful city and you could do a lot worse that staying at the Strand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_bugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
295 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#35 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,041 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,312 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $162 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing