We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable accommodation near the centre of town”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Other reviewers complain that the hotel is not worthy of 4 stars and this may or may not be true. I can't say as we did not stay in the hotel but in the adjoining apartments also owned and operated by the Ascot Hotel. The apartments are actually very nice, evidently having been fitted out only recently. They provide clean and pleasant facilities and enough room for a family of four to stay in reasonable comfort for a few days all at a far lower price than you might expect to pay for equivalent hotel accommodation. We will use them again when going back to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Ascot hotel presents itself as a 4 star hotel in the centre of town.
The location is not bad and quite convenient since it's close to the train station and the centre, but this is all the Ascot Hotel has to offer.

Staff in the hotel is unwelcoming and not particularly accomodating, no-one helps with the luggage and the first room we were assigned to was tiny and really poor. For 100 euro per night it really didn't seem fair so we asked for a bigger one and at least that was accomplished by a quite rude receptionist.

The rooms are very poorly furnished and the bathrooms lack of towels and bath products, such as shampoos, which usually are given in any 1/2 star hotel.

The worst thing in the hotel was the "storage room". Like many people do when travelling, the last day we checked out and left our bags in the hotel's storage room, which usually should be locked from outside. When we came back my bag had been opened and my ipad and charger had been stolen. Staff was unhelpful and disinterested. They gave me no advice or help and just dismissed me by saying nothing valuable should have been left in the luggage. Too bad the safety boxes that the Ascot hotel offers are so tiny that nothing, except for maybe a passport would fit in them, therefore I had to keep my ipad in the bag, under the guarantee that you needed a swipe-card to enter the storage room, therefore trespassers wouldn't be able.

Copenhagen is such a lovely city and everybody is very friendly - don't ruin your holiday by getting tricked into staying in such an unwelcoming ambience.

PS. I advice you to look at the Alexandra hotel - just next to the Ascot. This is a 3 star hotel that seems much more accomodating and friendly with the same excellent location and for sure far nicer staff that the Ascot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Not ever been to Copenhagen before, I booked the Ascot hotel based on their website, photos and 4 star rating. How this hotel got a 4 star rating, I DO NOT KNOW! I travel a lot for work and stay in 4 star hotels week after week. This hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating AT ALL.
It is a relatively large hotel with 2 people running it. A lady behind the front desk tries to cope with guests checking in and checking out. One friendly chap serving in the bar and has to help with taking suitcases to rooms and he also has to deal with maintenance tradesmen on site. This means that when you need a drink, you might have to go find him on the fourth floor somewhere. 4 Stars?! I DONT THINK SO!
The rooms are SMALL and you can hear all the other guests talking in their rooms, babies crying, doors slamming in the corridors. I'm in my room on my bed as I'm writing this review...
My room stinks of smoke coming from other rooms in the same corridor. I had a bath this morning and when I pulled the bath plug, I flooded the whole bathroom. The bathwater was coming out a drain in the bathroom floor! 4 stars?! YOU MUST BE KIDDING ME! Landings and free space in corridors are being used as storage space for odd furniture, like disused chairs. Plastic plants covered in dust everywhere.
Would I recommend this hotel? NEVER!

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel if you can avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marco75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a very lovely hotel located very conveniently in downtown Copenhagen. It is very close to any transportation you might wish to take, whether it is for a trip to Carlsberg breweries, Kronborg castle or visiting friends across town. Being in the center of Copenhagen the location is very quiet. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit on the small size, but the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom and shower is very nice and plenty of hot water for a nice shower. We stayed for six nights, so we got a good feeling for the staff and the hotel in general. We were there during the Christmas holidays and the hotel was quite full, yet it was very quiet and the atmosphere was always relaxed. We had breakfast at the hotel one day, which was good but we preferred going to the various bakeries around the vicinity and have a freshly baked "snail" and coffee. Strøget, the famous walking/shopping street is two blocks away. Here you will find Royal Copenhagen porcelain, Georg Jensen silversmith and Illum an upscale department store, as well as plenty of places to eat including Europa 1989 and City Kroen. The hotel is within a couple of blocks from the main train station. Here you can catch the local S-tog, long distance trains to other points in Denmark and Sweden as well as trains to other parts of Europe. Outside the train station you will also find busses that will take you just about everywhere. If you are staying at the Ascot Hotel or Apartments and you arrive at Kastrup airport, take the S-tog to Copenhagen and get off at the main station and after a five minutes walk you are at the hotel. The Ascot Hotel is reasonable priced compared to other hotels in the same area. However keep in mind that Copenhagen is a moderate to expensive place to visit in the first place but staying at the Ascot Hotel is money well spend.

Room Tip: Ask for a "City view room" that should give you a view to the street instead of a room fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank friendlytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

It was a friendly welcome and room was clean and tidy. After two nights we wake up to a terrible sewage smell. I reported to reception and they promising to check it out. When we arrived the room late evening, the smell was worse and we got a new room with two single beds, in horrible condition. Back to reception, but no more help to get from this people.
Breakfast was good but expected more selections of hot dishes and toppings compare to the relative high price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yngvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Beautiful lobby, wonderful hardwood floors and staricases. Very comfortable beds. Rooms, even "superior" singles, were on the small side, but the bed was so comfortable I didn't care. Fantastic breakfast in a stunningly beautiful dining room. Excellent location near train station, Tivoli, old town, U of Copenhagen, etc. The only problem I would say was that every floor was not accessible by elevator - if you need handicap access be sure to mention this. Fo me it wasn;t a problem as staff was available to help with luggage etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eburke92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Look no further - the Ascot apartments (self-catering) are very modern, clean, central (just by Tivoli), good value, warm, with parking AND the cheapest you'll find in the city. Stayed with 5 friends in 923 & 922 in November and would highly recommend - an economical option in an expensive but lovely city

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SKT. Annae
Hotel SKT. Annae
#47 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,161 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,571 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#59 of 117 in Copenhagen
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#57 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,251 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,954 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $112 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing