We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, for Denmark”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The Scandic compares to Hilton or Hyatt, but with slightly smaller rooms and less friendly service. Hotels in Denmark are expensive and the Danish are not temperamentaly suited to providing friendly service.

The rooms are sparse, probably also a function of Danish design.

Copenhagen is expensive in general, and you probably won't find any good value hotels.

It is in a good but not great location. Buses and subways are easy in Copenhagen, so you won't have any trouble getting around.

I would probably skip using a taxi in Copenhagen unless you are Bill Gates.


Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank NOLA70115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Outside the usual tourist area this hotel is still convenient to most things around Central Copenhagen without the need for transport. The breakfasts are very good and there was an excellent choice although they don't ever seem to change the menu. The rooms are large and the bed comfortable. If there was one negative, the linen is well past its use by date. The once white towels are now grey and stiff and should be replaced.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Neva_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Everything went well. On our arrival we were shown to our room before check-in! Bless the receptionist. The luggage came up quickly. The room and bathroom were pleasant. Everything was in working order. Great! The biggest boon was the concierge who recommended the NIMB for dinner. We had a great meal there. Would we come back to the Scandic? Yes. Why not?

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here per-cruise on Regent cruise lines. This selection really down graded Regent in my mind. I will have to think about another cruise on Regent. Rooms are dirty, overpriced and staff didn't care about any one. We had no assistance with our luggage upon arrival from the airport! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY! I would NEVER return to this property.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Stevec418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had a family room which was bit small but ok for 2 nights. Good and clean hotel with very good children approach re. Food and activity pack esp restaurant. Food was above average, nice risotto and wife had porkleg. Kids also happy. Breakfast good 4sta fare.
Good location for trainstation, but area itself not nice. Not far from nice areas though.
One big surprise - looked for lunch at 1pm sunday and was told restaurant opens 5 ... They had ready made packaged sandwiches . Not good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edtdeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently stayed at the Scandic Copenhagen and the end of our cruise. There wasnt anything wrong with the hotel but there wasnt anything special about it either. Reminded me of staying in a dorm room. Hotel was not staffed properly for the amount of cruise passengers that were staying there. Oceania and Princess both had passengers there and check in was a disaster and the rooms were not ready as promised.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlbentley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a typical Danish or Scandinavian hotel - modern fittings etc in a quite spot by the lake very close to the centre of Copenhagen and also near to the Tivoli and railway station. It is near to streets with lots of restaurant.

Visitors should be a little careful in the surrounding streets as one companion was mugged

As with any Scandinavian hotel, it is expensive but generally a good price for Copenhagen

Reception is friendly and very cooperative and one can pay on the night before leaving so enabling a quick get away

Rooms are good and reasonably spacious but one thing to note is the absence of minibars or coffee makers

The bar is OK - I did not eat there so cannot comment on the restaurant.

Breakfast is self service buffet and very good and open from 06.00 although the absence of fish and smoked fish is strange in a Scandinavian hotel and should be rectified.

WiFi is good and free and this is much appreciated

Room Tip: Go for a double room for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar S, General Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Valued Scandic Guest,
Thank you for you feedback regarding Scandic Copenhagen.
We hope you a pleasant stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,260 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,618 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,558 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $156 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing