We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spend the semester studying abroad in Denmark and my parents came at the very end to visit and I stayed too...

The Admiral was a lovely place. The staff was very friendly and the location is nice. It's nice in central Copenhagen, but if you don't mind walking 15 minutes, it's pretty close.
It is near lots of lovely restaurants and it is right near the water.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne11344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,041)
There are newer reviews for Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 4,041 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Long but please read. I recently stayed at the Admiral with my husband and son in a family/junior suite. BEWARE-these TINY suites are NOT family friendly. There is a steep, winding staircase that goes from the loft down to the living area, not suitable for young children or anyone that is mobility impaired. There is absolutely no soundproofing between rooms-you can here everything. They are currently doing construction on the harbor side of the hotel which starts promptly at 6:45 a.m. We got no warning of this. There is a small, noisy ferry that runs until after 11:00 which travels by frequently. The walls are so thick you can't even view the harbor well. Front desk staff is cordial but not friendly, unless you are European/Scandanavian and is less than helpful. Breakfast buffet is decent but way overpriced. Beds were comfortable but you either sweat or freeze. No top sheet and a very warm duvet, room was hot with windows closed and too noisy with windows open. Now the best part. Due to a poor design entering the hallway on the way to our room (incline w/no markings), I fell. Front desk staff did not care. The next day I went to the hospital and discovered I had broken a bone in my arm. Their response was "how unfortunate". They eventually did apologize, admitted it was a design flaw that they'd "try" to fix, and gave us a fruit bowl and a cheap bottle of wine as a token of remorse but that was it. The housekeeper was more concerned than management and indicated numerous people have fallen in the same spot. Location is great but that is the only real up side. Although further out, friends of ours used the STAY Hotel and were much happier. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Outbacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here as a packaged deal. One night, 3-course dinner and b-fast. The room as small but clean and comfortable. I loved the huge wooden beams that keep this old building up. Amazing. I never quit being amazed at just what craftsmanship was involved in the building techniques. Honestly, we didn't expect much at all from the included dinner, and were very pleasantly surprised. Great food, wonderful service. I would recommend the restaurant Salt (name of hotel restaurant) even to those not staying at the hotel. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at Copenhagen Admiral Hotel during a business trip to Copenhagen. There are a lot of positive sides of this hotel, but it also has some downsides.
The admiral hotel is located in a great location if you want to explore the city. Rooms are good size, spacious.
The down side of this hotel is the cleanliness. The house keeping did tidy the room but did not clean anything. The toilet was dirty at the arrival and when I asked them to come and clean again they did nothing. Be aware they they don't use any kind of chlorine to disinfect the toilets and bathtubs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A former warehouse turned into an beautifull hotel.
All old items, are still there, like the big wooden pilars in the middle of your room.

near the city, and the famous mermaid in the harbor, makes business and leissure excellent.!
when visiting in the summer,be aware that the rooms are quite warm, you can open the window, but depending on where your room is, you can be woken up early by all the activity around the hotel ( 5.30 AM)

breakfast is extensive and looks great. rooms are spaceious and bathroom is nice.
free wife during your stay.

Room Tip: walk along the harbor up the the little mermaid.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBizzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel multiple times before, so I clearly knew my expectations. However customer services seem to have shrunk of late. Asked them to iron my shirts - special express offer EUR10/each within 60 mins (do-it-yourself ironing sets are also available for free). Ultimately after 3 hours and a reminder to receiption they returned 2 crumpled shirts, plus someone was trying to iron sleeves not on seams, but as she could, so i had to re-iron everything incl reparing bends myself. To my complaint to receiption i heard an imperturbable answer: you may complaint to the management (reading between lines: we dont care and cant help you). Same indifferent answer i heard to other customers... I booked sauna, paying for 1 hour, and found the room not properly prepared: sauna/steam was cold, so i had to spend my paid time for waiting for the warm-up, plus dirty blankets on the floor from previous customers. Generally it seems they outsourced housekeeping staff to ISS, and the quality has dropped significantly, though own receiption was not very customer oriented either. Aftertaste: feel like searching for new options in the future.

Room Tip: 3-4 floors with water and Opera house views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fomych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect, as I hadn't booked our hotel, but the Copenhagen Admiral exceeded my expectations.

Great location, close to the canal, walking distance to many attractions (Strøget is only about a 15 minute walk away to the South, the Marble Church and the royal residences are 5 minutes to the North).

The place had a lot of character - the old warehouse means that hallways and rooms have brick and old beams. This did give our room a musty smell at times, but this was my only complaint.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
293 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 118 in Copenhagen
775 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
236 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,448 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $157 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing