We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good but a bit tired.....the hotel and also me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“very good but a bit tired.....the hotel and also me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

excellent service, breakfast was as previous reviews....very good and room compact but clean and tidy. Its was a pity both windows looked out onto scaffolding and coverings. Exterior looks historic but feels like it needs to be freshened up. Otherwise emjoyed the stay more than other scandics.
One point - very good wifi with connections to up to 5 items!!

Room Tip: check its not one of the rooms with repairs outside in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piajak, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    875
    315
    92
    47
See reviews for
322
902
95
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room is small and you have to be prepared to drag your luggage through long corridors.
The hotel advertises with breakfast always included but that is only true if you pay for a B&B package. You are much better off going to any cafe in the area for food - or even better; stay in another hotel. The breakfast buffet is the saddest I have seen in Denmark so far. I got to the breafast room 20 minutes before it closed and there was nothing left on the buffet except from some ice cold eggs and some greasy slices of bacon. And none from the hotel in sight to complain to. When I checked out I mentioned that I was not impressed with the breakfast and I was told that I could post it on tripadvisor if I wasn't happy. So here you go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rolf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed three nights for new years and found this hotel very soothing. I got a great deal from their website as "early bird" and upgraded to the spacious superior plus room. This was great. Newly refurnished and with all the amenities one could expect.

The hotel lobby is grand and flamboyant, leading right into the hotel bar. Kudos to the barkeeper who was senior and experienced. I'm quite picky when it comes to Bloody Marry, but this one was epic.

Breakfast was great too! I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the spacious superior plus rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piajak, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently stayed at the Palace hotel, whilst visiting the Chritmas markets in Copenhagen.
The hotel is centrally located in the city centre and only a 5 minute walk from the rail station.

The room was nice, modern and comfortable. We feel the cold and felt our room was a little chilly for us, so we spoke to reception and Hanson promptly brought a heater up to our room straight away - with out any fuss.

The hotel staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.

Would stay again if we return to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piajak, Manager at Scandic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to Palace Hotel Copenhagen! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel since we had reservations at KinKin, and even tho we're living in Malmö (30 minutes from Copenhagen), we thought we'd treat ourself to a night in a hotel.

I always choose between Scandic or Radisson when staying in hotels in Scandinavia. Mainly since their breakfasts are almost awesome, and Scandic Palace was not an exception, tasty tasty tasty!

Clean rooms, super nice staff, and great breakfast. But as said above, you can NEVER go wrong with Radisson or Scandic (Just make sure it's one of the city/downtown ones, otherwise it might not be as good).

There was this little window-holder thing on the outside of the window that made some sounds during the night, but then again, it was snow storm outside, so it was understandable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PontusMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yes it is a classic and many may like that. We thought it was okay. Rooms very reasonable but nothing spectacular. We were on one of the upper floors and had a view over the roofs of the neighboring buildings towards some of the historic locations, surely better than towards a street.
The room was fairly compact but it was comfortable.
The breakfast was good and the buffet style had all the options we hoped. Service in the restaurant was nearly non existing leaving some spots on the buffet empty and plates on the various tables still standing around.
Front desk was actually very helpful for all our needs.
Location is great as from here we got to experience everything with just a few minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armenia, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 3 times at Palace so far, and had the following pro's cons:

1st Time (Superior Plus room)
Pros: Really nice room, quiet in the top of the building, really nicely decorated, sofa-group.
Cons: It smelled during the afternoon, and looked thoroughly to find... The last guests room service food in one of the drawers.. yuck .. I called and noone picked up in reception. Ended up actually going down with the plates to the reception (just to show). Not even an "excuse us". Also the pringles pack in the minibar was opened and eaten before I checked in, but they cancelled it on my bill.

2nd Time (Superior room)
Pros: Good room, clean
Cons: You could hear everything (walls leaf-thin). I handed in 2 suits for drycleaning, was told everything would hang in my room at 10, the next day. I had another suit I used, but told the reception while heading to work if they could carry up the laundry, which they once more agreed to. After 2 days (no laundry), i tried calling.. Obviously there is a problem picking up the phone at the front desk. I ended picking it up myself (when going down right after: no people checking in, 3 people in the back part? why not pick up the phone?)

I would say highlight is the breakfast buffet. Since the hotel is nowadays Scandic, I hope they keep their scrambled eggs and quality ingredients along with fresh pressed juice and not put up that scandic standard junk food & juice machine.

Also the proximity to the main shopping street, restaurants make it attractive..

I'll surely give it one more shot..

Room Tip: Choose a superior plus room (more expensive, but worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Palace Hotel

Property: Scandic Palace Hotel
Address: Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Copenhagen, the Scandic Palace Hotel is well-established in its rich cultural and historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scandic Palace
Scandic Palace Copenhagen
Palace Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing