We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid, tidy Scandinavian dormitory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Solid, tidy Scandinavian dormitory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is a converted warehouse located slightly east of the central area of Copenhagen, convenient for the port area and ferry terminal. The Royal Palace is nearby, the Opera House opposite across the water. Arrival is "self service" with no luggage help evident.
Reception was friendly, but a slightly early check in resulted in receiving a tiny room one half the size of normal rooms. That said the room was pin tidy and had a good bathroom. There is free wi-fi. Exposed beams reveal the heritage of the building and the designers have had to squeeze corridors between the elements of the structure. It's a little dark and claustrophobic. The rooms at the front face a road which can be busy, those at the back face onto the water, but with varying views.
The breakfast was very good indeed, with a vast array of choices hot and cold, and a highly positive team making sure everything was topped up.
If I visit again I will be sure to ask for a normal sized room - the location and good breakfast recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a full size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holdendriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    1,698
    612
    206
    98
See reviews for
524
1,664
136
800
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very nice location, very comfortable beds and beautiful view on the Opera House. The bikes we rented at the hotel were very good and we got to see a lot of Copenhagen and surroundings by biking around. And I don't want to forget the hotel bar, very nice staff and they made me a great pina colada!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inez69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great location, walking distance from metro (10-15 min). City center is also close by.
Nice breakfast, good service. Also nice view from de bedroom. Bedroom is nice and has enough space. Bathroom is clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpgs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Admiral Copenhagen is centrally located a block or two from Nyhavn Canal with it's shops and restaurants. My daughter and I were very comfortable during our 3 day stay. The hotel staff was helpful. The concierge suggestions about restaurants were great. Our room was comfortable for the two of us with two single beds. There was a small window looking out on Toldbodgade. And, there are large wooden beams on the ceiling and a wooden column between the bedroom and the bath, giving the feeling you're living in the hull of a Viking ship - cool and different. A great introduction to Scandinavia. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a converted former bond and has been sensitively and quite tastefully redeveloped. It's a bit of a hike out of the city centre but the quayside walk to The Little Mermaid is quite pleasant. I've stayed a couple of times now and both rooms have been good although my preference would be for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the quay - these would be the even unnumbered rooms. The rooms have bags of character and a good alternative to the normal plastic chains for a stay in Copenhagen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MacPropCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Perhaps a bit pricy, but a very classy hotel. I particularly liked the bar downstairs where I could sit and read while the Champions League game was on in the background. They also had delicious food!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kebabkongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
240 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I can't imagine how many trees were felled to build this place - everywhere you look are huge beams of wood - the conversion to make a hotel is something of an architectural triumph - the lobby area looks wonderful. Helpful, friendly check in staff too. Our room on the 5th floor was on the small side, and the bathroom was only just adequate. I suspect the architectural limitation imposed in the renovations resulted in the rather small windows. No air-con in our room. Breakfast? Adequate, not brilliant, and expect queues at the week-end unless you're down early - this is a big hotel. The Salt Restaurant is very good. Parking out front is franchised to Q-Parks; so rip-off pricing is what you'd expect, and is what you get. The immediate environs of the hotel are currently (April 2014) a huge harbour-side building site, so it's not worth paying extra for a waterside room; rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are fine from a noise point-of-view. The building works will take another year to complete, I was told. Note that there is also scaffolding covering a third of the water-side frontage of the hotel, and the Danes start work early! You have been warned.....if you just fancy a visit to Copenhagen, great, it's a lovely city, but if you want to stay here, and can delay your visit until the harbour building works are completed, I'll look a lot better than it does right now.

Room Tip: At present, I'd go for a room overlooking the road, rather than the water, and as far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing