We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night stay Lynda and Barrie” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Mercur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Ranked #55 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“3 night stay Lynda and Barrie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very good location, near railway and central for exploration. competitively priced. Room average standard, was clean and in the rear of the hotel so quiet,but overlooked by offices so had to close our curtains. No fridge, safe or iron which we have come to expect as normal. Hotel well heated during exceptionally cold weather. The included breakfast they gave us was a good quality and there was a wide choice. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Lynda G,

it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in january.

Heating is always a central question in cold weather, lovely to hear that it was well functioning for your taste. Irons and iron boards are available upon request, and the safes are situated in the lobby, we are sorry if this was an inconvenience.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    343
    301
    97
    45
See reviews for
183
294
53
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel was centrally located a block away from the central station, 500 metres away from Tivoli Gardens and the pick up point for the Hop on Hop off tour buses. The service was very good and I found the front desk staff pleasant and helpful. The rooms are exceptionally small, especially for 2 people travelling from a different continent! That said, the rooms are clean and relatively modern. The beds are very comfortable. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms which is very convenient. The breakfast was sufficient for our needs, serving both continental style pastries, cold meats and cheese as well as hot food items such as bacon, egg and pancakes. At times the dining room is very full and we had to share our table with other guests on occasion. The hotel is located close to cinemas as well as restuaurants and grocery stores. Be aware though that from 24 December till at least 26 December everything except Seven Elevens are closed, including the attractions like Rosenborg Caste, Amaliesborg and Christianbog Palaces. Tivoli Gardens re-opens on 26 December. I would stay in this hotel again.
The only drawback is the slightly noisy railway line that the hotel is situated across the road from.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main road because the railway line is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Lauren H,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your time used on providing us with your feedback.

Some of the rooms are unfortunately smaller than others, I am sorry if this was an inconvenience for you. You must have been here at a busy time I assume from your comment on the breekfast restaurant, it indeed can be packed when the hotel is fully booked.

We hope that you enjoyed everything Copenhagen had to offer.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here in November 2013. Asked for a room at the back after reading previous reviews. Very, very quiet. Big comfy bed and lots of space for our stuff. We were not in the room a huge amount as the hotel is very well located and we were out most of the day. Had opted for breakfast which was better than expected although some of our group preferred to head out for breakfast at local cafés. Free wi-fi is also a bonus, as is the small bar in reception and the friendly staff. The only thing that let down this hotel was the manky black shower curtain in the bathroom. Black shower curtain? What were they thinking?? However, I would recommend this hotel. Fourth floor at the back, can't remember the exact room but would stay in it again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Annieh71,

thank you for making time for a review of your recent stay with us.

It is lovely to hear that the room allocated and the breakfast buffet fulfilled your expectations.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the shower courtain, I can see how impractical it can be, making it darker in the shower. I guess it is a taste thing, we all like different variations of a certain thing/product.

We hope to see you again, should you plans take you to Copenhagen!

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Quite next to the central station and Vesterbrogade this "technical hotel" is good for sleeping and breakfast, however would not plan to stay there longer periods or daydreaming. Average service and only one elevator in use made us willing to walk around the beautiful parks in CPH and eat outside. The room was nice, but a bit worn out, having still one modern painting on the wall for enjoyment. View from the room was nice, but as someone already pointed out, the nearby railtrack can be annoying at times. Would not rule out this property for consideration during my next visit in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear K H,

thank you for the review of your recent stay with us in Copenhagen.

We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations.

The hotel is under constant improvement because we would like to provide the best for our guests, but that is an always ongoing process, therefore some rooms are different thank other, with regards to tear & wear or decoration.

It is great to hear though that you enjoyed our central location and view from the room.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very good location, central to city centre and only 10 minute walk from train station. Room comfortable and clean although very little storage space for clothes - one small wardrobe with one shelf and eight clothes hangers - no drawers. Breakfast buffet was basic but good offering scrambled eggs, bacon, various cheeses, cold meats, bread, fruit and pastries, The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is very close to Tivoli gardens which is a must to visit as is the changing of the guard and Carlsberg brewery if you like that kind of thing. We found the bus tour and boat trips a good way to explore the city. Sweden is only a half hour train journey away across the Öresund Bridge and the journey alone is worth the trip - please note we were told they would accept Danish Krone but we found this was not the case.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Stoooo,

thank you for making time for a review of BEST WESTERN Mercur Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast buffet.

I can see how in some rooms the storage seems small, this is an issue we are trying to fix in the future. The lack of drawers is a conscious choice, to minimize the chance for guests forgetting something there.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The location was pretty central to the city - within 5 minutes to Tivoli Gardens and the train station, with wonderful shopping on the Strøget beyond! The bed was VERY comfy, and the bathroom included a bath.
I do wish there had been room service available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGevarticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear LGevarticus,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is truly great to hear how you enjoyed our services and proximity to the city center.

I can see that room service could have made your stay even more comfortable, but it is unfortunately not a service we provide now.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.

Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston-on-Stour
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Having stopped in Best Western hotels all over the world i felt safe in booking a 3 night stay at this hotel. What a disappointment,we were given a room at the front of the hotel(315) on entering the room it had a smell of dampness,the shower area in the bathroom was very dirty, i myself cleaned the tiles which had evidence of previous occupation. Only one small wardrobe to put your clothes in 8 hangers and no draws,the bed was comfortable but with only 2 small pillows,no information in the room, Best Western should realise that not all people especially the more mature have smart phones to download information from the in room television via apps?.

The room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the station which made it noisy realise this is not the hotels fault but i am sure other less noisy rooms were available as the hotel didn,t seem busy.On the Sunday we left our room at 09.30 and left the make our room card on the door handle we returned at 17.00hrs to find our room had not been made up, while getting ready to go out for the evening at 17.40 hrs there was a knock on the door and housekeeping wanted to make the room up then, we said we were getting ready to go out and the reply was they wouldn't be back. There was a kettle in the room, but 2 earl grey tea bags and 1 nescafe with paper cups were hardly sufficient.
Breakfast was adequate, but not much choice hot meal consisted of scrambled egg and bacon on the 3 mornings we were there,the only plus points to this hotel was the staff (especially the gentleman on the desk at night) and the location to Tivoli and city centre it will be a long time before i stop at a Best Western Hotel again in fact have already changed a booking for February

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the station and a very busy road so are very noisy for most of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter_Szucs, Management Assistant at Copenhagen Mercur Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear davidnsmith,

thank you for your extensive feedback on your recent stay with us.

We always thrive to accomodate our guests requests on room placement the best possible way, have you tried to ask my colleague for a room facing the backyard? We are suprisingly very busy this time of the year now, but the earlier you arrive or state your request, the better we can accomodate you.

This leads me to the point with the late housekeeping service. We are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you, on weekend housekeeping starts a bit later, because most the guests check out later than on an everyday. This results of course in that some rooms- especially when it´s full house- ought to be serviced a bit later.

Feel free to tell the reception if you would like your room made up in a specific time.

There are always extra teabags, coffee and cups available on request from the reception too.

We are of course sorry to hear that you think the cleaning standard was not ok for you, I can only take this matter further if I have a room number and stay date, so please feel free to get back to me with more details.

In most hotels you have what is called and guest directory, where it states all the necesarry information for your stay. BEST WESTERN Mercur Hotel has chosen to ´upgrade´ this to an electrical version, making it easier to update and making it easier on the environment by not using paper, every time there is change in the information or when we add are additional services.

This has been approved by Best Western Denmark to be suitable as Guest Directory. There is nothing you have to download to access this information, it is all on the screen on the first channel.

We are of course sorry that we didn´t exceed your expectations while staying with us.

If I can be of any assistance, feel free to contact me via my email: es@hotelpropertygroup.dk.
Kind regards,
Eszter Zs. Szücs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#53 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#70 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#54 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#61 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#41 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Mercur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Mercur Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Address: Vester Farimagsgade 17, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Mercur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Close to attractions, restaurants, shopping, Town Hall Square and Tivoli Gardens. Stay in relaxing atmosphere with 109 comfortable rooms. Cosy lobby and bar area. All rooms have private facilities, phone, cable-TV, IP Smart TV Mediasuite. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Copenhagen Mercur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Mercur Copenhagen
Hotel Norlandia Mercur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing