We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is next to port, conveniently located to explore copenhagen. What I enjoyed was a very helpful staff, who had offered and prepared a vegetarian meal for me. (Its a different story that I didnt like it.)

Room Tip: Place to visit little mermaid
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    1,789
    660
    219
    99
See reviews for
571
1,747
144
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Absolutely loved the location - right by Nyhaven, my favourite neighbourhood in the city - and history of this rather charming hotel. I quite liked the post and beam style of this historic waterfront warehouse building. We had an end room looking over the water, so the view couldn't have been better.

A couple of drawbacks included the bed - although adequate, it was less-than ideal (think upscale futon mattress) - and an outdated, though clean, carpet. With a bit of updating to the rooms, this hotel could certainly be 5-star. The staff was generally friendly, international and multi-lingual.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

When we arrived at the Admiral we weren't quite sure what to expect. It proved to be an excellent choice, just along from Nyhavn so well located for many of the City's attractions. Depending on the traffic, it's a 10 to 20 minute taxi ride from the central railway station.

A former warehouse, it has vaulted corridors and massive wooden beams throughout - our bedroom had a lot, none less than 10 inches square in section, so very substantial! The room was well equipped, with all the facilities one expects in a hotel of this standard, and very clean. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and very efficient staff.

The rear of the hotel backs onto the main canal which links the Copenhagen harbours to the sea. Whilst we were there, three tall ships were moored right outside and in the background, across the water, is the modern Opera House. A very pleasant outlook for an evening drink in the hotel bar or, if you prefer, a meal in the neighbouring SALT restaurant.

All in all, one to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were starting a cruise from Copenhagen and didn't want to use the typical hotel attached to the cruise line. Researching the internet, The Admiral looked interesting. Orginally a warehouse, all of the wooden beams have been preserved, making each room unique. Our room was up in the gables. Walking in we saw the standard TV (with American stations), couch, modern Scandinavian bath, but no bed. Seeing the metal steps, we looked up and found the loft where there was a queen sized bed with down comforter. There was a skylight over the bed with a curtain that you could close. No A/C available but there was a fan. Since it was July, it was warm and humid; but these days are so few, A/C is not a standard. That night we were soexhausted from our flight and fell asleep easily until we woke up suddenly to the bright light over our bed (we had forgotten to close the curtain). Panic, did we miss the ship? Looking at the clock, it was only 4 AM. We didn't realize that the days were this long at this lattitude . We kniew it was true up north in Russia where we are headed. Later on this hotel was talked about in lectures on things to see in Copenhagen. It is on the canal and close to the Queen's Palace. Breakfast buffets in the area are outstanding and you won't have to eat again until supper.

Room Tip: I have read other reviews about bad odors etc. We were there a few weeks ago with friends and none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The only good comment to make is the ships on the ground floor are interesting and the external facade and canons in the foreground showed promise, that's where it stopped. Our driver told us it looked like a prison from the outside, well now we can tell him it is like one inside. There is no assistance with luggage, you are left to find a trolley for bags or simply struggle with them to your room. We paid the equivalent of $500 AUD for a junior suite with a harbour view. Nothing suite about this room, The bathroom smelt disgraceful every day, and the bathroom wasn't big enough to stand in to dry yourself. To get into the bath (for a shower) you have to close the door, and when you hop out, almost into the toilet you need to go into the small hallway to have room to dry yourself. the 'suite' was a small pokey room downstairs with barely room for two let alone the supposed capacity for a family. There is an upstairs bedroom with just room for a bed, nothing else. The heat is terrible. No fans, no air con. We wondered why people had their doors open. We soon realised it was for cross ventilation. But when that happened you had to deal with screaming kids and other adult conversations between rooms. The harbour view would only be possible if you stand on a chair because the windows in these rooms are high in the ceiling area. To open a window you had to stand on a chair or be 7 feet tall. The wardrobe, if you could call it a wardrobe, was just a small space with a few hangers, no drawers. There was tea and coffee and milk which wasnt replenished during our stay at all. The pictures on the website must be elongated because they show very differently to what I have taken. the TV for example is small and rectangle but the hotel website pic makes it look like a very longer TV and spacious room. Good luck with getting any sleep, the noise coming from over the river at a venue playing music was extremely loud periodically from late night to 5am in the morning, and that was early in the week.And the free wifi didn't work more often than it did. Best reception in the foyer but wifi was available in room and rarely worked. For 500 AUD. We can best describe it as like a cheap motel, in comparison our next hotel in Sweden was less price and 6 star service and quality. I will not be recommending this hotel nor would I ever go back myself. Waste of money, not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsmusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you're visiting Copenhagen for a weekend, it's probably one of the best options you might find. It's perfectly located: everything's is really near seaside, palace, Nyhaven, restaurants, shopping.
Hotel itself is not spectacular, rooms are relatively small, but good enough. Service is very good, and Salt restaurant that is within a hotel is worth visiting.
Beware of the following:
- no air-conditioning in rooms
- there are works until mid-2015 so if you have a harbour side room it can get VERY noisy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank drazen_tomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room is small and in the middle of it is a huge wooden structure which is in every room but in mine in the middle. The bathroom fittings are cheap and awful. And I supposedly had a deluxe room. The price of the room was way out of proportion at DKK 1,600 + breakfast. Breakfast was just fair. Other guests I met in the hotel also were unhappy with the hotel. The only thing going is the location which is great.

There is only a portable fan for aircon which would have been a problem for the 2014 summer not for late august.
The double bed typical of Europe is two single beds pushed together with separate bed linen

Room Tip: Pick a room where the huge wooden structure is located on a wall ie not in the middle of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank living26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
227 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,709 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,306 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
745 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing