We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old grandeur, refurbished, a fairly good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old grandeur, refurbished, a fairly good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Palace hotel is one of those older splendid hotel of yesteryear which got rehabilitated and is now a decent place. Not a é="palace", granted, but a decent place. Located right by the Town Hall and very near the Central train station, it's ideally located to visit Copenhagen.

A little understaffed (automatic doors; you won't see anyone until you get to the tiny reception desk). I have the feeling I saw no-one except the reception. Having said that, the place is functional and well appointed. Rooms are large, which makes good value for money considered how central the place is.

You're right by the main pedestrian street that crosses the center of town.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies that open into the main square (view on the beautiful Town Hall) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvesChampollion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear YvesChampollion,


Thank you very much for staying with us, as well as forwarding your feedback!

We try to respect the fine line of both being widely available to our guests as well as offering the needed privacy - I regret if you got the feeling that we were not available, as we are open not only in the reception but also in our bar, restaurant etc.

I hope you will be back for a new visit, we are here to welcome you back!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    861
    308
    92
    46
See reviews for
314
887
95
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have been traveling on business for many years now and I can easily say that this was my worst hotel experience yet. The hotel is dirty - very dirty to the point that you cannot walk without a pair of shoes on in the room, service is non existing but the worst thing is the smell - the room smells of drainage. Not even worth considering. Finally you need earplugs for sleeping and you will find a pack in the room.

Room Tip: Forget this hotel look else where if you do not want to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlMica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear KarlMica,


Thank you for staying with us!

I regret to read your review - we appreciate any kind of feedback, however I must admit I can not recognize Palace Hotel Copenhagen in this.

We strive to deliver the very best - every time. If we for some reason did not deliver according to your expectations, please accept my apologies for that.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had a very enjoyable city break in the Scandic Palace Hotel. Great to see such an interesting and historic hotel being well looked after by the current owners. Our room was on an upper floor facing the square, and was comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a good selection which set us up for the day. We hired bikes from the hotel and enjoyed cycling on the designated cycle-paths, free from car traffic - a great way to get around Copenhagen. The staff were very friendly, and Cecilie on reception was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Graham M,


Thank you very much for staying with us at Palace Hotel Copenhagen!

I am happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to see you again soon!

Further I would like to thank you for commenting Cecilie, I will bring on the nice words to her!

All the best and have a great summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Palace before flying out the next morning. It was only for one night but would definitely go back. Had a room facing the square with a small balcony. It was beautiful and romantic to hear the bell tower chime. Room was plenty big enough with a walk in closet and very well appointed bathroom. Very centrally located hotel, everything is within minutes of here. It has a nice combination of old world charm and new modern amenities.

Room Tip: Loved the room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Eric K,


Thank you very much for staying with us, and as well for your nice words!

The view towards the square is indeed popular, especially when the sun sets, the balconies are a fantastic place to relax for a pre-dinner drink or just to enjoy the busy streets below.

I hope to see you back at Palace Hotel Copenhagen again!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a marvelous stay in Copenhagen at the Palace. Wonderful interiors, very good service and some excellent dining too, must recommend the hotel's restaurant for the breakfast buffet offering an enourmous selection. For service, the employees were extremely intelligent and compasionate to customers' needs. Had great experiences with Frederik Koustrup and recommend booking through him on your next visit.

The hotel was reasonably priced too for a luxury hotel. My only qualm was I would have enjoyed staying longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Shane S,


Thank you very much for choosing our hotel while visiting Copenhagen!

I am grateful for your feedback, and further to this very satisfied, that our Front Desk staff made you feel welcome and at home!

On a special note, on behalf of Frederik, thank you so much for the kind words!

I truly hope to see you back in Copenhagen again, and wish you a very nice summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

All the basics are present, good location. The hotel has a bit of a 'boutique' feel, cramped into the building with hidden staircases and a bit of a wonky lift. It does all that a hotel should do, but would benefit from a slightly more modern approach when refurbishing. Breakfast was a bit under the average. Not much choice although all was fresh and presented well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Bas W,


Thank you for choosing Palace Hotel Copenhagen while visiting Copenhagen!

I appreciate your feedback, and will evaluate your comments on the breakfast with my F&B team - we are looking to add quite a few new things to the buffet, and hopefully this will make it even more delicious.

The hotel was build in 1910 and is today categorized a national landmark - for this reason original and valuable historical installations can not be changed. The elevators may look "old school" but I can assure you, they work perfectly and without any safety hazards.

I hope you will visit us back again, until then I wish you a pleasant summer.


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

i wouldn't stay anywhere else in Copenhagen now. The staff were amazing on check in fixing a small problem and were incredibly helpful.
Great breakfast with a good range of stuff
Lovely refurbished rooms and very modern bathrooms
amazing location very central and near everything

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear stuartSydney,


Thank you very much for staying with us!

I am really happy to see you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hope whenever back in Copenhagen, you will visit us again!

Have a great summer!


Sincerely Yours,

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,702 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Property: Scandic Palace Hotel
Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing