We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #61 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to get upgraded to one of the Hotel Apartments when I came for my one night stay during a business trip to Copenhagen and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the apartment. It had everything you would need, and was clean and fresh.

The flat screen TV with a welcoming message with my name on it was a nice touch.

The hotel staff were friendly and even opened the bar for me when I asked for a nightcap. (also grateful that they didn't itemize the hotel bill so I was able to claim for that on my expenses ;-) )

The breakfast was great with Danish pastry to die for.

Would definitely return there, as it's also so central to the train station and the night life, and all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    356
    344
    144
    95
See reviews for
191
392
69
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Minutes from Tivoli and walking distance from many of the main attractions, shopping, restaurants. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful and speak very good English. Breakfast is good, a few hot items, fruit, yogurt and a lot of pastries, breads, meats and cheeses. The room we had was very small and the beds were terrible. My husband and I had a double room which was just two single beds pushed together with single bedding. The beds kept splitting apart which is so uncomfortable. (I know hotels often do this in Europe but normally the beds would zip together or at the very least, they would use the appropriate bedding) Worse than that is that there is hardly a mattress. It is a very thin, very uncomfortable piece of foam. Although this hotel has some great things going for it, if you can't get a good night sleep, I don't see the point. Change the beds and I would give it a great rating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is an old, but well maintained hotel with a great location in the center of the city. There are plenty of places to see, eat and shop in the area, with the Tourist Office, Central Train Station and Tivoli Gardens all less than a 5 minute walk away. The rooms are on the small side (but not tiny) and could use an upgrade (particularly the carpet), but mine was adequate for up to 2 persons, with a closet for luggage and a mini-fridge. No in room coffee or tea service, but it is free in the reception area, and they quickly delivered an electric hot water pot to my room at no charge. The bathroom had a full tub with lots of hot water and good pressure. The full size bed was comfortable but the pillows were not. The rooms are not air-conditioned, but this did not present an issue during my late October stay, although it is probably quite warm in summer. Except for the bathroom, the room was dark with poor lighting but the work desk was a good size. The wall mounted LCD television had only 2 English language channels. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and it worked very well. The gym has relatively new and well maintained weight machines and cardio equipment, but lacks any free-weights. As stated in other reviews, the elevator is quite small, but at least it was prompt. My only real problem was the magnetic key-card would not stay activated for more than a single use. This hotel gets high marks for the very attentive staff and its unbeatable location, but at US$200/night (including taxes), the price seemed high and could not be considered a bargain, even in this admittedly expensive city. While this is not a 4 star hotel by most standards, I was torn whether to give it a 4 rating, but as it certainly deserves more than a 3 rating, 3.5 would be more appropriate. For other than a summertime stay, this hotel is still recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FitDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were a group of friends, 4 couples and 2 singles, staying for a long weekend. Each room was different - different size and facilities, even though they were all booked at the same time and for the same rate. My wife and I got a mini-suite (sitting room next to bedroom) but none of the other couples did. We had no extra facilities such as a fridge. Others did, one single room even had a pair of cooking Rings. Bizarre. However, all the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast is cripplingly expensive, so we walked around the corner to a 7/11 and bought a coffee and Danish pastry, which we returned to our room to eat. The location is very convenient for the station and all the city centre sights. The staff were very friendly to us but we did witness the check-in clerk having a blazing row with a customer. The clerk did not look very friendly then but the words were all in Danish so we didn't know what it was about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We got off of a cruise here and decided to stay one night in Copenhagen before flying back home the next day. We went from the sea port to the hotel arriving at about 11:30 AM. " You cannot check in prior to 14:00 (2:00 PM)". Bummer! They do, however, have a luggage storage room that you may use. This room is in an awkward place with flights of stairs and bending corners involved. In other words, wheeled luggage is outta luck here. At 2:00 PM you may check in, but beware! This hotel must be the standard place where bus loads of Asian tourists book via the internet. And they all check in at 14:00! So check in is a problem here because everyone coming I to the city that morning is checking in at the same time. At any rate, our room was down the street a block or two and again we fought our luggage over a long term construction project in the street and sidewalk in front of the hotel. The elevator was a tiny Euro lift for one person and luggage at a time. The room was fine, but nothing to brag about. There is a breakfast buffet (not included). They do have an Apple computer and printer off the lobby to print boarding passes which was nice. The desk person called a taxi for us when we checked out and the cab was there in about five minutes. It was a 20-30 minute ride to the airport with little traffic and there is a straight fee from hotel to the airport. If you are a penny pincher you can take the train from the hotel area, but if you have luggage, etc, just take a cab - it's not that expensive and well worth it. The hotel is okay. The construction and stairs, etc would make it difficult for the walking challenged. I had to help ladies with their luggage because it was too heavy for them to lift up and down stairways, Remember, there is no ADA in Europe! In short, the hotel was okay for a night. If I were to go to Copenhagen again, I would consider the Marriott as I noticed it was on the Open Top Tour Bus stop. I didn't go inside the Marriott, so I don't know much other than it looked nice, it was at the bus stop, and a lady from our cruise told me she checked in when she got off the ship rather than waiting until 14:00.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms in the hotel and they also have multi room suites down the street, but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, QC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is the best feature of the hotel - 5-minute walk from Central Station, Tivoli Gardens, Stroget, City Hall, etc. It is also walking distance to most main attractions in Copenhagen. I had a single room with bathroom. The room was clean and with enough space for my suitcase and walk around. The bathroom was spacious and they fix the problem I had with the toilet right away. The room was facing the interior yard and it can get noisy with deliveries at night. There was a good selection for breakfast and it was good quality. The staff at the front desk can be rude. My flight was delayed by 24h and I've called to advise them and ensure I wouldn't lose my reservation. Once I got there, they had lost my reservation and gave me a lecture before finding a note on file. Fortunately, the rest of the staff was great and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanfan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The spa did an awfull bikini wax and agread to return a sum. They asked for bankdetails, wich they got, but did never return any money. Even after several mails, both to the hotel and the spa. The woman who is running the spa, Louisa, can not be trusted and the hotel will not take on any responsibility even when they call themselfs "Ascot hotel and spa". Both the name, and holding back the money, is FRAUD.

That the surroundings are noisy, the rooms worn down and the 24-7 roomservice is not telling you what they charge (30 DKR to bring a beer for 35 DKR) does not give them more stars in my book. This hotel might be used if you just MUST have a bed for one night but NOT if you want to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#62 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing