We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”
Review of Scandic Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Copenhagen
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel has a good location near Tivoli. Shopping streets and even the Little mermaid, canals and king's palace are located in the walking distance. The hotel in very modern: maybe not the first choice for a romantic getaway. We stayed here partially because we usually stay at Scandic hotels in Finland.

We had a master suite at the top floor with the nicest view to the city center. Thee room was nice (quite an expensive one, too) but unfortunately the walls were like paper: You could hear normal talking voice trough them. A private elevator to the top floor was luxurious, it worked only with a master suite key card.

Hotel restaurant was nice surprise. Food and wines were excellent. Otherwise we couldn't have noticed that but because of the weather we decided not to wander around after the long walk during the day. It was totally worth it, even if someone may think it's a boring idea to eat at the hotel you are staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konsta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a room on our top floor, I can only agree that you have an unique view from there.
Reagrding the walls, I have taken that point further to me management & technician team, and they are working on find an solution.

Thank you for leaving a comment regarding your visit in our new restaurant, I will let the staff know you find the food & Wine excellent :)

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'd have given this 5 stars - high quality recent make over, great location, terrific views and location, excellent breakfast included in price, and restaurant food also good. However I switched rooms after my first night for a better view and accidentally left a couple of items behind. I asked reception on three separate occasions over the following days if they'd found the items (ie if the cleaner hadn't taken them for themselves) - every time they wrote my details down and failed to get back to me. Gave up in the end. Staff were very polite, but seemingly incapable of dealing with a simple problem!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battles_atlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

I am so pleased to hear that overall you find our hotel excellent and rated i with 4 out of 5 stars, I am glad that you where satisfied.

Although I really want to help on finding the items you left behind in the room your where moved from, it should be no problem to find the items, I am sure that maybe have been a mistake, so in that case our housekeeping has put the items in a bag in lost items storage.
It is not acceptable - and I apologize.

You are more than welcome to contact me directly - and I will personally try to find the items your missing.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The wooden floors resonate throughout the night. We had call reception for them to tell our neighbours to take off their high heels and man shoes while walking around their apartment. Felt like they were doing a marathon upstairs for hours!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

Regarding the wooden floors I have taken your comment to my management team here at Scandic Copenhagen, and we will find an solution, so that our guest, not will be disturbed by other guest having their shoes on.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in the refurbished Scandic Hotel on 7 September. This is a very big and imposing building in the centre of Copenhagen and conveniently situated for many attractions. Tivoli, for example, is easily within walking distance.

The hotel looks clean and fresh and our room was quite big. We were on a high floor and the view from our window over the city was pleasant enough. The twin beds were comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. However, the wall covering behind our beds was terrible, really ugly, and why this kind of decoration was chosen is beyong our powers of imagination! The small white bedside tables both wobbled and should be fixed. The hotel obviously doesn't expect its clients to stay any length of time because there is no proper wardrobe for clothes as such. There is only a cheap-looking rail attached to the wall which gives enough room for two or three jackets and that is about all (see picture). Strangely enough, there were lots of clothes hangers!! Three drawers are provided for storage. The chaise-longue (lounger) was pink and made a welcome splash of colour against the dark grey of almost everything else. The table/desk was simple but O.K.

Now we come to the worst part. The flooring is wooden and, although this looks very nice, if you have someone wearing what sounded like clogs pacing up and down in the room above for hours on end, you don't find it so nice. We got no sleep whatsoever. For this reason alone I don't think we would risk staying here again. A shame because, although it's only a 3-star hotel, reasonably priced and in a good location, it could be improved upon. Breakfast, on the other hand was really good with a wonderful selection of hot and cold dishes. Check-in was fine, check-out too. The lobby is very modern and quite interesting. We left with very mixed feelings about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com and uploaded the nice pictures!

Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

You mention some valuable points for me, which I will try to answer.

Regarding the wall paper, it is our meaning that we will take the amazing and wonderful views you have to the city and the lakes of Copenhagen, into the rooms.
If you take a closer look, you can see that the wall paper is pictures of Copenhagen :) You will find the Carlsberg Elephant, the famous real estate, and the Tower of the the city hall. Actually it is specially designed for Scandic Copenhagen - From Above.
I am sorry to hear you didn't liked the design.

Regarding the wardrobes, we are already working on have more space for hangers, normally we have 6 hangers in each room, I understand this has not been in your room - we know that if guest are staying for 1 week - the space is not enough for clothing, unless you would keep your clothes in our suitcase, placed on the baggage holder.

Although this being answered I am so pleased to hear that your check in/out went without any problems and you find the lobby very modern and interesting.


I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife had arranged for us to spend the weekend in Copenhagen and had left the hotel booking until the last minute.

We booked a double room in the Scandic Copenhagen hotel for two nights and overall we were not disappointed. Access to public transport to and from the Airport is excellent - the hotel is a 2 minute walk away from the train station and trains are regular. It's a tall building and if you're lucky, you'll get a nice lake & city view.

Overall the place is very clean, the staff are polite and very helpful, the foyer is very well presented with a cosy bar and restaurant and the breakfast was always very tasty with plenty to choose from (if a little crowded).

There are one or two things that stop me from giving this hotel a higher score.

Firstly, when we booked the room, we'd booked a double room, what we found is not what I would consider a 'double' room. It was a very small and narrow box room with what looked like a shrunken double bed. Whilst the lack of space in the room was a tad annoying - we'd have coped with it. It was the bed that did it for us. We looked at the bed, looked at each other and decided it was not going to work! We're average sized people, but we'd have had to sleep with arms by our side and without much movement. When we asked to upgrade, we were told that we could move into a suite for an additional 400 DKR per night. I asked if they had anything in-between as that was too much for the sake of two nights - but no, that is the next level up apparently. Clever up-selling? I certainly thought so. Never the less, the suite was superb and up to a very high standard.

Secondly - and a minor point - the Breakfast was a big free-for-all with hundreds of guests. But then this is most probably down to preference, it's not that there was anything wrong with it.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a space-saving double bed if choosing the standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasondunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

You mention some valuable points for us, and you should know I have taken your suggestions to consideration and I will take them up for discussion in our management team here at Scandic Copenhagen.

Although I am glad to hear you find our staff very polite and helpful, it is so important for our guest to fell this :)

Regarding the breakfast area, we already know it is quite over crowded in the mornings, and we are working on a solution.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and we had and okay stay. The lobby has been probably rebuilt recently, and it is quite nice. You can anyway see that the hotel is a bit old from the rooms and especially the bathrooms, not so nice. They have done quite a good effort in revitalizing this hotel, and this is of course appreciated. The beds have two very small pillows, plus an extra one. Really not enough for a couple and made the night not too comfortable. The breakfast was quite good, with many different choices, even if it tasted a bit as "school restaurant" food. The staff was nice and I appreciated their help. The location is quite central, even if not on the turistic side of the town. One thing I did not like with Scandic is their frequent stayer program. I have used them for many years for business trip and finally had enough points for a free week-end... almost! I mean, I missed only 1000 points on the needed 50.000 to get two free night, but it is not possible to pay partially with points and part in cash. So I had to book only one night and then moved to another hotel of another chain. Not so good for them in the end.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all thank you for choosing Scandic Copenhagen during your last visit in Copenhagen.

I would also thank you for taking your time to make a review on tripadvisor.com.
Feed back is very important for us, so in that case we can improve our service and standards every day.

You mention some valuable points for me, and you should know I have taken your suggestions to consideration and will take them up in our management team here at Scandic Copenhagen.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel again and maybe I will have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Best Regards
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Five star recommendation because I do not miss anything. Complete.
Not a five star luxious hotel but feels like a very modern, stylish establishment.
Three adult ladies sharing a double room feels spacious and good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iminzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja A, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking your time and make a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are always happy to get feedback, weather it's postive or negative, so we can improve our standard & service.

I am so pleased to hear that and your 2 friends where satisfied.

We will look forward to welcoming you at Scandic Copenahgen another time.

Best Regards
Scandic Copenhagen
Tanja Andresen - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,236 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,552 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#18 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,093 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Copenhagen

Address: Vester Soegade 6, Copenhagen 1601, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#31 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $168 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Copenhagen is located in central Copenhagen, with stunning views over the water and Copenhagen city, and close to attractions such as Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens.The hotel has recently been through a major refurbishment, which has been completed in June 2012. The hotel has 18 floors and is one of Copenhagen's tallest buildings with a bird's-eye view of the city and the famous lakes of Copenhagen.The new design is modern and trendy - prepare yourself for a journey of adventure - From above. The hotel will show the guest Copenhagen From Above.Scandic Copenhagen is also one of Copenhagen's largest conference centres with facilities including an extensive range of modern AV and IT equipment. Copenhagen attractions are right on your doorstep when you stay at hotel Scandic Copenhagen. Tivoli amusement park, Nyhavn and Stroeget shopping street are all within walking distance of the hotel. When staying with us at Scandic Copenhagen, you can relax with a drink and a light meal in our atmospheric lobby bar with mirrors and contemporary design. You can also stop by our relaxation area and unwind in the sauna or workout in the gym. We offer wireless internet access throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copenhagen Scandic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing