We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and bad standard”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this hotel after previous good experiences of Scandic. Upon check in they said that we only have booked for one night even though we had reservation paper with us. But it wasn't any problem to book another night. The room was rather small and there was a lot of hair in the bathroom. The hotel had a policy to only clean the room every third day because of "the environment", but I can't see how the environment gets better if they don't make the bed every day. The "air cooling" system in the room was a joke, the room felt like a sauna at night. The breakfast was good but the breakfast room reminded of a school cafeteria, busy and noisy. One good thing with the hotel was the pretty good WiFi in the hotel. We don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear DIF1891,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,302)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife stayed at this hotel 2 nights in July on trip to Copenhagen with our two forster childern. We had selected this hotel due to its location and an offer with Childern for free if they sleeps on an sofabed in the room. This sofabed was quite hard and both kids complained about it, so on the second day the ask the hotel to softed it a bit, which they did, it helped a bit.
Scandic in general seems to have cut down on room clean so rooms are only clean every third day or when there is a guest switch in the room. The argued on this to save the enviroment, which is true some degree, but I guess that their main motivation is to cut cost.
The main disappointment was the free breakfast buffet, which was below that one can expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterOdgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear PeterOdgaard,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night. 2 adults and 2 small children. The room was big and bright! There was a fold out sofa wich folded out to a dobble bed. The bathroom was clean.

The service in the resurant and bar was exellent.
The service at the reseption colud be better. They did'nt give any information about the hotel, she was very busy, and there was a long que.

The location of the hotel is exellent. Very central.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Ida R,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night when on business and the only thing keeping me from going back is that I consider it a bit too expensive. The hotel has a special look that I haven't seen before in hotels. I stayed in a room that was booked for three people. Unfortunately the shower didn't work in our first room, so we were upgraded to a much larger and better room (actually more like two rooms).

Staff was friendly. Breakfast was very nice. Just like someone else commented, we walked right into the breakfast room without anyone asking us for our room number or showing us where to sit. This wasn't a problem for us since there were plenty of free tables and I like to pick my own seat. Self-service breakfast is very common in the hotels I've stayed in, so I never expected anyone to come explain to me what to do.

The location was very good and I imagine it would be a great to stay here if you like shopping since it's right on Gammel Kongevej with lots of nice shops, at least if you walk west.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TofslanVifslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear TofslanVifslan,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sue and I are about to check out of this hotel having spent one complementary night before boarding a 6 star ultra luxury cruise. I only hope that the cruise is better than the hotel. The room was adequate and rather Ikea like. The wet room / toilet was efficient and clean but very spartan. When we arrived at breakfast my opinion of the hotel went down the pan. I thought I had been transported back 45 years to my " School dinner hall " It really was a free for all and hardly any tables free. Once room number taken no attempt to find you a table or explain the breakfast protocol. The food in all fairness was acceptable, there was a good selection but all on a self service scrum basis.
The hotel is well located for walking to Tivoli and other attractions. No idea what the cost of a night will be in this hotel but if the bar prices are anything to go by it will not be cheap.
The hotel will not be on my list of places to revisit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2OTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear H2OTGP,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a family room. 2 adults and 4 children (age 7, 5, 0, 0). They really try and succeed in being a good place for the whole family. We can highly recommend a hotel where you will feel welcome

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view towards Tivoli
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siamcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Siamcruise,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a 13 night stay here on business. Stayed on the top floor which was serviced by its own lift which was a good touch. My room 1806 did have a few issues for what we would say is a four star hotel. Firstly the Bang and Oulfson stereo was broken, trim pieces of wood on the window sill were hanging off, wardrobe handles hanging off. There was no safe either.
Breakfast was ok if you like the continental but if you want full English type don't bother. Also you just walked into the breakfast room know body ever asked my room number? It also had the feel of a canteen.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Gæsteansvarlig at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear John B,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

However we are sorry that we didn’t succeed in fulfilling your expectations in terms of a stay in Copenhagen.

We do hope to see you again some day

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,204 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,501 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,155 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#49 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,502 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $178 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing