We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Denmark'sfinest hotels in the heart of Copenhagen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Denmark'sfinest hotels in the heart of Copenhagen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I frequently travel for business to Copenhagen. This is one of the finest hotel's in Copenhagen I have stayed in. Of course the price is a little higher but it's worth the location and the service of the hotel. Copenhagen's main shopping street just starts from the hotel's location. One can just enjoy good evening walks on this street. Just 10 mins walk from Copenhagen central station with rooms facing the main square and the Cathedral this hotel is just a delight to stay in.

Hotel offers a yummy and healthy breakfast. The service is impeccable. I have stayed for more than 4 times now in this property and each time my stay was pleasant due to the staff. I would like to specially mention Danielle who was of great assistance during each of my stay. I believe its people like Danielle which makes Palace Hotel one of the best in Copenhagen.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for any purpose, business or pleasure to anyone travelling to Copenhagen.

Room Tip: I like rooms with views to the city but if you want quiet then you can request for rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    861
    308
    92
    46
See reviews for
314
887
94
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ctyankee20
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

nice renovated historic physical plant. great location. Rooms decent sized and modernly done. breakfast buffet while not cheap was plentiful and of high quality. I asked for a little concierge type help and after a little bit of a mixed start they were helpful and did what i needed. I would come back for leisure. Think the hotel would be a nice place to stay and a good base for exploring Copenhagen.

Room Tip: I asked for a high floor room facing the square which would have and amazing view. they could not gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Palace Hotel once in 2011 for a short duration and once again in 2012 for a long duration (2 weeks). The pros: beautiful interior - historic entry and staircase with modern, clean rooms. The breakfast area is nice with a variety of choices each morning. Granted, one gets a little tired of eating eggs, mushrooms, and bacon after 13 breakfasts in the same place, but it's still good. The bar is wonderful with good food and good service. The rooms overall are comfortable and clean with fairly spacious closets and some with large bathrooms. The cons (speaking of the bathrooms): Some of the bathrooms are very small and cramped on the main floor. If you're used to a standard shower as an American abroad, not all bathrooms have them. Many of the bathrooms feature the adjustable / removable showerheads and a half partition on the bath. I don't mind it, but again, many do. The biggest con about the hotel is the outside light and noise. This truly depends on which floor and which side you are on. In the front, you will get noise from the plaza and if you're up in the 3rd or 4th floor, you may get light pouring in. You'll also hear the clock tower loudly going off in any room. I didn't mind being on the 4th floor as I'm a pretty heavy sleeper, but the drunken revelers in the plaza were loud enough one night to wake me up. Overall, you can't beat the location of the hotel as it's right by the Stroget and within short distance of the Central station. I prefer this hotel over the "Copenhagen" which is closer to the lakes, but honestly, it's a toss up since the Copenhagen was remodeled recently.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrd232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was in business trip in Copenhagen last week and decided to stay somewhere else than normally. I chose Palace and was really happy about it even my "normal" hotel has been really good.

The personnel was really nice there. In our own travel-booking system I put that I need allergic room because I can´t stay in rooms with wall-to-wall carpet. That information wasn´t sent to Palace, and they had there some renovation going on. But still with some effort from personnel and some tiny effort of me, I got so beautiful room with wooden floor. With nice view of rooftops and clock towers. So I would certainly recommend this hotel.

It is located beside the Town hall just in the beginning of Stroget, the walking area in the city center. Also Tivoli is across the square.

Be aware that this is also Scandic hotel but taxi drivers don´t might know that and they drive you to the wrong place, which is also quite near the Town hall.

There is also health center but I didnt visit there. Breakfast was all good Scandinavian breakfast with fruit, veges, youghurt, eggs, bacon, sausages, bedrolls, buns... Good way to start your day :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Palace Hotel for a long weekend over the Easter break. The hotel has a great location - we travelled from the airport by train to Copenhagen city centre, and from there we were about 5 minutes walk away. Contrary to the previous review, we found the hotel easily -in fact you can see it from exiting the station looking straight over Tivoli.

During our stay we walked practically everywhere. The hotel is right next to the pedestrianised shopping area, it's opposite Tivoli and super close to the design museum. Copenhagen is pretty small to be honest.

The only con with the location of the hotel is that it is right next to the town hall, and therefore, you are subject to the loud clock bongs every quarter of an hour from 8am to midnight. A little annoying if you want a little lie in.

We had originally booked a standard double/twin room. I recommend you specify if you want a double, as we had two twin beds pushed together with two single duvets which I'm not a fan of. The room was pretty small, with only a shower cubicle rather than a bath tub. We discovered that the shower did not drain at all, and rapidly flooded our bathroom. On raising the issue, we were immediately offered a different room - an upgrade to the superior king at no extra cost - and they were extremely flexible with letting us go out for the day before coming back to move. Our new room was so much bigger and included a bath tub, not to mention the huge super king double bed.

I recommend you request a room that is not on the first floor as there is fairly loud music playing from below until relatively late. It does get quieter but if you are a light sleeper then this could be disturbing. Also, there was no chance of an afternoon nap pre big night out.

We didn't eat any meals in the hotel because we thought breakfast at DK160something was a bit steep. Instead we went back over to the station and at at Andersen's bakery - excellent pasteries, coffee and the most amazing hot dogs from the gourmet hot do shop next door. A must! We didn't eat dinners near to the hotel, but instead went to Restaurant Radio (20 mins walk away) and Geranium (cab drive).

If we were to go back to Copenhagen, I would be tempted to stay nearer to the night life over the river. Albeit you would be further away from the sights, but I think the atmosphere in the evenings and selection of bars would have been better. But this part i'm just guessing.

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VonGregson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a short break with my son in Copenahagen. Came to city-center by train from airport and we walked towards the town hall (where the hotel situated).
So we were trying to look around to find Scandic-sign and were very confused when not finding any. So after 10 minutes strolling we went in to a hotel (which had some other hotel-chain mark in the doorway). I asked at the reception, if they knew where our Scandic-Hotels is, and they replied "you have just arrived". Personally I did not like the the way Scandic is doing this in this location. From my point of view, it is obligatory to have some sign (even small) to tell patron where we are. This is important part of the customer-experience (customer-journey planning) - to ensure your customer is able to find you. Very basics!
However, the hotel was quite unique; old building with special atmosphere. Same time we felt good about old-fashioned interior, some parts of walls and ceilings seemed to be very worn-out.
The room itself was good with funny separated shower-rooms. Enough space for luggage and stuff. Nice linens and beds plus decoration. Scandinavian style. We liked it.
Breakfast was VERY good, huge amount of different items to choose from and good service attitude. Same attitude with receptionists. And barista, who prepared one of the best cappucinos in town.
So I´m sure we come back when in Copenhagen. At least now we know where it is.:)

Room Tip: Superior twin was very good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Very convenience location, very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and modern, I had a very pleasant stay. Just the weather is not too good due to strong freezing wind. Hence suggest to have visit in Copenhagen during May instead.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Property: Scandic Palace Hotel
Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing