We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad room, but good location and breakfast”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bad room, but good location and breakfast”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked it from Hostelbooker, and we thought it woukd be a hosyel, but when we arrived we found:
1. no public kitchen, so we cannot cook.
2. no hot pot,so no hot water to drink
3. only 4 washrooms and two shower rooms for the whole floor to share, so it's very inconvenient.
4. i got some tiny bites on the bed...didn't look like bed bugs but a little itchy.

The advantages:
The location is great, the internet is fast, and the breakfast is great.

So, I dont recommend the annex rooms, if i knew the truth beforehand, i would have chosen some other hostel at the same price, at least I would have hot water to drink during the winter time in that case.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lára G, Gæsteansvarlig at Annex Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate when our guests take their time to help us becoming better.
We are sorry that you were not happy about the room or the shared facilities. If you would have contacted the reception, they would have been happy to find you a better room or even offer you to upgrade to the Absalon Hotel for a small amount.
The Absalon Annex, is not a hostel, but a 1 star hotel. That is why we don’t offer any admittance to a kitchen or electric kettles in the room, but our lovely reception staff would have been happy to lend you one from the reception.
We have asked our cleaning crew to be extra aware off bed bugs or any other unwanted visitors.
The Annex has 5 floors, so there is also possible to try the other floors if the showers or the bathrooms are busy when needed.
The Annex is closed now, as we are renovating all the rooms, so we will be able to give our guest a more updated version off Copenhagen low price hotel, so we hope to be able to welcome you back one day, to our new funky Absalon Annex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    283
    123
    40
    16
See reviews for
62
239
69
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The annex hotel is within the Absalon Hotel. Good hotel, colorful rooms and a great breakfast. The shared facilities are okay, but just four toilets and two (tiny) showers are not a lot for a whole floor. Location is great, just near the central station. Price is okay (if you compare it withe rest in CPH)..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lára G, Gæsteansvarlig at Annex Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate when our guests take their time to share their meanings.
I can see that you have stayed in one of our newly renovated funky Annex rooms. The plan is to finish renovating the whole Annex at the end of February, where we look forward to be able to present all our guests with the colorful and lively design.
The Annex has 5 floors, so the guests have the opportunity to try one of the other floors, if the showers on their own floors are occupied.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Copenhagen another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. If you are used to hostels, the annex is definitely more luxury than the usual type. The rooms were sweet and had character, and all toilets and showers were only a few steps outside your door. Everywhere was spotless clean, and even with the Do not disturb sign on we still had clean towels left in a bag hung on the door - all very personal. The breakfast is included in both the annex and the hotel which was fantastic. There were several options to choose from and a fresh jug of coffee on each table in the large catering area.

Staff were generally very polite and friendly - as were all the Danish people we met. Overall, its an amazing city and we would definitely recommend staying here if you want somewhere local. There is a lovely little street to the left of the hostel full of bars and restaurants.
The hostel is a stones throw away from the train station so would be fantastic for any interrailers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeninburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We didn't realise the travel agent had booked us into the annex, not the hotel- so we were pretty unhappy as we would have booked a hostel had we wanted the communal showers.

Only 2 showers and 6 toilets per section, and there were 3 sports teams from Germany and England staying when we came in. All 16yo boys.
We upgraded straight away as they were camping out in the hall ways.

The hallways are tight, so be careful with larger luggage. The people at the front desk were all so lovely and helpful. Breakfast is good with gluten free toast available on request.
The usually breads and cheeses. With meats and sauces, fruit, cereal. And drinks.

Rooms were very clean but very old. There was a mini bar, but don't open the desks as the drawers fall out.
No hooks in the bathroom, but a bottled opener, priorities? Shower had awesome pressure

Overall a good clean place regardless of upgrade or not, with good at,osphere and close to the main shopping area and KBH station.

Room Tip: Upgrade for 20 bucks more. Do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdzynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Decent 2 nights stay overall. Communal toilet and showers weren't too bad and was very clean. Towels provided and shower gel dispensers in room and showers, phone and tv in room. Had to use it to summon night clerk when couple next door had a fight. Secure locker for bags after checkout, enjoyed the expansive lobby of the main hotel. Well located, just one street from the central train station. Quiet area and sfe enough, though there are some drunks near that particular entrance to the train station. We spent all day out, leaving at 9am and returning at 11pm, so it's fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late August. Double room was very bright and clean, bigger than had expected after having read other reviews! There was a mirror and sink in the room as well as a television and table, plenty of plug outlets too. And they've got free wifi! There were four toilets and two shower rooms on the corridor, they were cleaned regularly and had ample space. Only had to wait for a shower on one occasion, and even then it was just for ten minutes. Brilliant price as it includes breakfast which is buffet style, a selection of cereals, fruit, cheese, bread and delicious pastries! You're also able to rent bikes from the hotel, which I believe was 100 kroner a day, good value too.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to leave luggage in the hotel for no additional fee after our check out time. We also bought Tivoli tickets from the hotel reception instead of at Tivoli itself for the same price, this saved us a long wait!
Istengade is a bit of a seedy place but I never felt unsafe, though it is opposite a sex shop and a few strip clubs. We felt it was an ideal place for exploring the city from, easy to walk to all the sights and once you were off Istengade it was fine.
If you're looking for somewhere reasonably priced in such an expensive city I'd definitely recommend the Absalon Annex, great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This solid, central hotel has been around a long time. The three star main hotel and the one-star Annex share the same entrance lobby, elevators and breakfast facilities. The rooms in the Annex are small, with a TV, phone, wireless internet and a sink. Clean showers can be found in the hallway.

This in my opinion is the best option in the 4-500 kroner price bracket. You'll be hard pressed to find anything better located, with breakfast included, for this price. The other possibilities, such as Hotellet on Oehlenschlaegersgade, and CabInn Metro, are not as centrally located.

Expect Istedgade to be a little bit grimy, though you shouldn't get harrassed. The central station is steps away, and the trendy bars of Halmtorvet are right there as well as the seedy Istedgade offerings (some of which still let you smoke inside).

Perhaps not a romantic place to travel as a couple, but the Annex is a good choice if you are staying alone and on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#26 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Property: Annex Copenhagen
Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing