We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Great room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great location. Great room.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a long weekend. This was our first trip to Copenhagen and the Palace Hotel helped make it a great weekend.

Our room (429 - 4th floor) over-looked the inner courtyard and was very quiet - if you ignore the chimes from the bell on the City Hall! The room was really nice. The bed was really comfortable and bathroom nicely sized. A great place to rest our weary legs after touring the city.

The location was great for our travel, being close to the central station. It is also right on one end of what seemed to be the "shopping area" of Copenhagen. Everywhere we wanted to go was in pretty easy walk / bike range (more of that later).

We didn't use the restaurant other than for breakfast. Breakfast was pleasant enough; plenty of organic food (cereals, cold meats, cheese, etc.), plus a reasonable cooked breakfast and selection of pastries (Danish, of course!). It was more than enough to get us started in the morning!

The bartender in the bar was friendly enough. There was a reasonable selection of drinks. But, the bar was only really used for a night cap. There are plenty of alternatives all over the city for this particular service.....

The staff were friendly and, on the whole, helpful. They couldn't recommend a sensible Rent-a-Bike option (the hotel bikes were out or broken). You should research this before going. Or, head up over to the Rosenburg Castle area for that particular service. Also, they left our bags fairly vulnerable when we left them with them after checking out. For these two reasons, I have knocked a point off.

Talking of which, check-out was a very sleep-friendly 12.00 - most appreciated.

I would definitely try and book here again, if I were to return to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesSmith969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    872
    313
    92
    47
See reviews for
319
899
95
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Got to the hotel and was pleasantly surprised that I had been upgraded to a suite. The receptionist was very kind; I had forgotten my charger adapter and asked if there was one I could buy, but he lent me one without charge! The room was amazing - very clean and to a high standard. The breakfast had a wide range of options - all of which I tried and was pleased with. The staff are very friendly and the location is fantastic. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nippon109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Palace Hotel from the 22nd to the 26th August. During this time the Gay Pride festival was on in the square outside which was very noisy. Fortunately we had room 438 on the 4th floor which although having no view was nice and quiet.

The hotel has possibly the best location for exploring Copenhagen. We arrived on the train from the airport (14 minute trip) and had a five minute walk from train station to hotel (whilst wheeling our large bags). Check in was quick and efficient. There have been lots of comments about the lifts and they are old, quirky and charming. If you expect a modern newly built interior then this is not for you. By European standards the room was large and spacious, easily double the size of the room we stayed in in Paris. The shower was powerful and the bathroom was really good with nice facilities. The bed was massive and quite comfortable with four large pillows. We went out every day in the morning and returned in the evening before heading out again so we didn't have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the hotel.

As I said the location is fantastic, close to the station, Tivoli is across the square and the Stroget shopping street is literally fifty yards / metres away. The Roundtower, National Museum and Parliament / Palace, Nyhaven are also all within walking distance. The station or the hop on hop off boat or bus allow easy access to The Little Mermaid etc. There are plenty of coffee shops nearby to try Danish pastries and plenty of good places to eat or drink - almost everywhere in Copenhagen serves high quality food.

When we go back to Copenhagen we'll almost certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 438 - it has no view apart from some rooftops but is very quiet compared to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter (27) and I stayed here from 5 -8th sept. stayed in room 307 overlooking the square which had Lots of atmosphere/activity similar to other European city plazas. The room had great bathroom facilities. Comfortable beds and pillows. Carpet could do with replacement.
Breakfast was excellent.. Plenty of fresh fruit, crispy bacon etc and ham, cheeses, pastries etc.
We did not eat lunch or dinner there.
Hotel location is excellent. Staff were very helpful and friendly. No denying the hotel could do with a touch up here and there, but would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose facing the square but only if you don't mind the late night activity and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

OMG .. perhaps some of the raving reviews were from folks used to traveling to third world countries .. The Palace isnt just old, it's filthy .. stained and worn carpets (indoor outdoor level), stained seats in the dining room.. elevators so old and filthy you needed sanitizer after pushing the floor button .. There obviously is no front desk or beverage manager who cares a bit about the customers .. The bellman, if that is what his role is, is just plain incompetent .. called for a trolley to help us with our bags on the way out, .. waited twenty minutes, and did it ourselves .. only to find him chatting it up with the front desk girls and he gave an falsely embarrassed "i completely forgot" .. The dining room staff just as bad .. as we ate our mediocre breakfast, we watched a server pass by a fallen watermelon rind at least twenty times .. as guests walked around it .. only picking it up after my wife asked her to .. Dishes were not picked up when done .. we tried to get a drink outside, and gave up after waiting twenty minutes and never seeing a server .. The rooms ?? supposedly air conditioned, but told on check in it really isnt air conditioning, just air handling .. for over 400 dollars a night ... PLEASE !!.. The noise from the outside square is loud, with sirens blaring continuously .. inside the suffocating room, is a spartan danish chair, which, if you dont have a back ache, you will after using .. a minimalist desk, and no dressers for unpacking .. Lots of room for a couch or real chairs .. but this is spartan .. While the walk in shower is very nice .. there were no toiletries provided unitll the third day .. the only thing to use was the wall mounted all purpose soap .. Oh, towels were not freshened each day . and we ran out of toilet paper on checkout .. towels were motel 6 quality .oh finally, the chandelier in the room had 3 of 5 bulbs burnt out, and the closet light just flickered .. . I can only speak for american expectations .. this is a terribly over priced and disappointing hotel that just happens to have the fortune of being located close to Tivoli, Storget etc .. Look elsewhere !!

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank valuemkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This older hotel is very central, close to the main shopping streets, Tivoli and the train station. The rooms were nice and clean, and well decorated. The rooms on the front of the building face a main square, and therefore can be very loud. We were there during the gay pride festival, which made for a great atmosphere during the day and night, but the loud music kept going until 3 am, and could be heard easily in the room. The breakfast buffet is decent, nothing special, but free with the hotel which is nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfeige23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tried to live in a couple of other hotels in Copenhagen, but nothing can compare to the nice and friendly Palace Hotel at Raadhuspladsen. What makes it such a good place to stay is very much the people working there that always makes you feel welcome as an appreciated guest.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Raadhuspladsen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotRodHocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,704 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,744 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,233 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Property: Scandic Palace Hotel
Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing