We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pleasant on this occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second trip to the Palace Hotel. My wife chose to book us there again because we were so impressed with the décor, service and Location.

On this trip however, I was reminded by three staff members that not all guests are equal, especially if you are a shade darker than white.

Those three people have forgotten or are unaware of the Scandic Mission statement advising us the basic standards of service a guest staying at any Scandic Hotel should receive.

What a pity that those three people were unable to leave their ideologies outside the work place and give me the standard respect any paying guest should receive.

It is improbable that I will return to the Palace hotel in light of what has happened. On this occasion my stay has left me feeling offended and irritated with an unpleasant memory that will remain with me for a very long time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucian_Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a superb hotel. We had a great view of the Town Square and there were some very interesting happenings, sometimes in the middle of the night - it could be noisy but was always interesting. The hotel is in a great location, near the railway station and Tivoli and lots of other things. I highly recommend it. The breakfast buffet was great too, and we found the staff very helpful whenever we had a question.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up on the right hand side (looking from the hotel) with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokesyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Its right in the center of Copenhagen and within walking distance to many attractions, restaurants and shopping districts. During our stay, we were able to use the hotel as our pitstop as we walked around the city.

The second best thing about the hotel is the free and fast wifi. As we had not been to Copenhagen before, this was a great help for us to do our research.

Some not-so-good qualities of the hotel: the noise from the street below. The hotel provides ear plugs in our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank dregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here with our 15 month old. Lovely, big room, travel cot already installed and set up for us. Location is superb, it really is central. Breakfast was brilliant. There is a good, affordable restaurant two doors down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a large group of friends staying at Palace Hotel recently. The hotel's PR lady was very helpful with arrangements and advice. We had lovely rooms with modern decor with attractive bathrooms that really worked. The breakfast was excellent with homebaked rolls and pastry, especially the scrambled eggs were mentioned as being delicious. The hotel is central to visits to Copenhagen and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the central square can be noisy at night, but earplugs are available. The view is inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amazing location. Across from Tivoli Gardens. Shopping just around the corner. Great restaurant in the hotel. Great rooms and very courteous staff. Amazing breakfast buffet. Highly recommend it. Excellent experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Barbie-or-Darby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Checked into the hotel (which was courteous, quick & efficient) took the old lift (must be 100 years old - but great) up to my room and was delighted by the standard of room. Clean, spacious and well laid out. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - largely due to the fact that the staff are not regularly monitoring the buffet and this gets depleted without replacement for long periods. The hotel has good meeting facilities, great bar and is generally a grand hotel. Only negative is the church bells from the neighborhood which chime every 15 mins from early morning until late at night - but all the hotels in the area will suffer the same!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJB333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
318 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,525 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $188 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing