We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my second trip to Copenhagen on business but my first stay at the Palace. Now I wish I had stayed there my first time. This is a great place to stay. The location is a plus. Directly across from the City Hall and the town square. The day I got there they had a Christmas tree lighting in the square. You are close to shopping and some really great restaurants. The hotel is undergoing some renovations but still has some really great historical architecture and feel. The rooms are not historical at all. They are clean and very modern. The service was great and provide some great restaurant recommendations. Also, while I was there my business plans changed and I had to spend a night in Norway during the week. It was not trouble for them to change my reservations. The breakfast buffet was top notch and the bar was very nice. I was able to get a nice holiday Gløgg. If you have never had one you should. So for a first time traveler to Copenhagen I would strongly recommend staying at the Palace. Location is key to your enjoyment and this is a great location.

Room Tip: The City Hall has a clock that chimes but never after 10 pm. If that is an issue you may want a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pia J, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for the very positive review of your visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sending our very best regardsPalace Hotel CopenhagenJette Rafn/Guest Relations                                                                                                                       

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

A short walk from central train station (mind the cobbled stone streets and attempting to maneuver suitcases). The hotel has been refurbished with a small lobby and very wide hallways upstairs, but the standard rooms are small. Our front facing room is decent in size with the view of the city hall. The walk in shower is huge. The Stroget is right around the corner and the walk to Nystad is about a 30 minute stroll. The staff is friendly enough and the breakfast is plentiful. The taxi back to the airport costs around 400DKK one way. Make sure your heater in the room works if you plan to travel in the winter.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pia J, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guests! Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Palace Hotel Copenhagen, right in the heart of Copenhagen. Also thank you for your feedback on the heater. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.Yours sincerely,Palace Hotel CopenhagenJette Rafn/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. Location is excellent. Great breakfast and wonderful cocktails. Don't let comments about it being a bit out-dated worry you, the place has been modernised but retains its historic charm. Very close to central station so get the train from the airport not the metro.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rayanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piajak, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Ryan and Debbie,
Thank
you for staying with us at the Palace Hotel Copenhagen. I appreciate
your kind comments about our location and breakfast and I am pleased to
hear
you enjoyed our cocktails. We look forward to welcoming you back on
your return visit to Copenhagen.
All the best.
Jette Rafn
Guest Relations 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here 3 days before a cruise. Quick check in with two elevators to rooms. Large hallways with double doors to your room. Had a front facing balcony. Loved it!! super large shower and bath, large walk in closet with safe, iron board, mini fridge. Opened the french doors to balcony and enjoyed the sun while listening to the pipe/flute player in city hall square. He stopped promptly at 11pm each night. Building is a bit dated but has a charm to it.
Breakfast was a much large selection than I expected.
Tivoli park was across the street but really couldnt hear it. A must visit to everyone. 100yr old wooden roller coaster was so much fun!! Stoget street is at the corner with many places to grab something to eat while strolling along shopping.
Convience store, 7-eleven I think was at the corner to grab drinks. So glad we booked here. Will book again when we return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank twip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pia J, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest, We are delighted to receive your very positive review of your visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your positive feed back of our team services, breakfast and the room. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.Yours sincerely,Yours sincerely,Palace Hotel CopenhagenJette Rafn/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here 24-26 january 2014. The location by the City Haal, Tivoli and Next to "Strøget" is just great. We had a room that was also really quiet so that was great as well. But the hotel itself is a bit outdated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pia J, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Simen, Thank you for sharing your experience at Palace Hotel Copenhagen. We appreciate your evaluation of your stay and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.Yours sincerely,                                                                                                       Palace Hotel Copenhagen                                                                         Jette Rafn/Guest Relations        

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We easily walked from Central Station, which took about 5 minutes once we had orientated ourselves. The hotel is a sort of arts & crafts style miniature of the city hall, with its own belfry. Check in was very quick and easy. One of the lifts has a wonderful old style car with a door handle, like something from Fritz Lang's 'Metropolis'. The corridors are broad, with wonderful period decor and lighting. Our rooms were stylish and modern, well furnished and clean. One room was very much c older than the other however, and despite mentioning this at reception, remained so throughout. The bar is cosy, and the cocktails delicious and reasonably priced for Scandinavia. We didn't eat an evening meal, but the breakfast was good and had a wide choice of food.

In summary, a very enjoyable stay, in beautiful and characterful surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pia J, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest, We appreciate you have taken your time to evalulate your stay at Palace Hotel Copenhagen and thank you for the very positive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the interest you show in the fine old building, the hotel is located in. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the nearest future.Yours sincerely,Palace Hotel CopenhagenJette Rafn/Guest Relations 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December. We upgraded to an executive room which was surprisingly inexpensive. The room was wonderful, very modern and spacious - we were in Copenhagen during the hurricane so we were lucky to have such a cosy room to hide in. Definitely worth upgrading to a room on the executive floor if you have a little extra leeway in your budget!

The only downside to this hotel was the expensive restaurant with only a few options, this doesn't really matter though as we found some fantastic local restaurants - highly recommend the buffet at Samos Greek restaurant or the Italian restaurant opposite!

The hotel is well situated, 5 minutes walk from the train station and right opposite Tivoli Gardens.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mimimgtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelCph, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear mimimgtf,


Thank you very much for sharing your stay, at Palace Hotel Copenhagen.

I am very pleased to read you have had a nice stay in the Executive Floor - the rooms have been designed to add just a "little extra" in order to make our guest feel even more pampered.

Thank you as well for the comment on the restaurant selection and prices - we have been looking into making a new and exciting menu, and if you visit us again, I hope you will give it a go as both prices and selections have changed.

Thank you for visiting, and hope to see you back again soon!


Sincerely Yours

Mads Brockmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
314 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#42 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,411 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $171 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing