We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & Clean”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late August. Double room was very bright and clean, bigger than had expected after having read other reviews! There was a mirror and sink in the room as well as a television and table, plenty of plug outlets too. And they've got free wifi! There were four toilets and two shower rooms on the corridor, they were cleaned regularly and had ample space. Only had to wait for a shower on one occasion, and even then it was just for ten minutes. Brilliant price as it includes breakfast which is buffet style, a selection of cereals, fruit, cheese, bread and delicious pastries! You're also able to rent bikes from the hotel, which I believe was 100 kroner a day, good value too.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to leave luggage in the hotel for no additional fee after our check out time. We also bought Tivoli tickets from the hotel reception instead of at Tivoli itself for the same price, this saved us a long wait!
Istengade is a bit of a seedy place but I never felt unsafe, though it is opposite a sex shop and a few strip clubs. We felt it was an ideal place for exploring the city from, easy to walk to all the sights and once you were off Istengade it was fine.
If you're looking for somewhere reasonably priced in such an expensive city I'd definitely recommend the Absalon Annex, great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 630 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This solid, central hotel has been around a long time. The three star main hotel and the one-star Annex share the same entrance lobby, elevators and breakfast facilities. The rooms in the Annex are small, with a TV, phone, wireless internet and a sink. Clean showers can be found in the hallway.

This in my opinion is the best option in the 4-500 kroner price bracket. You'll be hard pressed to find anything better located, with breakfast included, for this price. The other possibilities, such as Hotellet on Oehlenschlaegersgade, and CabInn Metro, are not as centrally located.

Expect Istedgade to be a little bit grimy, though you shouldn't get harrassed. The central station is steps away, and the trendy bars of Halmtorvet are right there as well as the seedy Istedgade offerings (some of which still let you smoke inside).

Perhaps not a romantic place to travel as a couple, but the Annex is a good choice if you are staying alone and on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We needed a hotel for a night on short notice and we ended up with Absalon because of the location and price. The hotel located a few minutes walk from the central station and seems like a good option for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gadd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here with my sister for 3 days. The staff were extremely helpful. We were going to stay in the hostel section but found it too small and didn't like the share bathrooms...we upgraded to an ensuite and it was great for very little extra $$. The room was basic but comfortable with ensuite and tea/coffee factilities & free wifi. Breakfast was included and was fantastic!

Room Tip: would recommend upgrading to ensuite room for better comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absalon Annex was the best value for money option for us at time of booking, for close proximity to the city centre (expensive in general but good for Copenhagen). We knew not to expect luxury accommodation as all online information makes it clear that this is a ‘budget alternative’ and is not part of the main 3 star hotel. If you want 3 star standards, pay for a room in the adjoining hotel. Otherwise, you should be satisfied with the perfectly adequate facilities that the annex has to offer.

We booked via a third party website but the hotel staff were quick to assist when I emailed them direct to enquire about paying for a bottle of Prosecco to be put into our room. They responded promptly to emails and even followed up on our day of arrival to ask when we would be checking in. The bottle of Prosecco was ready and waiting for us when we arrived, chilled with two glasses.

The hotel building is nice from the outside, large and easy to find, although they should probably do away with the tacky ‘Annex’ sign. Reception is within the main hotel entrance and we were given clear directions to our room (accessible via elevators in the main foyer) and assistance with maps / things to see etc when we arrived. Our double room was nicer than we expected, must have been recently refurbished as they no longer resemble pictures from old Trip Advisor reviews and booking websites, including the hotel’s own website which needs to be updated. Quirky, modern and brightly coloured decor, white bed linen and flat screen TV, along with a small desk & stool, hand basin / mirror area and rail for hanging clothes. Our room was on a corner of the building with tall window overlooking a small courtyard area, letting in plenty of light. The free wifi was also good.

The hotel seemed quite busy during our stay but we had no problems with use of the shared toilet and shower facilities, all of which were very clean and the shower rooms offered free shower gel. We didn’t have any problems with noise from other guests during our stay and had a comfortable nights sleep. Maybe we just got lucky and were allocated a room in a quieter part...

Breakfast was served in the main hotel but we were late down and there didn’t seem to be much left. No hot options available, only cereals, bread, cold meats and fruit etc. Tea and coffee was not offered either and there was no visible ‘self-serve’ area for this which was a bit disappointing.

One other thing to note is the reference to ‘red light district’ within other reviews. We didn’t find this to be the case at all – at no point did we encounter any known prostitutes, drug dealers, street fights or homeless people, nor did we feel unsafe walking about at night. We did see a couple of sex shops but this is quite a common thing in European cities and is nothing to be concerned about - just walk on by. The location is ideal for the nearby train station, only a 5 minute walk away next to Tivilo Gardens, and a lot of main attractions are within 10 – 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is basically a hostel-style division of a fairly nice hotel a few minutes' walk from Copenhagen train station. The room was very... funky, with bright neon colours (e.g. orange desk), and the corridors of the annex were all black with big colourful doors!

The showers and bathrooms were fine, perfectly clean. My favourite thing about this place though was that you can freely join in on the hotel's big breakfast buffet which had a great selection of pastries, cereal, fruit, and fantastic Danish rye bread.

Only downside to this place is that it is (somehow) located in a 'red light district'. There are sex shops and a "spunk bar" (I have no idea what this means) in the immediate vicinity and we saw a couple of prostitutes on street corners, so be prepared if you choose to go here.

There's also free wifi and the hotel is conveniently located, you can walk to the best parts of Copenhagen in a matter of minutes. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SavouryJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is my second stay at Absalon Hotel Annex and my second review. As my first review read, its still a decent place to stay on the cheap in Copenhagen. The front desk,again, was always helpful and friendly.

The public or common facilities in Annex were always well kept and never had a problem accessing a toliet or shower. A sink is available for brushing teeth, etc in each room of Annex.

Rooms are quite small and plain but my reason for being in Copenhagen was not to hangout in the room. Rooms where generally clean but a bit run-down due to age. Mattress not the greatest but sufficed. Breakfast in morning had good selection. Another thing I liked about hotel was the ability to rent a bike on premises which, if daring, is a great experience to try in Copenhagen.

Overall, will stay again next time I plan a visit to Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing courtyard so you can keep window open to let air in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjwb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,036 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,554 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#55 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#36 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing