We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is really well positioned - 5 mins to the central station and trivoli gardens. Basic rooms but it works for a weekend visit. No safe in the room though and the beds were much too soft. Hotel staff are really helpful and the breakfast sekection was really good. Free wifi and there is a computer with printer for guests to use in the reception.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the road and rail lines so it is quieter in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 961 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel was good in all aspects except one. Our room looked over the city and the busy street out front. Therefore, the road noise was quite loud during the night. Closing the windows would cancel out the noise, but since there was no air-conditioning, the room would get hot. So, we had a choice: be hot or listen to the cars & trains going by. After checking out after 2 nights, we noticed a room with a bunch of fans sitting on the floor. You would thing that the front desk would have mentioned that the fans existed for our use (or even put one in each room.)

The hotel provided free wifi, a good breakfast that went well beyond just cereal and coffee, and had a very friendly staff. It was well located - only a few blocks from the central train station and within walking distance of most of the prime tourist sites.

I would stay here again - but would ask for a fan the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the city are subject to road and train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a great trip in Copenhagen. This is your basic three star hotel. The hotel staff are very accommodating and work hard to please. We requested a back room so we wouldn't hear the trains and our request was granted. The bathroom has a bad odor but once you use the water the smell subsides.
I found the location adequate. Close to the train and Tivoli gardens but a distance to some of the other sites we chose to visit. Since we prefer to visit the city and not spend much time in the hotel this was a very adequate hotel. I am glad it was not warm because I don't recall seeing any air conditioning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iritrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights and felt the hotel was great.

the good points: fantastic location (walking distance to most places including the main station and Tivoli); taxis right outside the hotel; I thought an excellent breakfast (lots of choice including 3 types of egg - scrambled, hard boiled and soft boiled); comfy bed; and extremely helpful staff (they all spoke fluent English, had plenty of advice, and were happy to help when I arrived far too early to check in)

The bad points: not much really - the only thing I can say is that in my room the interior looked a little worn, but nothing major. Also I had a room at the front (which had a balcony which I loved) but if you are a light sleeper you might find it hard to sleep. Their is a local train station right outside the hotel, so you could hear the trains until quite late at night. It didn't keep me awake (especially as i live in London which is generally much noisier than Copenhagen) but worth asking for a room at the back if it will affect you.

i would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed two days in Mercur Hotel. There was no family room available so we took two rooms, and I had the chance of staying alone in my own. Average hotel room with all basics. Nothing luxury but everything was tidy and clean. Breakfast served in the area next to the lounge. We liked the location, especially because of the proximity to Tivoli and the main train station. The closest train station is just across the road but it is suburb train. Very quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Sure... There is no safe; no closet, no minibar, don't even think about an ironing board. You have a phone a TV set and basically two lamps for the main room. The trains go right in from so if you keep the windows or terrace door open it may seem noisy. I liked the hum and seeing the sunsets and the free internet for a many devices as I wanted and I loved the map the offered for the city. Very small, portable but basically following by numbers all the sights without tons of advertisements.

I seemed to be close to the botanical gardens and tivoli. Without being right on it.. Basically only the statue of the Little Mermaid felt far. There is a cinema right across with lots of Hollywood films playing in English.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebsreichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We were asked where we wanted our room; we asked for a quiet room not near an elevator, which we got. The room size was adequate and although we thought some space was lost by a desk which went the full length of the window, the furnishings and beds were good.
The breakfast was very comprehensive and of good quality. Something to suit everyone. The dining room staff were pleasant and helpful. So although it wasn’t a 5 star breakfast, it is a 3 star hotel and the standard was definitely good. A mixture of European and Danish foods, from 10 types of cereals, eggs, boiled and scrambled, cheeses, various breads, croissants, Danish pastries, fresh fruit, pates, etc
The location of the hotel was near Central station (one metro stop) and near many bus stops, so a great location for getting around Copenhagen.
Would I stay there again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinaLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
#65 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,069 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Osterport
Hotel Osterport
#71 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,109 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#53 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
#100 of 117 in Copenhagen
920 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#51 of 117 in Copenhagen
809 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#46 of 117 in Copenhagen
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel

Address: Vester Farimagsgade 17, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $104 - $1,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Close to attractions, restaurants, shopping, Town Hall Square and Tivoli Gardens. Stay in relaxing atmosphere with 109 comfortable rooms. Cosy lobby and bar area. All rooms have private facilities, phone, LED TV. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Mercur Copenhagen
Hotel Norlandia Mercur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing