We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location and Old-World feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
183 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good location and Old-World feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is located right on the docks, across the street from Amalienborg Palace (the royal residence and museum), about midway between the Little Mermaid Statue and Nyhaven (picturesque canal lined with cafes) on the opposite side of the city from the Central Station and Tivoli Gardens. The building is a huge old stone warehouse with rustic wooden beams on every ceiling. The room was spacious enough and comfortable but lacked air conditioning, needed in the summer when it reached the mid-eighties.If you opened the window for air, the "midnight sun" was let in. We did find a small tabletop fan in the closet. The buffet breakfast was an extra $30 per person. Staff was friendly and helpful but in a large hotel like this, you don't feel the personal touch of a smaller place.

Room Tip: Street-view rooms cost $40 less than harbor-view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    1,483
    547
    181
    82
See reviews for
437
1,453
122
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,105 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

the first room, in hot days of summer was simply untenable. so we were told we would get an "upgrade" paying quite a difference. however the upgrade was to go down to 2nd floor with room above the kitchen and the port. very noisy. so we had 4 bad nights. the hotel has a huge development work going on in front(parking building) so they should out this notice on their website . many things went wrong and upon checkout i complained so they took away the upgrade charge. without air-condition many rooms were kept open by customers with shoes , luggage etc to get some air flowing. in a 4 star hotel i do not think that the bathroom should have a plastic curtain . great position, friendly staff often inexperienced. the first morning i wanted just coffee, i wa told to go inside the breafast room and there would be a machine etc. upon checkout they wanted to charge me for this coffe. not written ANYWHERE that one should pay. so it was taken off the bill . i recommend to visit in winter and have some patience . pity sine it i in an amazing position

Room Tip: good luck depending on whether you prefer to bake or to be awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The Copenhagen Admiral Hotel has taken over an old granary. As a result, each room is different. All rooms have wonderful wood beams, although our room had structural beams impinging on the living space. The staff tries to be helpful but the hotel's policies sometimes make that difficult. At an expensive hotel, being told that one can purchase a shower cap seems inappropriate! In our experience, the Concierge was eager but not very knowledgable. The hotel is well located. It is un-air conditioned which would not be a problem except that there is lots of construction in Copenhagen and it can be quite noisy. At the price, there are other places one might stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
276 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent one night during this visit. This was the first time at this hotel, and, despite its great location, I am not sure we would pick it again. Warning: the "free" wifi system is difficult to navigate and is not truly "available" in the room, at least I could never get it in our room. I had to get a staff member to set up the wifi for the lobby network, which required confirmation by email, just all-around awkward. The concierge and staff are friendly and helpful.
Part of the hotel's problem is the huge, loud construction project on the waterfront upon which the hotel fronts, which is distracting and loud. Also, Copenhagen is also finally constructing a long-needed metro system, which is impacting the entire city with a lot of upheaval. It will be great when it is completed in a few years.
The lack of air conditioning became an issue for us due to the lovely, warm weather. As other reviews noted, one can leave the drape open in the evening, but the extended daylight and loud noise (construction, traffic and garbage collection) makes it a toss-up between heat and noise.
Also, the hallways are dark, narrow and a little unattractive. A trade-off is that the original beams add character and charm to the room. The bed was comfortable with a nice down duvet. The bathroom and amenities were more than adequate. We did not have an included breakfast: the buffet (your only choice is $27 per person).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLCJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel was recommended by friends. The room was fine - it was suggested that we ask for a water view which was nice. However, the view also was to a dock under construction. However, it was interesting to see people strolling the quay. We were not aware that the hotel is not air conditioned but the weather when we were there was mild - the rooms could be quite warm in hotter weather - no cross ventilation. In total, we were very pleased. The hotel is centrally located for walking and seeing a number of "tourist sites." We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Admiral and enjoyed it very much. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the room size and décor pleasant, and the location an easy walk from all of the major Copenhagen highlights.

I probably would have given it full marks if not for the fact that it is not air conditioned and it can, and does, get very hot in the room in July. A small oscillating fan is provided and that, along with keeping the window open, does keep the room manageable, if not exactly comfortable. However, there is presently construction on the pier which starts very early (around 6 AM both mornings) and it is very loud. If you close the window to keep out the noise, it quickly becomes sweltering. And if you leave the window open, you're barely able to sleep past dawn.

I would still recommend the hotel, but possibly keep that in mind when requesting a harbor facing room. The view is lovely, but it does come with its own set of challenges.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fferffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Admiral Hotel is a great conversion of a former warehouse into a smart, modern hotel. The reception and public areas are terrific, with many features of its former life in evidence and beautifully integrated into the hotel, making for a great atmosphere and first impression. The hotel's restaurant 'Salt' serves excellent, modern food (some of the best in the city) beautifully presented and with attentive, professional staff. Mention must also be made of the young lady who checked us in (Natalie??), who was enthusiastic and very keen to advise us of all the best sights to explore. However, our room was a huge disappointment. A very, very small, unairconditioned hot-box--made even worse because of the very hot weather at the time. As the sun has well and truly risen by 4.30am in July, it is essential to keep the window shades fully drawn, but this means there is no ventilation at all in the room, nor is cross-ventilation possible. Plus, the bar fridge, housed in the wardrobe, emits so much heat into the room it was intolerable. We were unable to turn this off, despite pulling it forward to find the plug. The miniscule bathroom also had no ventilation. Now, we understand very well the restrictions and constraints on converting old spaces to modern usage, since my husband is an architect specialising in heritage buildings. However, elevators were able to be installed throughout the building, and there also appeared to be a number of areas with dropped ceiling panels so it's evident that the aircon issue was one of design policy rather than a heritage restriction. When we mentioned the problem we were provided with a small electric fan, which quite frankly, didn't do very much to alleviate the problem. We did notice a couple of rooms had 2 windows (ours only had the one window), but the same problem of ventilation would still apply. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night instead of the 3 booked, and moved to another hotel, albeit an older property, but mercifully fully airconditioned throughout. The problem with Admiral's lack of aircon isn't so much being able to cool the room (although this would've been very welcome, given the weather), but a total lack of any means of ventilation if the open window is covered. This would of course also be the case during the rest of the year. One other thing that was a big issue is that the biggest construction project in the city (an enormous underground car park) is being built in front of the hotel, which operates from early morning until early evening, to take advantage, no doubt, of the long hours of daylight--this huge project has still some years to go. The noise is considerable, which is another reason to have the window closed. We had paid a higher rate to have a waterfront room, which was a waste of money in the circumstances. Moving to a back room wasn't going to solve the main issue of no ventilation though. We had so looked forward to staying at the Admiral, given our interest in experiencing the building's conversion, but could not recommend it to anyone, under the circumstances. It is a good example of fundamental design issues being unresolved, to the detriment of the end result.

Room Tip: No airconditioning in rooms, so ventilation is difficult to achieve,esp. as window must be covered d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank planetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#18 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#37 of 117 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#28 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing