We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, full of character and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, full of character and charm”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. Great location, rooms are a great size, beds very comfortable, big bathrooms, rooms warm and cosy not stuffy or hot. Staff more than helpful, breakfast was great, a very good variety of foods. Push bikes are available to borrow and ride around. Close to Nyhaven which is great to stroll along or have a meal. Free wifi and lovely foyer. Walking distance to the centre of town as well as the Little Mermaid. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a water view room and it was lovely. Not at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    1,723
    618
    208
    98
See reviews for
537
1,681
138
808
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had a 2 night stay before cruise. Location is great, 2 blocks from Nyhavn. Staff was very nice and helpful with directions and places to go. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom was nice. We had a deluxe double on 4th floor facing the street. There is considerable street noise , especially if you have to open window for air (there is no a/c). Other side faces water and is quiet. Windows are small and rooms are kind of dark. Outdoor Salts restaurant and bar on canal has great ambiance. Breakfast buffet is very good as long as you don't want american style eggs. There is a beam that you have to pass under in room that is very easy to hit your head on. Enjoyed stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, pay extra to stay on the canal side. street noise dies down at nignt but start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great parking right outside the hotel available leading to efficient check in and warm welcome.
Superior double room recommended overlooking waterfront and new Opera House (do visit even when there are no performances- fantastic tours)
Lovely terrace outside on waterfront for Lightish meals.Limited choice of menu.
Charming,helpful staff throughout hotel-mostly Danish/English speaking uni students on holiday jobs.
Would definitely return

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room away from outside music performance area for peaceful nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business, upon arrival the staff were excellent! I was upgraded to a double deluxe room overlooking the water without even asking. The room was very spacious but only had a small window, but then it's an old renovated hotel. Room 106 was OK location, if you were to want an early night, the bars/restaurants below might be too noisy but they seemed to turn everything down around 11pm. Checkout was excellent and again the staff were excellent even offering a coffee to go. I will be staying here the next time i'm in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adskin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The location of this hotel is great and there is not much choice in central Copenhagen. I found the rooms a little tired and as we experienced warmer than usual weather (23C - hot for Copenhagen) the fan was not adequate for our needs. In addition, we had to request a top sheet on the beds ( they provide a very warm duvet with cover - which would be great in cool weather but too hot in July) and housekeeping removed the top sheet after one night. The concept of the hotel is interesting but the hallways are very dark, and the bathrooms could use a refresh.
On the plus side, we arrived from a cruise ship mid-morning and the hotel staff went out of their way to get us into at least one room early - a plus for my older mother who was on the trip. Other family members stayed on the street side of the hotel and found it quite noisy due to garbage collection. However we were able to walk all over Copenhagen and there were some fun cafes very nearby for our dining choices.
Copenhagen is a lively city in the summer and people seem to enjoy being outdoors - coming from Canada I understand this as our winters are long! It was great to see locals and visitors alike out and about on the weekend we were there.

Room Tip: I recommend booking a water view room - the pier that runs outside the hotel is very nice and the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located by the harbor close to Nyhavn, and it is in many ways a very good hotel. Nicely decorated, friendly staff, very good breakfast, good beds. So, why only an average 3? Well, firstly, we got a room that was smaller than we reserved. They told us it was a de luxe room, but it was obviously much smaller than in the ads and didn't have all the facilities promised. I asked them again the next day, and was still told it was a de luxe room, but at the same time we were offered to change room. We payed extra to get the harbor-view, and the view is very nice. Only drawback was that the room was on the 1st floor, right above the outdoor bar-area, so we had to keep the windows closed most of the night, and in the early morning they started shuffling chairs around. A fan provided some air, but it can get a little stuffy on hot nights and days. When we got back to the room in the afternoon, it was not cleaned, so we had to call and get someone to come. The thing is, that they were very quick in fixing things once you "complained" - but staying only two nights and thoroughly having chosen the hotel and type of room, we were somewhat disappointed. The logistic at breakfast was very good. A large hotel like this often has issues with handling lot of breakfast-eaters at the same time, but not the Admiral. Good food and large restaurant. The outdoor-bar was also nice - once you were there yourself, and not in your room trying to sleep... The check-in and check-out was pretty slow. Even if there are lots of nice things about this hotel, I will probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A good hotel with good value for money. Close to a park and the mermaid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewjohnporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
137 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,705 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,960 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,139 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Admiral Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Address: Toldbodgade 24- 28, Copenhagen 1253, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next door to royal residence Amalienborg Palace and just a short walk from Nyhavn, this imposing 200-year-old former granary warehouse is one of the largest hotels in the city, with 366 rooms - but don't let that put you off. It may not be boutique but big can definitely be beautiful. Beyond the two cast iron canons at the entrance is a neon-pink bar (great for a pre-dinner tipple), while guests retire to rooms showing off classic Danish touches such as teak furniture, low ceilings and original wooden beams. Best of all are the panoramas across the water towards the city's shiny Opera House and Christiania: a view fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copenhagen Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing