We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but make sure what you are booking.”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Absalon Annex was our first hotel on our scandanavian tour. We took the airport train to get to the city and got off at Central station. The Absalon Annex was about a 10 minute walk from the station with our luggage.
Before our arrival and whilst deciding to book at the Annex and not the Hotel, we knew that the standard of the rooms were not fantastic, but the location and the price was too good to pass up.
Check in was efficient and the reception staff were friendly and kind. The gentleman that checked us in was extremely helpful and after we enquired about the possibility of having the use a water kettle he advised that
they didnt have any on the Annex side and arranged a flask with hot water instead. We were happy with this however 5 minutes later he knocked on our door and personally delivered a water kettle - that was definately not
expected and above the service standard we expected from the Absalon Annex.

The room itself was definately nothing special. It was brightly lit, with large windows that opened with a view overlooking the street below. You are able to see well into the buildings across the street though - something to keep in mind!
A single bed adorns each side of the room, the Absalon Annex did not have any double beds available for us. A small wash basin & mirror with a flourescent light tube overhead allows you to wash your face and brush your teeth without having
to make the trek to the shared bathroom facilities across the other side of the building. A wardrobe with small TV hung off the wall are the only other furnishings that were present in our room. The TV did not function during our stay, but
we werent there to watch TV either.

The shared bathroom facilities are often discussed. There are only two or three showers and 4 or so toilets that were shared communally in our area of the building. We never had a problem with availability of the showers or toilets and although
shared, they were quite clean but a bit cramped. If you need to have showers during peak times (i.e. mornings and early evenings) then there could be problems but we avoided these times for our showers and worked out quite well.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and is a buffet style that is served in their dining room/breakfast area. There is a variety of pastries, toast, cereals and condiments along with cold cuts of meats and other specialty scandaniavian
delicacies (such as herring and other preserved items). Coffee and juice/cordial are also served. The breakfast area was very busy and it can be difficult to secure a table at any time. Staff worked hard to clear tables but it was often hard to
keep up.

The location of the Absalon Annex is very convenient and within close walking distance to central station where trains and buses are available. A short distance further away is the main city centre.

We really didnt have any problems with staying at the Absalon Annex. If you are aware that it is a one star hotel and adjust your expections accordingly it is a good base from which to explore the city whilst being much cheaper than most other available options.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bambinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 630 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

The location couldnt be more perfect. Just outside the central station! The area is nice. Its a hostel but its owned by thé hôtel right beside so the service you get is the one of the hotel so it is great. The rooms of the annex are OK but not nice just white walls and beds and shared bathroom but who cartes. The breakfast is also from thé hotel so it is amazing super complète.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lára G, Gæsteansvarlig at Annex Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate every time our guests take their time to help us to continuously improve our service.
We are glad to hear that you liked the location, which we see as the perfect location in Copenhagen, in the trendy upcoming Vesterbro area.
Even though we are a low budget hotel, we don market our property as a hostel, but as a 1 star hotel. We are though so lucky to be able to offer our guests the same service and breakfast as our 3 star sister hotel, Absalon, offers.
We hope to be able to welcome you again someday to our newly renovated and colourful Annex Funky rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked it from Hostelbooker, and we thought it woukd be a hosyel, but when we arrived we found:
1. no public kitchen, so we cannot cook.
2. no hot pot,so no hot water to drink
3. only 4 washrooms and two shower rooms for the whole floor to share, so it's very inconvenient.
4. i got some tiny bites on the bed...didn't look like bed bugs but a little itchy.

The advantages:
The location is great, the internet is fast, and the breakfast is great.

So, I dont recommend the annex rooms, if i knew the truth beforehand, i would have chosen some other hostel at the same price, at least I would have hot water to drink during the winter time in that case.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lára G, Gæsteansvarlig at Annex Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate when our guests take their time to help us becoming better.
We are sorry that you were not happy about the room or the shared facilities. If you would have contacted the reception, they would have been happy to find you a better room or even offer you to upgrade to the Absalon Hotel for a small amount.
The Absalon Annex, is not a hostel, but a 1 star hotel. That is why we don’t offer any admittance to a kitchen or electric kettles in the room, but our lovely reception staff would have been happy to lend you one from the reception.
We have asked our cleaning crew to be extra aware off bed bugs or any other unwanted visitors.
The Annex has 5 floors, so there is also possible to try the other floors if the showers or the bathrooms are busy when needed.
The Annex is closed now, as we are renovating all the rooms, so we will be able to give our guest a more updated version off Copenhagen low price hotel, so we hope to be able to welcome you back one day, to our new funky Absalon Annex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The annex hotel is within the Absalon Hotel. Good hotel, colorful rooms and a great breakfast. The shared facilities are okay, but just four toilets and two (tiny) showers are not a lot for a whole floor. Location is great, just near the central station. Price is okay (if you compare it withe rest in CPH)..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lára G, Gæsteansvarlig at Annex Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate when our guests take their time to share their meanings.
I can see that you have stayed in one of our newly renovated funky Annex rooms. The plan is to finish renovating the whole Annex at the end of February, where we look forward to be able to present all our guests with the colorful and lively design.
The Annex has 5 floors, so the guests have the opportunity to try one of the other floors, if the showers on their own floors are occupied.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Copenhagen another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. If you are used to hostels, the annex is definitely more luxury than the usual type. The rooms were sweet and had character, and all toilets and showers were only a few steps outside your door. Everywhere was spotless clean, and even with the Do not disturb sign on we still had clean towels left in a bag hung on the door - all very personal. The breakfast is included in both the annex and the hotel which was fantastic. There were several options to choose from and a fresh jug of coffee on each table in the large catering area.

Staff were generally very polite and friendly - as were all the Danish people we met. Overall, its an amazing city and we would definitely recommend staying here if you want somewhere local. There is a lovely little street to the left of the hostel full of bars and restaurants.
The hostel is a stones throw away from the train station so would be fantastic for any interrailers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeninburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We didn't realise the travel agent had booked us into the annex, not the hotel- so we were pretty unhappy as we would have booked a hostel had we wanted the communal showers.

Only 2 showers and 6 toilets per section, and there were 3 sports teams from Germany and England staying when we came in. All 16yo boys.
We upgraded straight away as they were camping out in the hall ways.

The hallways are tight, so be careful with larger luggage. The people at the front desk were all so lovely and helpful. Breakfast is good with gluten free toast available on request.
The usually breads and cheeses. With meats and sauces, fruit, cereal. And drinks.

Rooms were very clean but very old. There was a mini bar, but don't open the desks as the drawers fall out.
No hooks in the bathroom, but a bottled opener, priorities? Shower had awesome pressure

Overall a good clean place regardless of upgrade or not, with good at,osphere and close to the main shopping area and KBH station.

Room Tip: Upgrade for 20 bucks more. Do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdzynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Decent 2 nights stay overall. Communal toilet and showers weren't too bad and was very clean. Towels provided and shower gel dispensers in room and showers, phone and tv in room. Had to use it to summon night clerk when couple next door had a fight. Secure locker for bags after checkout, enjoyed the expansive lobby of the main hotel. Well located, just one street from the central train station. Quiet area and sfe enough, though there are some drunks near that particular entrance to the train station. We spent all day out, leaving at 9am and returning at 11pm, so it's fine.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,550 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#55 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#38 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing