We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is great.”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Where do I start ?
We arrived too early for normal check in, the very polite and helpful reception staff said our room wasnt yet busy but to give them 5 mins to talk to house keeping. 10 mins later were on our way up to our room.
Yes the lift is small - for those of you whose countries history doesnt go back more than 250 years when you retro fit a lift into an old building you have to do the best you can. if you want a big lift go stay in a clinical modern new build hotel.

Room- clean tidy comfortable. open the window and we can hear traffic, close it and silence. The double bed is a common european two singles pushed together, BUT its so incredibly comfortable I would happily have had it shipped home. Bathroom clean functional decor a little dated.

Location Idea easy walk to central areas, inculding Tivoli and the main shopping areas. Long walk to Carlsberg Brewery - so take a cab if your not that active.
Yes there are some sex industry businesses near by - but that also seemed common in the central area - if you dont go gawking into the windows you will not be offended because its NOT paraded on the streets.

Breakfast well Im not sure what or how much some of the other reviewers normally consume. A wide variety of cold meats/cheeses/cereals teas coffee fresh OJ and other carton juices. plus a small selection of hot sauages, eggs, crepes and maybe more my stomach never got that far.

We asked for information from the conceirge a couple of times and found them friendly and very helpful. We would definately stay here again.

Seriously the ONLY thing I could complain about was that the glass shelf in the bathroom had a large chip out of it. Nothing in my experience warrents the negative comments Ive seen here.

Just remember this is an older hotel, in northern Europe. what did you expect in Copenhagen, a 5 star Dubai palace ?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7samurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2009

Well, where do we start. The check-in took ages as there was only one member of staff, who was rude and unhelpful. The lift up to the rooms (there is only one, despite their being a lot (over 100?) rooms) was tiny and we could barely fit in with our luggage, which the staff were unable to help with as they don't have a bell boy. The room stank of faeces from the drain in the bathroom, the TV didn't work properly and the 'double' bed we'd booked turned out to be two singles pushed together, with two thin single duvets on them. The room was tiny and we were constantly falling over baggage trying to get to the bed. The shower was hot, but very low pressure. We went to complain about the room in the morning but again there was only one receptionist and after waiting in a queue for 15 mins we gave up as we had lots of xmas shopping to do and not much time. When we went to checkout we had to wait 20 mins at the desk and then they charged us $50 for 4 short (total 15mins) phone calls to local numbers. We said that was outrageous and the receptionist curtly told us that 'calling from hotels is expensive', the cheek!

Anyway, overall I would strongly advise anyone looking to book here to look elsewhere! You can probably, like us, find it for less than $100 on line but it really isn't worth the money. We haven't stayed anywhere else in Copenhagen, so can't recommend an alternative, but there will definitely be better value out there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingwilbury66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Great hotel. Easy check in. Lift quite small but probably a similar standard to hotels of this age. There us character to the hotel. Lobby is quite ornate . Make sure you look at the ceilings.

Room was good. Beds comfortable. Bathroom tidy and clean. Was told by reception we had a kitchen but this was not the case. One window out onto the balcony of the room next door which is really the only complaint. However this was just our room and not the norm.

Location perfect. Easy to get to all of the local attractions.

Very easy to get to from the train station . Was able to get from the airport via train to the hotel in about an hour. From station walk out main entrance towards TIvoli (this is signed over the main doors. Cross the road at the pedestrian crossing to the Tivoli side of the road. Keep Tivoli on your right walk to the next intersection then turn right. Just before you get to the main gate of Tivoli cross the road at the pedestrian crossing. Walk through the square cross the road and at the next road is the street the hotel is on. Turn right into this street. Hotel about half way along. About a 10 minute walk from the train station.i

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I almost didnt book this hotel due to some bad reviews but on arrival we found very friendly adn helpful staff who let us have our room before check in time. We had to walk one flight of stairs to get the lift to the 5th floor but that wasnt a problem for us. teh room was lovely and clean and the double bed (well 2 singles pushed together) was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was clean and functional, if a little retro. As for location, it was a two minute walk to the lovely city hall, central train station and Tivoli Gardens. breakfast was continental with plently of variety; 2 kinds of egg, pancakes, sausage, cheese, variety of breads and pastries, fruit. We ate our fill and didnt need anything more than a snack at lunch time. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose_Red84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Got a great price via Orbitz with applied coupon for this very pricey city during a pricey time. Hotel rated as 4 star but this being Europe, I usually take that with a grain of salt. It is more of a 3 star with caveats.

We had booked a queen bed. Our first shown room could best be described as something like in the attic. On the top floor, there was 2 single beds in very minimum, hostel like surroundings. A bit of a disappointment, even with lowered expectations. When we called and asked for a change of rooms to our originally requested queen, a change was promptly done. A much larger room was given, end of hallway with mini kitchen which had sink, microwave, coffee maker and fridge. Furnishings were still minimal, less like an Ikea catalogue but again more like dorm/hostel furniture.

Free wifi available in the room. Small soap bars and thin towels. Soft beds.
Next to a nightclub that can get quite noisy when people leave at 3am.

Location is a block from the main city square and another block from the main pedestrian walkway. Food choices locally aren't the best, lots of kabab places and buffets and pricey (but some quiet good) restaurants in Tivoli. The main train station is a close 2 blocks away which is very convienent transfering from flights.

I suspect for such a pricey city this is pretty adequate and central.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sng8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

its an old building and right next to a strip club. but no shady characters around, well, we do go to bed early. the hotel is close to everything, the train station, the Copenhagen Wheel, Tivoli amusement park, national museum. You can't ask for a better location than this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We were visiting our daughter who is in college in Copenhagen and the hotel was recommended by the college. We were very happy with our room and our entire experience. The room was large: big bed, sofa bed, small kitchen and large bathroom. The breakfast was very good with fruit, pastries. Front desk was very helpful. Location was excellent. Very close to train, shopping, etc. Small complaint: cleaning of room was inconsistent. We had to ask for more towels, no bars of soap, glasses dirty, room not entirely cleaned. Some noise with guests outside our room late at night but not every day. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank media expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SKT. Annae
Hotel SKT. Annae
#49 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,172 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#36 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,597 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#57 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
973 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#43 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,263 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Danmark
Hotel Danmark
#46 of 118 in Copenhagen
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $120 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing