We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here over New Year and had a fabulous time in Copenhagen. The hotel is round the corner from the station, Tivoli gardens and a short walk from shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean,modern and the beds extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were brilliant, plenty of lovely cereals, breads, cheeses and of course pastries. No cooked but we didn't miss that one bit. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

We had a fun Hogmanay dodging fireworks in the city square, and a lovely afternoon walking round the Tivoli Gardens drinking mulled wine!
There are lots of bars and restaurants, and we had a particularly excellent meal on New Years Eve at an Italian round the corner called Retro Gusto.
We took the train over the Oresund Bridge to Malmo on New Years day and spent the day wandering round and drinking hot chocolate. The trains in Denmark are amazing and we didn't use a taxi once while we were there.

I was somewhat surprised that there was not more fish on the menus. I do not eat meat and struggled a little bit as every second restaurant seemed to be a steak house! The chef at Retro Gusto cooked me a fabulous piece of tuna though! Thank you for that!

For an extra special NY treat we had lunch at Sollerod Kro in Holte. It was AMAZING. One of the best meals we have had!
Copenhagen is a lovely city, and the Andersen Hotel is a perfect base for exploring it.

Room Tip: We had a room over the back courtyard which was very quiet. Room no.39.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review.

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time celebrating New Year in Copenhagen. Hopefully you had a chance to enjoy champagne and our Resident DJ before watching the fireworks.

On Andersen Hotel Pinterest we have a collection of Copenhagen restaurants, many of which serve excellent fish. We are happy to make recommendations, and agree Søllerød Kro (Michelin Star) is top notch. It is aprox. 30 minutes away and well worth the drive. Fiskebaren (The Fishbar) in the Meatpacking Area is another excellent choice.

We hope you will return before long and wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    896
    212
    50
    17
See reviews for
393
1,198
124
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hotel is in a really good location, 10-minute walk from the central station.

Staff really friendly and helpful, especially when checking in, recommended some good places to go without us even asking. We got there before check-in time and were able to choose a room.

Room did not feel at all cramped and was comfortable and clean. Very quiet. Wifi free with The Cloud. Only minor issue was constant noise from bathroom extractor fan, but this was only audible when actually in the bathroom.

Breakfast buffet was excellent, as far as continental breakfasts go! Different breads and pastries, cold meats, cheese, fruit and cereals, and an excellent selection of teas. Even had things like tahini and olive oil there.

Bonus was a free glass of wine in the bar each night between 5 & 6, even after we had checked-out, worth about £6 each in Copenhagen! Perfect timing between a day sightseeing and going out in the evening.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back on the top floor, and it was very quiet, looking out onto a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kn1653cph, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review.

Your compliments on our staff are comforting and I look forward to share with my team

It is nice that you liked the room, the layout and design and took good use of the free Wi-Fi is.
We have computer, iPad and printer in our Lobby Lounge for free use.

Our cold breakfast buffet is complimentary and should aid to give you a good start on your day.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Really convenient for getting to the airport. The central station is at the end of the street no more than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. From the station it's about 20 minutes by train to the airport.

It's a friendly hotel with incredibly helpful staff on reception. We stayed over new year and on New Year's Eve the hotel put on a free champagne reception with music early in the evening which was a great way to start the evening.

Our special thanks to the lovely Ann Mette who went the extra mile to help us find a restaurant for dinner on New Year's Eve at the last minute. This wasn't an easy task as our party included vegetarians and two children. Ann Mette phoned countless restaurants for us and didn't give up until she found us somewhere.

We stayed in a suite which was large and comfortable. Great flat screen TV,
robes, a fruit platter, fridge and free wifi. What more could you want

Good buffet breakfast.

Very convenient for Tivoli gardens and not far from the National Museum which has a great section dedicated to children on the ground floor.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LongboroughLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for celebrating New Year with us and for a nice review.

Copenhagen is a fun place to ring in the New Year, Lots of fireworks everywhere, great parties and happy people. Glad you enjoyed our Resident DJ and champagne in our Lobby Lounge before going out. More and more restaurants are now open on New Years Eve.

Remember to use the rear exit at the Central Train Station, otherwise you will end up in Tivoli Garden. This year was first time Tivoli was open over New Year. A great experience for young and old alike.

We hope you will celebrate with us in the future and look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is in a lively area of Copenhagen, close to central station (but not so close that you can see, hear or feel the trains), surrounded by restaurants and within a short walk of the Tivoli gardens. An ideal spot for a visit. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was comfortable and nice, though perhaps a little small. There is no evening meal, but we happened to be there when there was a 'pop up restaurant' from Jutland and it was excellent. We were there near Xmas, so another night there was a mini-Xmas market. All in all a lively environment. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review.

It is a much appreciated present to all of us at Andersen Boutique Hotel, to finish year 2013 reviews with such an excellent review. Thank you

Fun to hear you enjoyed our Pop-Up Restaurant and Pop-Up Christmas Market. We will post upcoming events on Facebook and Twitter. As many guests have enjoyed mingling during our Pop-Up Wine-hour this will most likely continue.

We are happy you chose Andersen Hotel and to read how guest reviews and our services lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcome you back and wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed with this lovely boutique hotel just one night pre-cruise in May. We found it from online search and chose it based on other Tripadvisor's tavellers views, most are possitive one. It's really not disappointed to us and we're glad that we made right choice. The hotel is close to Central Station, say 15 minutes walk with luggages at most you could easily reach the place. Check-in went through smoothly and we got the exact theme color room asked for. The room and sheets are so clean (even the corridor and whole hotel), bed support and pillow are very comfortable too. Although the room and bath are on the smallish side, they're offsetting by those good element we like. The buffet breakfast (included) is really supprised to us in term of the varity and quality. I would say it could be with a five-star hotel standard, that cute cheese cuter is a plus. Staffs from reception we met were all females, warm, willing to help and know the city well. You can get clear answers and nice suggestions from them for sightseeings, public trasportatioan, foods, directions and safty tips, even the cost of a bus or railway route. Besides close to Central Station, other places from hotel like main commercial streets, the famous Tivoli Park and Municipal Square are only several blocks away. And the Canal area and Royal Palace, all within walking distance as well. Department store, many eateries, shops, banks and foreign exchange could be found on the way and around. By taking a train from Central Station, you may conveniently and fast to reach the airport or go to Little Mermaid. A pair of my shoes needed badly to be repared during the stay. I was greatly told by hotel reception there is a shoes reparing shop in the Station. Then I got my shoes taken care of at site right way, how convenient and lucky it was. Try this well located hotel while you're planning to visit Copenhagen, you may love it according to our own experience. BTW, some reviews mentioning a sex shop and prostitues nearby, however we didn't feel being bothered at all, thus nothing to worry about and were absolutely safe too.

Room Tip: Room facing courtyard is qutie, but you'll miss the street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tp0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review and we appreciate you remembered us, we always appreciate feedback .

Vesterbro is a perfect location when in Copenhagen. Your description is very accurate, and it made us remember all the things you may see while visiting. It is convenient to walk to most places and we also rent bikes if you want to get a bit further away.

We are pleased to hear that Andersen Boutique Hotel, the cold breakfast buffet and our services lived up to your expectations. Trip Advisor is a great forum to collect information on various properties.

Hopefully you will back to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Rated Number 4 in Copenhagen ???
I,m surprised, sure the location is good, the staff who I interacted with were happy and friendly, breakfast buffet is more than acceptable. Stepped around the luggage all night in a street facing room, that had a huge neon advertising sign, that was lit up all night, just outside the window.
( must be using a lot of energy and expense to keep that sign lit up and glowing all night)
No coffee or tea making facilities in the room, no bedside tables for the alarm.
Bathroom was nice and clean and a good size. Free Wi-Fi.
Overall an average experience, nothing brilliant.
They are doing what a hotel is supposed to do, nothing more, nothing less.
Great access to central station.
I would possibly return and recommend, if only for the cleanliness and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Keep away from that huge neon sign that glows all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

If you missed something might depend on your expectations.

We are a small family owned hotel (named after my Grandmother Erna Andersen) with focus on authentic hospitality, nice design and friendly ambiance. We strive towards individual service recommending our own favourite places to go, eat and explore.

The lobby lounge is welcoming and warm with pleasant music, board games and international design magazines. We sell specialty coffee and tea at very low prices to encourage our guests to use the lobby and add to the ambiance. Many of our guests enjoy meeting other travelers.

Sorry that you missed our Pop-Up Gourmet restaurant, Pop-Up Christmas marked and Residens DJ. You are welcome to follow us on Facebook to check out future events.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family over the Christmas period, enjoyed the funky decor in this boutique hotel. Reception staff always willing to help with suggestions and restuarant bookings !!! enjoyed the complementary wine hour in the lobby after a hard day's touring of the City _ will definitely return !!!!!! the only con was the very small shower ---else everything was fantastic :) :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for a very nice review and thank you for sharing a picture

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Christmas Holiday with us.

The rooms are decorated in Designers Guild materials, tapestry and upholstery and you may see the various color schemes on our website.

Most of the rooms have a bathtub and the smallest bathrooms have stand alone shower. You are always welcome to let us know your preferences prior to arrival.

Wonderful to hear that you will return and we look forward to welcome you back in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,888 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing