We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located conference hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #41 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well located conference hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife had a conference here which seemed to be the hotel's main function as the conference rooms seemed good. Rooms were spacious and ours had a nice view of the Observatory and lake; liked that they had free bike rentals. Short walk to the Tivoli and easy transit access. Breakfast was well organized with plenty of food, though nothing special. No real restaurant to speak of as it only served a few sort of minimum meals, though there are plenty of places in the general area. Agree with other reviewers that the place didn't have much soul - lobby was functional rather than welcoming - and it certainly was not cheap.

Room Tip: I'd stay higher up and ask for the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurnalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear KurnalSam,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    794
    494
    172
    77
See reviews for
540
486
61
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked this hotel via Regent Seven Seas for post-cruise stay in Copenhagen and paid $500 a night to stay in a sanctimonious prison with all the amenities of a really bad hostel. First clue is the lobby which is "Disney on Drugs" - seating is on 6 ft long swings, plastic stalagtites as sculpture and linoleum flooring. Rooms are atrocious - no coffee making facilities, no ice bucket and only 2 drinking classes, no individual soaps only bus station type dispensers - all this was explained in a patronising brochure in the room that the hotel was "eco-sensitive" and because they didn't provide these amenities or the "luxury" of daily room cleaning,the brochure announced I "could sleep with a good moral conscience". This is baloney - they didn't provide these amenities so they could reduce their operating expenses! The room was barely furnished, there was only one seat that had a padded back rest, the only other seating was a hard plastic desk chair and the beds were smaller than normal twins and had a child size single pillow. Just horrid experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear Robbie182,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A good hotel for conferences, but as I was here with my husband it was a bit too bright and clinical. Breakfast buffet very well organised and good, included in the room rate, but a rather souless space to eat a dinner; we went to the nearby Hard Rock Cafe which was full of atmosphere.
There are no tea making facilities in the rooms.
Our room on the twelfth floor had a lovely view over lakes, and the built in sofa by the window had a reading light, a nice touch. The room was clinically white, with one feature printed wall, it felt a bit like a kiddie bedroom. A coffee table and additional chair, along with a rug, would have helped the room feel more welcoming rather than the totally bear floors..
Eco ideas are good in the hotel, particularly the three sectioned litter bin.
Scandic is very well placed for Tivoli Gardens, only a five minute walk. A reduction on the entry price is available from Reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear June K,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I turned up very early for check in and they said they had a slightly smaller room available, called a 'business room'. It was absolutely tiny, but they gave me a discount back to the business room price when I checked out.

The room was really warm the whole time and the AC didn't seem to be working. One night (I couldnt sleep) I went to the front desk and complained, they said to turn the AC off because it doesn't work in certain hours or something, and would have been heating my room instead of cooling it. That would have been useful information when I checked in.

Great breakfast, no room service though?! And the rooms only get cleaned every third day which was also strange. I'd only recommend this hotel if you get a normal sized room.

Room Tip: Don't get a "business" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear Sandst0rm,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good central location with a pleasant view over a lake. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. I was here with a conference and the conference facilities were good. Miraculously, there were no (or only short) queues for coffees and food at break times. Food was nicely presented, tasty, and plentiful. Criticism? The cleaning of bedrooms was a bit sketchy (eg my bedroom sink was never cleaned).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear mary M,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a trendy and rather large hotel in Copenhagen. Furnishings were very danish and bright. The room was a nice size and we overlooked the park with the observatory. The hotel was clean and very quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent with meats, eggs, yoguts, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, pastries and bread. The staff was extremely helpful regarding transportation, calling for reservations, recommending restaurants etc. and everyone spoke English. Public transportation was literally around the corner and down 2 blocks where you could catch the bus or the underground. There were several restaurants close by and it was a quick walk to the Tivoli Gardens. Nothing was very far in copenhagen and we thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Scandic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear larkenRidgefield_CT,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Clean, convenient location, comfortable beds. We had a large room on the top floor, very spacious with a great view. The staff was friendly and helpful, all spoke English. The bar staff was very helpful in picking restaurants. The daily breakfast buffet is excellent and has a nice selection.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Dear PattiT23,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Property: Scandic Copenhagen
Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing