We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Advice for Copenhagen! Stay at the port! Try to get breakfast included!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Advice for Copenhagen! Stay at the port! Try to get breakfast included!”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Just wanted to write a glowing review of the Copenhagen Admiral. Possibly the best service I have ever had in a hotel. An amazing experience in every way! Jesper the Assistant Manager especially went above and beyond to help us. He marked our map with all the best places to go and eat, strange but Tivoli was not included in that. Some great discoveries! We certainly didn't find that area too appealing actually as other reviewers have said.. We tooled around the city on bikes from the hotel- cold, but an adventure and covered a lot of ground! We had a massage together by very experienced masseuses in the hotel. Ate at Salt- incredible! The bar is also hip and lovely. The high level of service and attention to detail was phenomenal. Walking around Nyhaven and the waterways is also just beautiful. The only negative was the room was a bit small and the beds are like 2 singles together.. but hey that's Europe for you. Food is expensive, you are paying for very high quality.. and so try to get a package with breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PvChiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    1,742
    628
    211
    99
See reviews for
549
1,697
141
820
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel over christmas break with my other half and had an amazing experience! Booked from tigerhotels.co.uk . The setting of the hotel is in a listed harbour warehouse and has undergone extensive renovation works and the end product is a beautiful hotel in a perfet location! The views are beautiful since the hotel is located on waterfront. The hotel is in close proximity to the Palace, gardens,Opera house and the Little Mermaid. The rooms are spacious with rustic wooden beams giving the rooms individuality. However there is a designer touch to the rooms and the hotel. The staff was friendly. The restaurants served delicious cuisine. We spent a romantic weeked at this hotel and would love to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith73175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed staying here during a weekend city break with my girlfriend. Very close walking distance to Nyhavn, which is stunning and the bars/restaurants around there are great. Our room was a duplex and was very spacious and comfortable, would definitely stay here and recommend to everyone. Also in walking distance is the Little Mermaid, but don't expect much when you walk over to see her! Especially when it's minus 15 weather! Copenhagen is a stunning city, but the trip was made all the more enjoyable thanks to a wonderful stay in the Admiral. Great hotel, great room, great location, and great staff. Will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The Admiral is conveniently placed for the Royal Palaces, Mermaid, Nyhaven/restaurants and only a few minutes brisk walk to the Metro and shopping.

The check-in was curt and unfriendly. We arrived at 1.00 pm and were told to take our bags to an unused bar area where many other were left, until 2.00 pm. No porters or help on hand and no id tags for the cases.

Rooms are small, but comfortable. Bathroom was small and smelled so we had to have it serviced. Shower good, but bath was slippery. Heating is by radiator.

We had breakfast in the SALT restaurant on 31st December and 2nd January. On the 31st it was a shambles with a long queue. There was a good selection, but we have stayed in lower class restaurants and had far better food selection. My wife is a Coeliac (can only eat gluten free food) and the choice was limited for this type hotel. Elsewhere the restaurants were fantastic and could easily accommodate her.

One of the lifts was out of action one day which was inconvenient.

An enjoyable trip because of the friends we went with, the location and good restaurants, but the hotel was a let-down.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basingstoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

A fab hotel in all but have to say the staff service was not the best. No info given on check in at all and when we had a near miss with ice falling from the roof no was really bothered! Such a shame i would have expected different in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
426 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I was in Copenhagen for an interview and the company uses this hotel for their guests. Being my first time in Copenhagen, the location was really great. I didn't get a chance to walk around due to the weather and my brief stay. My room had two levels so it was different than what I am normally used to. The bathroom is small and the tub is very slippery so be careful when taking a shower. The selection of TV channels was minimal. I find that hotels in Latin America are the best for TV. The bed was comfortable however, climbing the steep staircase could be problematic for some people. They started working on another room (I am talking heavy duty power tools) before 8am which was very noisy. I was up anyway because of my meeting but if I was on vacation, that would have been completely annoying.

The breakfast was good - there was a variety of things to eat. Service was so so in the resturant. I couldn't get my internet to work on my computer while at the hotel. The staff weren't able to help me. The service isn't what it should be at a hotel of this class - only so-so.

This is an ok business hotel. If I came back to Copenhagen as a tourist, I think I would consider it if I could get a good price. The hotel is interesting since it is build in a former warehouse that is hundreds of years old. They have models of ships all over the hotel with historical information on them. That is interesting.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

After having online reviewed almost a dozen of hotels in copenhagen for a 2 nights trip I decided for the Admiral because of good reviews on tripavisor.com, its good location (15min walking distance to the main shopping street, 10 min to Nyhavn, quiet area and its style (which is NOT the modern, always-the-same kind of business hotel), a good Christmas - New Year deal (below EUR 150 / room / night) and because of a very responsive, friendly person at the booking desk. We returned very happy: friendly and fast check-in, rooms were as shown on the website (not very large but we didn’t need much space since we spent most time outside anyway), extremly comfortable beds, breakfast buffet was very rich without any waiting for a server since they place the coffee pot on the table which I find a good idea) and as mentioned – it is a place with a lot of charm and history. I am sure that there are other cozy hotels in Copenhagen – but Admiral offered really value for money. We would go again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing