We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good stay”
Review of Copenhagen Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copenhagen Strand
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here over New Years 12/13 with my wife and 2 year old son. The hotel is incredibly convenient for shopping, site seeing, eating and travelling to and from the airport. It is a bit of a walk from Tivoli Gardens but there are regular buses and the like. The rooms are small but relatively well equipped and they are a little tired in furnishings and decor. The breakfast isn't stellar but there is an endless supply of it and the staff are friendly. Overall it's not the best place I've stayed but it is far from the worst. What I particularly enjoyed about the hotel was the professionalism and courtesy of the staff.

If you haven't visited Copenhagen, you should. The city is beautiful, the food is excellent and the people are very friendly. To visit on a budget I would highly recommend the Strand as it sits perfectly in the middle between too cheap and too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corneredmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    698
    318
    74
    28
See reviews for
222
586
65
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very friendly, quiet and clean hotel. Small room but plenty of hooks and space to store everything. Great choice for breakfast (and they provide plain yoghurt, which can still be difficult to find in some hotels in England) and close to lots of restaurants. However, don't make our mistake, which involved turning left out of the hotel and then deciding it was all a bit quiet that way: if you keep going and turn left again you come to a very busy road for restaurants and bars! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubergine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We found the staff very friendly and more than willing to help us with any questions about getting around etc. Good breakfast with insulated pots of coffee on every table (why is everyone not doing this?). Nice room which was not huge, but fine for the two of us. We got a free upgrade to a balcony room, albeit not too handy in December it was appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during the new year. We arrived by train to the central railway station (Københavns Hovedbanegård) and it took us about 20-30 minutes to walk to the hotel with our suitcases (including some window shopping).

The hotel is nice, the rooms are perhaps a little on the small side but quite functional, the beds are comfortable as hotel beds go and everything is clean.
The breakfast buffet is very nice, it kept us going until dinnertime every day.

The location is great. It is in the pretty Nyhavn area. You have the main shopping area (Strøget), a metro station (Kungens Nytorv), Christianshavn and more restaurants/bars/pubs than you can count all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonasfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had two stays at this hotel because it was near my daughter's dorm and it was well priced. I had rooms on the lower end of the scale - a single one night and a double the second night. The rooms were small, enough to accommodate the bed and a desk. However, the single was a corner room (I think all of the singles are) and had windows on each wall, which I liked. The bathrooms were clean a sufficiently updated. The beds were comfortable with good sheets. The room was warm and comfortable. The breakfast, included in the room, was a very generous buffet. I don't eat gluten and was able to find plenty of choices (meats, eggs and cheese), which made me happy. The service was smooth although not overly friendly, but I found this to be generally true in Copenhagen. The location is excellent if touring the historic area. The metro is reasonably close. While I could see where this hotel might have some updates, I thought the hotel was quaint and well-kept and my stays there exceeded what I wanted - comfort, convenience and lack of problems. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed this hotel. The location is good; you can get the metro to and from the airport from Kongens Nytorv st which is the metro station a few minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is quite central and you could walk to most attractions from this hotel, which we did.

The hotel is pleasant and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast was also very nice and a great start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denzal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just came back from leisure/business trip from Copenhagen and stayed 2 nights in Strand.

Nice staff, nice rooms, clean bathroom, nice breakfast. If coming from airport, it is really easy to take a metro (36 DKK), go to Kungens Nytorv, turn on the right when coming up the stairs from metro. (Opera is on the other side of the street). Walk towards the canal - be aware of the cycklists - turn left before the canal bridge and walk some blocks and you are there.

In Denmark it is common that rooms has wall to wall carpets. But I usually ask for wooden floor room because of allergic reasons. It is also common in older buildings that there is only one layer of windows. When the weather is that cold as it is now there, shut the curtains and turn the heat a bit up, room is soon nice and warm :).

Room Tip: Ask for room with wooden floor if you are allergic to dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#38 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,204 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#35 of 116 in Copenhagen
904 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Strand

Property: Copenhagen Strand
Address: Havnegade 37, Copenhagen 1058, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen
Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing