We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Water and the Fish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed on July 2013. Beautiful room facing the water. Fabulously easy location for a foreigner visiting Kobenhaven for the first time.
Walk with wheelie luggage from the Metro at Magasin du Nord. N.P.
Best thing about this place? The breakfast. The fish. Oh yeah. Really. I am stuck in Johannesburg 1000 km from the sea in every direction, I get to Europe I am going to eat Fish. Is it raw or pickled? Did I drink too much beer last night? Who cares? Fish rocks.

Also the rooms are kinda cute in a seriously retro way - the rooms overlooking the water with the sailing ships and the hideously healthy nubile Danes on bicycles.... let me not go there.
And reception is awfully kind, in an English sort of way, when your card bounces. I am back there next year.

Room Tip: The water side rooms get the sun and can be a bit hot. The street side rooms would be better if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 4,177 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to Copenhagen for a romantic weekend, and we stayed in Admiral hotel.
It is perfectly located to do a tour of the city.
The rooms are great - beautiful beams and wood everywhere, its architecture is amazing.
Rooms are very comfortable and clean.

Upon arrival we also got an upgrade to a bigger room - which was very nice of them.
The staff was always friendly and helpful.

The only things I can point out is that the room was a bit noisy in the morning - the noise coming from the street below. I recommend you stay at the waterfront side.

We can recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the waterfront side. These are slightly more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Admiral is a good hotel near Nyhavn canal and close by to Kogens Nytorv. It is also very close to the Royal Danish Playhouse and you can see the beautiful Opera building over the canal. The building itself is a conversion of a 18th century warehouse. Rooms are ok (standard), but not very big. It should be enough for a day or two, but if you stay longer you may start to lack the feeling of space. Breakfast is just enough to satisfy. Would recommend for a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is located on the water and within easy walking distance of the Amalienborg Palace and the fun, scenic Ny Havn canal. We easily walked to all major sites in central Copenhagen
from the hotel. We skipped the hotel buffet breakfast and found good options for a roll and coffee along nearby Ny Haven canal. The hotel was clean, well maintained and the room was excellent in all respects. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviator311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The Admiral has huge amounts of character, a handy location, and the communal parts looks stunning.
The restaurant, bar and breakfast are first rate.

The rooms are a notch below and fit more into a 3 star category. They're a little dated, over warm, and don't match the promise of the rest of the place. The old fashioned bathrooms are really basic. The beds, with their thick mattress toppers, are however superb.

I'd definitely stay here again though, and recommend it as quite good value for money by any standards. The staff are lovely.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hotel was very nice and in fantastic location. We had a junior suite which requires you to climb a narrow spiral staircase to get to the bed....not recommended for elderly, handicapped or those who drink too much! Everything was extra, and expensive, but it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Cozy hotel with small rooms. all very comfortable and well-organized.
You get like in a fairy tale..
Mysterious hall in the hotel, filled with models of ships. All seemed in the puzzle, there is a desire to sit in a chair with a glass of good wine..:-) Tasty food, good breakfast..

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Natali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
348 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,658 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $147 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing