We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tourist Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Nebo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nebo
Ranked #58 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Spotlessly clean, conveniently located, and staffed by friendly, English speaking employees, this hotel is excellent value for money. I stayed in an economy single (shared bathroom facilities) for four nights. The web-only price was a good deal. The included breakfast is substantial and varied enough to serve all tastes and to serve as a brunch for those on a tight meal budget. The hotel is centrally located just a few steps from the train station. The rooms are small for Americans, but there is more than ample storage and work space. The bed is very comfortable though the pillows are terrible. Thanks to the tall windows, the room was bright. There are only two drawbacks: my street-facing room was VERY noisy on the weekend (of the drunken youth variety) and on weekday mornings (of the loud, happy streetcleaner variety) though my colleague with the same level room in the back said her room was very quiet. The other drawback is that the only free internet access is a cumbersome single computer in the lobby. There is WiFi available, but it is extremely expensive. Otherwise, this is the perfect hotel for travelers on a budget who want something clean (even Americans would be impressed with the spotlessness of the shared facilities), safe, inexpensive, and centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RealLilyBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

The rooms are very smalls. Those without the bathrooms ensuite looks bigger (due to the fact that there is no bathroom to take up the space). The pillows are very flat and the spare pillows are highly on demand (may sure you ask for them when you check in, otherwise they are all gone). The hotel adjacent to it is under refurbishment. You can only rest on Sunday, when the workers aren't on the site. Otherwise it is a real nightmare. I did ask for a quiet room prior to my departure to Copenhagen, but was very disppointed.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JND1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Our room was clean and reasonably comfortable, though rather plain. The hotel staff provided good service, and the continental breakfast was quite good. The location was excellent, near the train station and Tivoli.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed here for one night, before leaving and taking the train to Copenhagen Airport. I didn't want to have to go to far with my luggage and risk getting to the airport behind schedule!

Getting here is super-easy - exit the central train station on the side entrance (opposite Tivoli), and walk a block over. It's around the corner from the Jernbane Ol (cafe/bar). There's a cool art-deco style neon sign out front that says "Missionshotellet Nebo"... which is nice to know, as I was looking for a sign that said "City Hotel Nebo" and kept walking past it!

The rooms were CHEAP, I got a room for $98USD with combined single beds (like full/queen) and private bathroom. For being this close to the central station, that's amazing! If you want a smaller room and don't mind a shared bathroom, they're even cheaper. The room is pretty basic, with a desk, cabinet/closet, night stands, and flat-screen TV with lots of local and international channels. It is an older building and has that feel, in a good way... it has really good sound-proofing, better than many newer hotels and hostels I've stayed in around Europe. A big window overlooked a rear garden, so I didn't have to worry about road noise. The bed was fine, not too bad , but like all other hotels in the region, and a note to other Americans staying there - they do not have a secondary sheet between the fitted sheet and the comforter. The morning breakfast was standard European fare (bread, eggs, meats, cereal, coffee, juices), and there was a free internet computer near the front desk. Usually people would be queuing up to use it though, but there was Wi-Fi that you could pay for in the room.

The bathroom was small and the shower was basically a shower curtain hanging around a corner. It felt like showering in a place the size of an airplane bathroom, and the nozzle was spraying water everywhere. Since it's just a curtain in the corner, it got the whole floor soaking wet and was a bit frustrating walking in water when getting ready in the morning. Also, the elevator was not working, which isn't that big of a deal, but made hauling the luggage up three flights of stairs a bit frustrating. They said that the elevator should be fixed in the next month or so, and they do offer luggage assistance during certain hours of the day if you need it to get your bags up and down stairs.

And something not bad, but odd - you have to drop your key off at the front desk when you leave the hotel. They give it back when you come back in, but I don't understand why you have to do this??

Despite those negatives, though, I would absolutely stay here again. It's in probably the best location for the price, and I will deal with a weird shower and no elevator for a good price and location!

Also, a note in the room stated that staying at City Hotel Nebo helps fund local humanitarian and recovery efforts in Denmark. I don't know what that means... but it made me feel good about doing something to support local efforts than just paying to a major hotelchain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minaviggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The hotel is located about half a block from the main train station in Copenhagen, if you leave from the side stairs. It is within walking distance of the city hall square and most of the attractions, including Tivoli. Unlike many train stations, the one in Copenhagen seemed very safe, there were no undesirables hanging around. I got a larger room with a sofa and desk. One of the windows opened to help cool, as there was no air conditioning, but I think it would be hot in the summer. The room itself was modern, with a very small bathroom. I could hear the next inhabitant pulling toilet paper, so the walls were not that thick; I could hear noise in the hallway too. The hotel has the annoying old European custom of the big brass key fob that you have to leave at the front desk; I prefer key cards. I had to unplug the bar fridge to plug in a laptop at the desk. There was an in-room safe that was too small for a small laptop. There was a charge for WiFi. The hotel is good for a quick stay because of its proximity to the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my 7 yr old daughter while trying to make our way home to Germany after being stranded in Sweden because of the volcano. The first night we stayed at Hotel Tiffany but needed something cheaper the second night. Visited the Hotel Nebo the day we arrived after friends and husband suggested it from reviews. Hotel staff said the only room they had available for the two of us the following night was a quad room despite having just talked to my husband who found availablity for a double online. After speaking to unhelpful sdtaff, husband went ahead and booked the double online for me. When checking in the next day, staff toom awhile to find my reservation which had me a little nervous but they eventually found it.
Our room was an economy double with out bath. The room could use some updating but for the price that was to be expected. There was a since, mirror, wardrobe, desk, chair and plenty of outlets in the room. We were on the inner court yard side. The comforter on the bed was badly stained. Thankfully it ended up being very comfortable though and we slept well even though we could here the neighbors tv through our wall. Shared bathrooms were not a problem and very clean. Breakfast was included and served in the dining area downstairs.
Location of this hotel is wonderful. If you walk down the steps and out the back door (opposite side from Tivoli) of the main train station, the hotel is just up the street from the 711. Very quick and easy to find. We never had any problems in this area and did not run into the gentlemen's clubs or prostitutes some other have mentioned.
This hotel may seem expensive but Copenhagen is a very expesive city and this hotel is actually an excellant price considering what a typical room in this city costs. If we end up back in Copenhagen, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxnomeatxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in an economy room, the room itself was plenty big enough for the two of us, the bed covers very warm. they had the typical European set up of 2 singles pushed together and we very nearly slipped between them a few times. The room had a decent sized wardrobe, desk, tv - with plenty of english language channels. There was room service offered by a local Domino's Pizza but the 7/11 two doors down there was no need. The only complaint we had room wise was that after the 2nd night our dirty towels were no changed. Apart from that it was great. For breakfast you really had to time it right, or wait around a bit as they were replenishing items regularly. But the selection was great - several different cereals, loads of different types of fresh bread/rolls, meat, cheese, jam, honey etc, as well as boiled eggs & fruit.
Location wise was perfect also - literally 30 seconds out of Central Station to the door of the hotel (the hotel is the opposite side of the train station to tivoli (which along with the carlsberg glyptotek is a matter of minutes away). they also have screens in reception with live flight schedules and a rack of discount cards for popular museums & attractions.
Would definitely stay there again - great hotel if travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#73 of 119 in Copenhagen
522 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#82 of 119 in Copenhagen
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#49 of 119 in Copenhagen
1,957 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#52 of 119 in Copenhagen
475 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
#63 of 119 in Copenhagen
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nebo

Address: Istedgade 6/8, Copenhagen 1650, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $63 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nebo 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nebo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nebo Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing