We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The seventies called - they wanted their hotel back”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
MN, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The seventies called - they wanted their hotel back”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights for business. I don't usually write long reviews, but this will be an exception. Where do I start?
The restaurant - we were sick of breakfasts - mostly bread, scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, beacon, pickles, cereals, delicatessens, cheese. The list may seem long, but there is no variety. Tried dinner one night - that was the worst dinner in Copenhagen (based on my experience, your mileage may vary). On the weekends the restaurant was full beyond capacity during breakfast.
Wireless internet is simply unacceptable for a business hotel. The speed was consistently slow, at or below 1.0 MBps. Even more annoying were periodically dropped connections, even in the lobby. Had several chances to complain at the reception without any results.
Bathroom - mine had shower, two modest towels, no toiletries. No floor mat results in water on the floor after every shower.
Other reviewers already mentioned small and noisy rooms, inadequate heating/cooling, IKEA-style furniture - all this is true. Exercise room is small with just one weight machine. To be fair, the location is good. However, there are several hotels in the vicinity and one can do better that Scandic, Copenhagen.

Room Tip: There are several Scandic hotels in Copenhagen, taxi drivers identify this hotel as "old Sherat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeplyFrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

You mention some very interesting points in your review, some of them I will try to answer.

Regarding the variaty of breakfast products, unfortunately it is not up to us to decide which kind of products there is on the buffet, it is our central office in Stockholm who decide the food in the breakfast buffets. But I will take this review to me management tram, and we will have a look to see if there are something we can change.

Regarding the wireless, I know there can be problems with the speed, and you are surtenly right that this is not acceptable, that's why we will upgrade to another router and we will have the speed increased, we are planning to install this in Feb. 2013.

I am really sorry to heat that you hade a wrong impression of Scandic Copenhagen, in that case I really hope to hear from you , if you have the pleasure to visit wonderful Copenhagen another time, I hope that we can get another chance.


You are more than welcome to contact me for reservation.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    840
    515
    179
    78
See reviews for
574
513
65
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

First impression is a regular building but inside very good feeling, outstanding rooms.
The design is very confortable, the view on the lake and city wonderful. Love the wooden room access card! Location is nice also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninibler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

I am so glad to see the point you are mentioning in your review - it is so important for us that our guest feel like home, when they are staying with us, so thank you again.

I hope I will have the pleasure to meet you personally next time you stay at Scandic Copenhagen.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If Ikea were designing rooms for students at university this would be what you would get. Clean, functional lines, no frills, no je ne sais quoi. Nothing to want to make you feel at all like spending anytime in the room or swinging any cats! Even the Breakfast dining room was like a student canteen. In fact utterly, utterly boring.. The lobby decor was slightly interesting in a weird sort of a way
On the upside, the bar was good and the barman there was great, nice merlot. He advised me that the chef had told him the roast pork was very fatty so I played safe and had a (good) burger. Why they bought very fatty pork and then cooked it is beyond me?
Check in and out was speedy and pleasant, nice staff.

Room Tip: Remember your student days :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

I am sorry to hear that you experinced our design look likes Ikea.. Our designer is 2 girls from sweden called DOO's and they have a uniqie way of telling their designs - our hotel is one of them and the story os From Above, because you have an amazing view from all the rooms, if you noticed the wall papaer is also taken from the views of Copenhagen :)

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to meet you personally next time you travel to Copenhagen.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in Scandic Copenhagen 23.-25.11.2012. Room and bathroom was spacy, but the temperature of the room was low and the aircondition was unefficient leading to awful smell in the room. Also towels were still wet in the morning, because there was no heating in the bathroom. Breakfast normal, nothing special. Breakfastroom was too small for such a big hotel: guests had to wait free table to sit down. More 3 star hotel than 4.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fintraveler44years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

I am sorry to hear that the the temperature was very low in your room, I thank uoi for letting us know that so we are able to have an technician to have a look, to see what is wrong.

Another time, please contact the front desk and let them know about the situation, and we have the opportunaty to move you to another room.

Regarding the breakfast restaurant I agree on this point, and I can also tell you that we will make some changes here in the beginning of 2013.

I hope I will have the pleasure to meet you personally next time you stay at Scandic Copenhagen.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had 4 nights here and were not that impressed. It caters for business visits and the staff seem very aloof. The room was good with a nice view of the lake and the beds were very comfortable. Unfortunately we were by the lifts and the noise was very annoying at times. Breakfast was underwhelming and the staff made you feel rushed. It is in a good location near the station and Tivoli but we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Avoid room near lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen123102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

You describe a very valuable point to us
Since we have just gone through a major renovation, we still have to switched our camps in our elevator, I know that these have been ordered and it will be changed as soon as we get them.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an excellent centrally-located hotel. The foyer/reception is huge making it comfortable for lounging around. The rooms are modern with extremely comfortable beds. There's free wifi and a well-stocked buffet breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaker1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

I am so glad to see the point you are mentioning in your review - it is so important for us that our guest feel like home, when they are staying with us, so thank you again.

I hope I will have the pleasure to meet you personally next time you stay at Scandic Copenhagen.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. Loved the location, with a 10 minute walk to many bars, restaurants and sights.

Room was SMALL. Would've been perfect for a solo traveler, but near impossible for two adults to move around comfortably. Bathroom was extremely basic and cramped.

Hotel is HUGE, which means noisy hallways, crowded lobby, and breakfast is PACKED. The staff do a good job of clearing tables and replenishing food, but you can't help but feel a bit overwhelmed.

Concierges were helpful. Made some good dinner recommendations and clearly knew the area well.
On that topic: make dinner reservations at more popular restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

You mention some valuable points for me, and you should know I have taken your suggestions to consideration and will take them up in our management team here at Scandic Copenhagen.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#45 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#57 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Property: Scandic Copenhagen
Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing