We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a short break in Copenhagen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Horsham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short break in Copenhagen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a great place to base ourselves when my girlfriend and I enjoyed a few days in Copenhagen. The hotel is ideally located for most of the main attractions and the city centre. We booked a small double room which was as it is described, but it was absolutely fine for what we wanted. Really clean and everything you'd get in a larger hotel room. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast set us up for the day. I'd definitely recommend Hotel Strand to anyone who wants to spend a few days seeing the sights - especially because of the tiny trampolines built into the quayside opposite the hotel entrance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagsy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    686
    313
    73
    28
See reviews for
218
575
63
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Great location - close to all of Copenhagen's attractions. Very nice breakfast. Declined offer of upgrade to a room with a view for an extra £30 per night. Recommend a visit to Copenhagen zoo, and a bus over the Oresund bridge to Malmo - if you take the train the view of the bridge isn't as good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tighthead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've spent two nights here in February - Valentines day! I asked the receptionist if they could bring up a wine cooler and put the Champagne I brought with me in the wine cooler before I got home with. They did that no problem, and further more they put a rose and some peanuts on the table next to the Champagne. That was so thoughtful! They really care about their guests!

Besides my amazing experience with the service, the hotel was nice and clean and a big room (junior suite).

Would definitely come here again. Good location in the center of the city, but on a quiet street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location (right on the water front) was very convenient (especially for attending meetings at many government offices). It is short walking distance from numerous bars and restaurants, but is in a quiet location and very calm. The room was small, but perfectly clean and comfortable. No English language or international TV chanels, which seemed weird given the quality of the hotel overall. The room had a lovely little balcony with table and chairs (on backside of the hotel). Breakfast was excellent and service fine. I got a good deal on Hotels.com so the price was very good value for money, but if you paid full rate it might be a bit on the pricey side (though this is to be expected in Copenhagen, especially this area).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Strand is right on the major waterway in central Copenhagen, however the canal facing rooms are quite expensive. We stayed in a standard room which was very comfortable and spacious, especially for Copenhagen. We just enjoyed the view all the more every time we left and returned to the hotel.

Service throughout our stay was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and bent over backwards to accomodate any request. During quiet periods we enjoyed a pleasant chat with various staff members. My only complaint was that the free wi-fi was only available in the foyer area. But you meet more people this way, so it's not necessarily a bad thing.

The hotel is walking distance to just about everything and there are good restaurants close by. Our favourite was in the old customs house building a few metres from the hotel on the canal. If you book from the hotel, you get a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival. The views are excellent and the food was also excellent and, while not cheap, the serving sizes were very good. If you want cheap food, go to Germany, not Denmark.

The locals are very friendly, unless you get in the way of cyclists which is a very easy thing to do. We loved Copenhagen. I recommend visiting this beautiful city and you could do a lot worse that staying at the Strand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_bugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent a cold and rainy weekend in Copenhagen this February. Hotel rooms are small but on a cold winter night the rooms are warm and beds comfortable. The staff are very helpful and friendly, always greeting you with a smile. The location requires you to walk a small distance to the centre, but after all the wonderful cakes you can consume in Denmark its not a bad thing. Breakfast is varied and kept me amused with the cheese cutter. I loved the coffee pots and currently searching to find a match on the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolves2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service and rooms were good and there was enough beverages and chocolates in the fridge to choose from. The only draw back I would say is the location - it is not close to major attractions so if you are planning a business trip this shoud be okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Property: Copenhagen Strand
Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing