We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean hotel”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly, breakfast was provided and offered a large selection of hot and cold options. The rooms were clean, and while weren't very spacious, they were adequate for one person and luggage. Also stayed in a room with 3 other girls (two beds and a pullout sofa) and had enough room, since we weren't spending a lot of time in the room during the days, there was no issue with space.

The location is great. It's not in a noisy area, it has a great view of a park, and is a short walk to Tivoli and other attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Megan M,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,303)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Scandi Copenhagen is a good quality hotel located in central Copenhagen. It is within a short walk to the central station, Tivoli Gardens and a host of restaurants and bars.

We stayed in a standard twin room. (1025) It was a very decent size with amazing views out over the city. The only negative side was the airconditioning didn't seem to cool the room down at all, despits being set to 5 degrees. At times it seems to get extremely warm and there was no way to open a window as it was locked.

Breakfast is included no matter what package your purchase. It was a continental affair but also had some bacon and scrambled eggs. Tasty enough.

Wifi also comes as standard in the hotel. It was patchy at best. Also, there was a constrant need to keep relogging in.

Overall, I would return to this hotel with little hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Dave2609,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice hotel, good location close to the city center (Hard Rock, Tivoli) and view to the lakes. I have been in this hotel 3 times, and all the times I like it. It is silent, and it was recently renovated, so the rooms are small but nice. Nothing to complain. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaAguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear AnaAguiar,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had a one night stay here (room 1003) in May 2013. The room was a reasonable size and had a nice view over an artificial lake. The location is fairly central, an eight minute walk from the Tivoli Gardens, though Copenhagen is not a big city. The bed was fine though it had small, cheap pillows, and similarly the shower was adequate with a small towel rather than the kind of powerful showe with big fluffy towels you may hope for in a luxury hotel, which of course this is not. This is very much a business hotel, and it delivered what one might expect. Wifi is free, the room was clean and the room lighting pretty good. The hotel is quite large and popular, so the queues at check-in can be long based on my short stay here, but that is all that can reasonably be criticized.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Andy Hayler,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Until one gets to know copenhagen, you can be misled that things are further away than you think. In this case, this is important. The hotel is a 10 min or so walk from the train station and a few minutes from a subway and bus routes....BUT so are many others. The room was fine (we upgraded for more room) but a bit frustrating in that they won't leave wash clothes typically and the glass was cleaned with something terrible. I made the mistake of simply putting water in it and drinking it...without rinsing...i won't do that again. The breakfast was okay..typical sort of european breakfast spread...I have had better and worse (buffet had eggs, bacon, assortment of cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, machine juice, and some danish and breads). The restaurant area is a bit small so it can get quite crowded. The also could use a few more staff at the front for checkin or concierge. Now that I know a bit more, I would stay a few blocks away and save some money...but if a company is paying, this would be okay. If on your own budget like we were, I would look for something cheaper and stay just a few blocks further away.

Room Tip: higher the floor the better and if can get on lake/reservoir side..better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalreviewer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Globalreviewer12,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Location is excellent for shopping and sightseeing. Not a four star hotel. Breakfast was average. Fell a sleep late and woke up early because of slamming doors. Also elevator was very noisy. Bed and duvet were excellent. Room very nice. Bathroom OK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten N, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Jens,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

We hope to see you back with us another time.

I wish you a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a 13 night stay here on business. Stayed on the top floor which was serviced by its own lift which was a good touch. My room 1806 did have a few issues for what we would say is a four star hotel. Firstly the Bang and Oulfson stereo was broken, trim pieces of wood on the window sill were hanging off, wardrobe handles hanging off. There was no safe either. Coffee and tea was not replenished on a daily basis either.
Breakfast was ok if you like the continental but if you want full English type don't bother. Also you just walked into the breakfast room know body ever asked my room number? It also had the feel of a canteen. On a weekend it was very busy with many tables not cleared or cleaned.
The bar area in the lobby is a great place to stand enjoy a drink. I did enjoy my stay at the Scandic as the hotel is centrally located and the staff are all friendly and helpful. For a weekend break its a good place to stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandic_Copenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in spite of the issues you mentioned.

We have recently undergone an extensive renovation of the entire hotel. However, there are still a few areas that have yet to be completed. These are mainly the breakfast restaurant, the fitness room and our top floor. The top floor was converted into executive rooms and suites in the late 90’s and is therefore the last floor to be refurbished this time around.
The project will begin in mid June. The rooms are still in service until then, but I have removed room 1806 until the problems you mentioned have been resolved.

Regarding your impression of our breakfast restaurant it is unfortunately not an entirely uncommon comment. It is a bit of a challenge to provide breakfast for up to 1000 guests, while maintaining a calm and tranquil atmosphere. However, as mentioned above, we will start refurbishing this area in June and we have been looking into ways of minimizing this ‘canteen feel’ you mentioned. I hope you will have a chance to see the final result.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Scandic Copenhagen in the future.


Best regards,

Nicolai Kristensen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,204 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,501 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,156 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#49 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,502 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $178 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing