We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #63 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotels location is great, shopping centers (stroget street), city hall and central station are walking distance.(5-10 min.) Hotel consists of two buildings. One of it main hotel part, the other is apartment part. Apartment part is separated from the main hotel. (next building). We stayed two nights in apartment room, and its facilities are average. Copenhagen is very expensive city, if you consider this, the hotel can easily called budget hotel...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonely_Bosphorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    379
    361
    152
    101
See reviews for
199
414
76
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
irvine, california
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Ascot Hotel seemed to be a popular choice for travelers, as it was always busy in reception. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room had a refrigerator and hot plate - good to have in Copenhagen, as food is VERY expensive. There's a grocery store about a 10-minute walk from the hotel. The bed was a double - a bit small for us, but all we could find at a good price. It was on the "mushy" side - not firm. The double windows were painted shut, so the room was quite stuffy. The bathroom had a nice shower. Free wifi. Fairly well located - we were able to walk to everything, but some of the distances were long.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

hotel ascot is a tipical european hotel with very small room and bathrooms. it cost us 152 euros with breakfast per night. nice location near to station and tivoli . ok breakfast with not very much option in vegetarian. for one night or stopover to copahagen you can go stay there

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rohitgoel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

And not even a shadow of apology or at least explanation. No chance to speak to a manager. Instead of it the receptionist told us to write a mail. The staff tries to be friendly but they look quite upset. The bathroom smells not good. We had to ask twice to get enough towels. The information sheets in the room mentioned a safe, but there was none in the room. So we enjoyed the location and Copenhagen, but the stay in Ascot Hotel was not confortable. We cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Merseyside
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at Ascot for one night and were very pleased with the overall experience. Hotel is situated in the centre of Copenhagen, about 5 mins walk from Central Station on a fairly quiet street, although we did have some road noise from the main road nearby.
We had booked a good deal through Alpharooms, and it was certainly good value, particularly as we were upgraded to a superior room on the third floor. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very tasteful.
The staff were all helpful, and the inclusive breakfast was well worth the additional money providing an excellent choice and was well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsaker, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

On arrival at the 1 bed apartment, it was a pleasant surprise to open the door to a classic contemporary style apartment. It was clean and had plenty light filling the room. We were content until bed time. After getting our kids off to sleep in the sofa bed, my husband and I were sorely disappointed to find the master bed sink in the middle and quite deep too. The two of us rolled into each other laying inside what felt like a hole. We tried desperately to get into a comfortable position, but no matter which position or direction we laid, that concave bed was not habitable. We ended up sleeping on the floor. At least our children slept well on the sofa bed. Not 4 star worthy with old beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smart2travel993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights & was not that impressed with it. It is in a great area of Copenhagen & close to everything. Very Central to all the sights & Central train station. The rooms were very small but were clean. The beds are very uncomfortable with no air-conditioning which was very uncomfortable in their summer & it wasn't even that hot. If you share with someone the beds are millimeters apart & it feels like you are sharing a bed with them. I had a bed that felt like it was 30 years old. The springs were all broken the mattress was that worn it made for a very uncomfortable night. I stayed in Copenhagen an extra night but went to another hotel. The breakfast was good though with a lot of variety. If you want a comfortable night I wouldn't recommend this place. It is rated as 4 star but isn't even close.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,384 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#61 of 116 in Copenhagen
936 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,083 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: Studiestraede 61, Copenhagen 1554, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Hotel in restored & modernized turn-of-the-century bathhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing