We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good rooms, breakfast not good”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I have stayed at least 15 nights at this hotel at different rooms in 2011. Mainly junior suite og superior rooms. I find the rooms above average when it comes to cleaning, design and sleep quality. The bathrooms have a good size and there is plenty of extra stuff. Generally a very fresh smell and very clean. Good a.c.

The location is obviously very good for tourists - 15 meters from an underground train station and two minutes walk from Tivoli etc.

The main problem with this hotel is the below average break fast. The bread is from a really poor baker, and although the selection of cuts and cheese etc seems wide is not quality food. I always avoid it or take breakfast elsewhere.

The staff is very good and very friendly. Of course it might play a role that I am a familiar face but I have noticed that they are helpfull with everyone.

Room service: I have not given it a very high rate. I have received room service 5-6 times and its generally not very satisfying and off course ridiculessly expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Under_many_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read about your stay with us. Your comments on the breakfast and room service are taken into consideration.

I hope we are able to welcome you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

Don't be fooled by the opulent name or the four stars, there is nothing exclusive or royal about the hotel.

It is a very busy hotel, and they cut corners. When I was there, I was first placed on a floor under repair, with the pipes in the corridor ceiling exposed and paper number signs by the doors. The internet didn't work there, which they probably knew before I told them. The bathroom was clean, but could use some minor repairs.

If you breakfast after 9:30 it is awfully crowded and messy in the breakfast restaurant, and the buffet is half of what it was at 7 am.

I sleept quite well, good beds and black out curtains. Might be different with a room facing the street though.

The price level is normal for Copenhagen (I paid 150 EUR) and therefore it is not reasonable to expect wonders. I was satisfied with the room and with the service in general (i.e. apart from the breakfast chaos).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Sirs
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com
Our air condition has been under repair which is the reason for the exposed pipes in the corridor ceiling. The air condition is up and running again.
Your comment on our breakfast buffet is noted.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

On first night had to screw in toilet seat which was just sitting on top of toilet.
Before hanging suit in wardrobe had to wipe clean with tissues because it was filthy.
Tea selection at breakfast but no HOT WATER and staff unwilling to do anything about it.
Good central location but staff appalling and unwilling to fix problems.
I've stayed in two star hotels with better service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank houseofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Sirs
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com
I am very sorry to read about your stay with us. We have a high maintenance and cleaning standard and I am therefore somewhat surprised to read about your experience. I can only imagine that there has been an error on our part, which I regret.
Your comment about our breakfast and service is noted.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Imperial is a stylish four star hotel in the centre of Copenhagen. Please do not expect too much of the breakfast - for Scandinavian standard a rather small and basic buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Here are my summary of Imperial Hotel Copenhagen:
5 star location (close to both metro & train station)
4 star breakfast buffet (those hot dish is the best)
3 star accommodation (overall service quality vs your budget)
2 star atmosphere (the air conditioner is malfunction?!)
1 star bike (no bike is suitable for Asian)

Room Tip: should request a allergy friendly room in advance!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siupolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com
I'm glad to hear that you had a good stay. It is correct that our air condition has been under repair, but works fine again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had a long weekend at the Imperial. The hotel is fairly modern and very clean. The room we had was quite large with a big comfotable bed, LCD TV with lots of channels, minibar, desk and chair and a couple of easy chairs. The bathroom had a bath and shower. There was not much of a view but we were out most of the time anyway.

Breakfast is good, continental style with the addition of bacon, eggs and fried potatos and delicious Danish pastries.

The staff at the hotel are very firendly and helpful. The only problem we had was on the last morning of our stay when workmen started drilling before 8am. We called reception and they sorted it out straight away. The workmen were contractors who had ignored instructions not to start early.

The location of the hotel is perfect, a couple of minutes walk from the main railway station and there is a local S-train station (Vesterport) opposite the hotel. There are lots of bars and restaurants close by as is Tivoli and the main shopping streets. Copehagen is a beautiful city with some great shops, brewpubs and restaurants. I recommend the canal tour. We found it easy to get around the city on foot. We really enjoyed our trip to Copenhagen and would stay at the Imperial again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.com
It is a pleasure to read about your stay in Copenhagen and at the hotel. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend. The location is pretty good, conveniently close to the central station.

We had a superior room, which was a good size. However it was in the second floor and had a view of the courtyard - a parking place. Not a pretty sight.

The breakfast was ok, the usual selection, nothing special. Very very busy though, people were lining up at 9 o'clock and seem to be waiting for a while. The staff at the breakfast room was not very efficient at cleaning up the tables. A lot of the chairs were broken, had big holes in the back - not what one would excpect to see in a 4 star hotel.

Overall I think the price we paid (appr. 450 eur/2 nights) was a lot for the quality.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Thomsen, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for submitting your comments on TripAdvisor.

I'm sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Located in the heart of Copenhagen, the view is limited, but we have many rooms facing the other side.

As you've noticed we've had some busy weekends, which sometimes results in that we can not seat all at the same time in our breakfast restaurant. We do however all we can to minimize waiting times.

In addition we have started to re-cover the abovementioned broken chairs.

Thanks again for your comments, which I have taken to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,501 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#42 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,306 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#56 of 118 in Copenhagen
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#46 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,154 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Vester Farimagsgade 9, Copenhagen 1606, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $158 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no doubt that Imperial Hotel is much more than a tastefully decorated, modern four-star hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. That’s because for more than 50 years, the hotel’s vibrant international atmosphere has attracted both Danish and international guests with a passion for good food and drink.Whether your business schedule is packed tight or you have ample time for sightseeing, Imperial Hotel is the perfect base conveniently located just steps from Tivoli Gardens, Strøget, City Hall Square and Copenhagen Central Station.If you are planning a meeting or conference, you can leave it to us to create the ideal environment with professional staff in one of our six conference rooms of various sizes. In our newly refurbished restaurant, Ristorante L’Appetito, we indulge our guests with authentic Italian delicacies made from excellent seasonal ingredients, lovingly created by our talented chef and his Italian team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing