We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best values in Copenhagen”
Review of Annex Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Annex Copenhagen
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I liked this hotel and would stay there again, because it is great value given its central location. Yes, their are a few ladies of the night that hang around the nearest intersection and a few sex clubs around, but this is Europe and just part of the local scenery. A couple blocks away is Tivoli Gardens, the famous family friendly amusement park, and many expensive three star hotel are in the same area, including the regular Absalon hotel. The area is very safe. We came back around midnight to the hotel every night and had no issues at all. The annex has shared showers and restroom, but they were very clean and uncrowded while we were there. In fact, I liked the shower better than the more expensive hotels we stayed at in Sweden and Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeFromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for the review on Absalon Annex and our neighborhood. This is also how we see the area. Next time we suggest you rent bikes at the Front Desk to easily get around the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 639 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is close to the central station. But the area is not so good. The rooms are really basic but clean. Toilets and showers are close but this remains an inconvenience. WiFi access in the room. Breakfast is all right. There is plenty to choose from, but their coffee is tasteless. Good array of Danish pastries as it should! The reception lounge is nice since the annex shares it with Absalon Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet. I heard that the street rooms are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We recently upgraded the Annex to offer free Wi-Fi and I am pleased to see you took advantage of this service.

We will taste the coffee again, as we usually get many positive comments on our breakfast including the coffee. But then again taste is difficult to agree on - for this reason we have close to 2o different teas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Absalon Annex is a short walk from the train station and Tivoli Gardens. I got a room facing the courtyard and it was very quiet @ night. Price was great. The hotel is a bit worn but no big deal. Copenhagen is a safe, wonderful, fairy-tale city with lots to see. Many free museums, lots of beautiful buildings, fountains, statues. Another great bicycling city, the city is fairly compact and there are bike paths everywhere. The city is very flat, only hill I can recall is just before the zoo, it wasn't that steep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Absalon is an excellent hotel. Very, very high quality customer service. The breakfast was superb and plentiful.

I was in the Annex, so the rooms were dated but clean and comfortable. The showers outside the room were very nice. The bathrooms were clean.

Many have commented on the location. It is two blocks from the train station. Very convenient. That area has lots of hotels, many nice ones, but it also has sex shops and gentlemen's clubs. I walked to the train station at 2:30 a.m. All was quiet and very safe. I never felt unsafe in the neighborhood.

Two issues:

One the toilet seat in one of the bathrooms was broken. It was the only one available the first morning, and I made the poor choice to use it. Result: large bleeding pinch on my bum. Most disappointingly, it was still not fixed four days later.

The staff at the breakfast is vigilant about cleaning tables. There is enough space for everyone, with an extra room down a few stairs. Everytime I made a move to get up for more tea, they swooped in and cleared my space, even completely untouched places. As a solo traveler, this was stressful. I tried to tell them and hurry, but still someone else would come in and clear my place, which meant I had to find a new one. I finally wised up and left lots of personal possessions and a map on the table. They still cleared my plates, but, at least, I didn't have to keep changing tables.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB6Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Absalon Annex is very basic. I had a room with two single beds pushed together in it, a sink in one corner, a TV in the other and a desk. The decor was very tired but the room was clean and I got two good enough night's sleep in it. There are shared toilets and showers which I hadn't realised and so that was a surprise (I was travelling for work and my accommodation was booked by someone else) but I guess for the money it is good value. I was in a room on the first floor and it seemed that on that floor there were 3 showers and 3 toilets for a lot of rooms (maybe 20-30). I never had any problems with having to queue but decided to shower in the evening before going to bed rather than risk a long queue for a shower in the morning. Breakfast is served in the Absalon Hotel next door and is generous with a lot of choice on offer.

My biggest complaint is that the cleaners left the window in my room wide open after cleaning the room. With my room only being on the first floor it would have been perfectly possible for someone to enter and take my stuff. Not what I would have expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnightnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

First of all, thank you for your valauble comments.

Secondly, I like to apologize for the cleaner, who left the window open. We continuously train our maids especially in safety and security issues, as this is of high importance to us. I am sorry for the mistake.

Based on previous feedback it is usually not a problem with the shared showers.
There are maximum 13 rooms on each floor sharing the showers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very central location, close to the main station and tivoli. We had a room to the back, which was very quiet. Shared bathrooms and showers are very clean. Good breakfast. Just take in account that the surrounding streets are a bit of a red light district, also some homless people and drug users hang around. But we had no problems, the hotel seems to be aware of it having a good security.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Really terrific location, just a 5 minute walk from the main train station and Tivoli Gardens. Most of the museums and sights you'll want to see in Copenhagen are no more than a 15-30 minute walk tops from the hotel (E.G., National Museum, Stroget, Nyhavn, etc.) Friendly staff with excellent customer service - I showed up a few hours before official check-in time with no warning, and though the front desk was swamped, the staff still did their best to accommodate me. They repeatedly gave me updates on the status of my room being readied, and they even threw in a free upgrade to a private bathroom (when my booking was for a shared bathroom), even though they absolutely didn't need to at all. Amazing breakfast buffet. I read this in a bunch of other reviews and thought yeah, yeah, whatever, but no seriously, Absalon offers an amazing breakfast buffet (which was included free in our booking). I was flabbergasted by the variety offered. Definitely not your run of the mill continental breakfast, and it's an especially great deal when you consider how expensive eating in Copenhagen is. Absalon isn't located in a particularly nice part of town, but I personally didn't feel unsafe walking to and from the hotel at night as long I stuck to the well-lit, higher-traffic streets, which is very very easy to do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#58 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,032 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#35 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 117 in Copenhagen
515 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Copenhagen
Generator Copenhagen
#4 of 43 in Copenhagen
2,666 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Copenhagen

Address: Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: $68 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Annex Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Vesterbro location by Meatpacking Area (restaurants, night clubs and galleries), Central Train Station and major attractions. Renovated 2014, all new incl. Samsung LED TV, REN soap and shampoo. Common Living Room with kichenette. Bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Part of Absalon Hotel - Feel free to use facilities: Bar, Breakfast, Laundry, Bike rental etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Annex Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absalon Annex Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing