We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copenhagen Admiral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Copenhagen Admiral”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent location, beautiful view, historic building. Salt is a superb restaurant, and the akvavit bar is a very nice touch. Nice breakfasts -- although overpriced, and I wasn't clear until checking out that breakfast wasn't included in the already high price of the room. Price, given the exchange rate between the dollar and the kroner, is the main problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    1,789
    660
    219
    99
See reviews for
571
1,747
144
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were recently in Copenhagen for a few days with another couple and chose to stay at the Copenhagen Admiral Hotel on the advice of some friends. The location was wonderful - we could easily walk to most of the sights we had planned to see. The staff were pleasant and helpful at the reception desk. There is some construction work going on close by but I did not notice any extensive noise from it.

The rooms were a good size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large. Everything was clean. There was a large wooden post close to one side of the bed, but we were aware of that from the pictures of the hotel when we booked our rooms. We were surprised to see quite a few of what appeared to be large luggage racks stored along the corridor outside of our room separating the rooms on the waterfront with the rooms on the street side.

Our room was on the street side which was fine for us. Our friends, however, had wanted to change to a waterfront room but were told that those rooms were reserved for only those who booked directly through the hotel and not through a travel booking website. They were not pleased as they wanted to keep their window open and the fumes from the buses that congregated below drifted up into their room on the second floor.

We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel on one of the mornings we were there. It was quite extensive and plentiful. There are two dining rooms for breakfast, one being a bit smaller and more formal. We were directed to a larger, less comfortable looking room when we gave our room number to the hostess. Somehow it left us with the feeling that we did not rate sitting in the nicer room. This is just an observation as I am sure the food was the same but it did make us wonder.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay there mainly because of the hotel's great location and the ease in which we could get to the sights we wanted to see. There are many restaurants and cafes a few blocks away and the canal boat tours are minutes from the hotel. Copenhagen is definitely a fun city with a lot to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POTOMAC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in June. When we checked in, we found that our travel agent had made a mistake and booked our stay for the wrong nights. The admiral was fully booked for the first night of our stay, but they arranged a room for us at a hotel next door, then back to the admiral for the remaining nights. Even though the mix up wasn't the hotel's fault, they were very efficient and friendly in fixing things for us and talking to our travel agent. Lisette, at the front desk, was especially helpful. They changed what could have been a big problem into a minor nuisance.
The hotel is in a great location for walking and for the metro, breakfasts were very good and varied. The room was a little noisy because we were above the bar, but we had a beautiful view over the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel just before our cruise because of its location. In fact, quite a few other guests on our Silversea ship also stayed here.

The hotel building looks very impressive from the outside. Inside, it is modern with a bit of nautical atmosphere. Rooms are on the small size, but well decorated. Bathroom looked a bit older, but clean and well maintained. There is no air conditioning; we had to open the balcony door to let in fresh and cool air (not that it was hot in the room). With some festive people hanging out late around the hotel, some guests trying to sleep might be disturbed; not us.

Service all over the hotel was efficient and friendly.

We particularly liked the patio by the waterfront and the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperRadiationBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Pricey but great location. Walking distant to every attraction. Corner store has beer and wine, chips also, no need to use mini fridge. Had a little problem but solve quickly. Eating areas just a block away and so is cannel cruise. Took taxi from airport and to cruise ship. Expensive? everything is expensive in Copenhagen. Tried their breakfast on the last day and we enjoyed it, lots of choices, no expensive than other breakfast places unless you want McDonald. Room with a view was great but no AC you have to close door and use fan as noise from patio can be loud. We would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normgOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Because of its beginnings as a warehouse, this property is loaded with cramped hallways and challenging site lines in meeting rooms. You need to put your key card in the reader to engage the lights, which means no charging your cell phone after you take the key out of the reader. The bed was a disappointment-not comfortable or supportive. Note that if you have a water view, the cafe downstairs can be buzzing late at night, which makes it difficult to sleep. As others have stated, the breakfast buffet is pretty extensive. The plated dinner we had at a function was delicious, and dessert was a special treat. Hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. The street the hotel is on seems to be a magnet for tour buses, maybe because Nyhavn is so close.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris4LDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a splendid hotel, spectacularly located and impressively appointed. The rooms on the waterside are particularly attractive. And, as was not apparent to us upon booking, from a touristic point of view the Admiral could not be more centrally located. As between a location near central station and Tivoli and the area around the Admiral, there is no contest so far as we’re concerned. All of our chosen restaurants were close by. And, if you don’t mind dragging your wheelie down a few blocks of cobbled sidewalks, you can take the metro from the airport and avoid a cab fare and still be at the hotel within an hour of landing. Some recent Tripadvisor posts point out that the Admiral does lack air-conditioning. The rooms do heat up a bit in the afternoon, but we found that the quick run of the fan supplied in the closet set things right. The staff at the desk are extremely solicitous and helpful. We’d stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillermoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
227 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,710 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,307 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
745 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing