We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel downtown Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel downtown Copenhagen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel blended inside an historical building. It is situated just opposite the beautiful city hall and few minutes walk from the Tivoli Garden. On the side of the hotel there is Frederikbresgardde a nice road with shops for a nice stroll if you are tired to be in the hotel. ( there are also restaurants but they are really average and for tourists...)
The hotel has also a cool cafe/bar with free wifi ( all the hotel included room are with free wifi).
The breakfast very generous in terms of choice is served in a nice place ( a bit small though) .
While walking to your rooms you will have a feeling of the historical building where this hotel is located.
The rooms are functional decorated with style however a bit small and the walls are a bit too thin ( you can hear the neighbor activities like talking on the phone )
From the room you can hear the city hall tower's bell bringing a romantic touch to your stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    875
    314
    92
    47
See reviews for
321
902
95
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second trip to the Palace Hotel. My wife chose to book us there again because we were so impressed with the décor, service and Location.

On this trip however, I was reminded by three staff members that not all guests are equal, especially if you are a shade darker than white.

Those three people have forgotten or are unaware of the Scandic Mission statement advising us the basic standards of service a guest staying at any Scandic Hotel should receive.

What a pity that those three people were unable to leave their ideologies outside the work place and give me the standard respect any paying guest should receive.

It is improbable that I will return to the Palace hotel in light of what has happened. On this occasion my stay has left me feeling offended and irritated with an unpleasant memory that will remain with me for a very long time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucian_Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a superb hotel. We had a great view of the Town Square and there were some very interesting happenings, sometimes in the middle of the night - it could be noisy but was always interesting. The hotel is in a great location, near the railway station and Tivoli and lots of other things. I highly recommend it. The breakfast buffet was great too, and we found the staff very helpful whenever we had a question.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up on the right hand side (looking from the hotel) with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokesyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Its right in the center of Copenhagen and within walking distance to many attractions, restaurants and shopping districts. During our stay, we were able to use the hotel as our pitstop as we walked around the city.

The second best thing about the hotel is the free and fast wifi. As we had not been to Copenhagen before, this was a great help for us to do our research.

Some not-so-good qualities of the hotel: the noise from the street below. The hotel provides ear plugs in our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here with our 15 month old. Lovely, big room, travel cot already installed and set up for us. Location is superb, it really is central. Breakfast was brilliant. There is a good, affordable restaurant two doors down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a large group of friends staying at Palace Hotel recently. The hotel's PR lady was very helpful with arrangements and advice. We had lovely rooms with modern decor with attractive bathrooms that really worked. The breakfast was excellent with homebaked rolls and pastry, especially the scrambled eggs were mentioned as being delicious. The hotel is central to visits to Copenhagen and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the central square can be noisy at night, but earplugs are available. The view is inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location. Across from Tivoli Gardens. Shopping just around the corner. Great restaurant in the hotel. Great rooms and very courteous staff. Amazing breakfast buffet. Highly recommend it. Excellent experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbie-or-Darby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,757 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Property: Scandic Palace Hotel
Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing