We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Andersen Hotel Copenhagen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at Andersen Hotel Copenhagen”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great hotel...located near central train station and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, museums, castles, palaces and ruins. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Everyone speaks English, along with many other languages. Everything about the Andersen Hotel is very clean. Good breakfast buffet. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on garden or patio side if looking for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KittyCatFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review.

Andsersen Hotel is centrally located and many sights, shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

We also rent bikes at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day. It is a fun way to explore the city. It is free of charge to bring the bike on the S-train. We recommend visiting the beach or a local Harbor bath during summer. The Copenhagen harbor water is extremely clean and recommended for swimming

We appreciate your wonderful recommendation and look forward to see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    850
    204
    51
    16
See reviews for
360
1,124
116
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

First, the staff were absolutely wonderful! Very friendly and always helpful. We requested extra pillows and had them right away.

I had read plenty of reviews before booking and was prepared for the neighborhood. I never felt unsafe even later at night. I was actually a little disappointed not to see any street walkers after preparing myself for them. ;) Also as a result of the reviews I'd read, I requested a courtyard/quiet room which we received.

The decor was very fresh and the room had a great feel to it. Although my husband didn't wholeheartedly embrace all the pink. The bathroom, though somewhat small, was very functional. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. And the location was very convenient.

My only complaint was the noise. First, the walls were paper thin. When we first arrived, we could hear conversations going on all around us. Despite being in the courtyard, the courtyard apparently has an opening to the street. Since we had some warm weather while we were there, we were forced to sleep with our windows open. Our first night was pretty sleepless due to noise from a bar or restaurant somewhere that was echoing through the courtyard late into the night and then we were awakened early, before 7, by some kind of construction noise or garbage pickup or something that went on and on. Mercifully our second night was relatively quiet for some reason.

It's a great hotel, but wouldn't recommend it for light sleepers. If I could give it a 3.5 I would.

As a side note since management reads these reviews, we booked the pre-paid cab service to the airport which was a great convenience. However our cab driver was somewhat gruff and unfriendly and was even reluctant to help load and unload our luggage. Since this demeanor is not in keeping with the level of service personified by your own staff, you may want to do some coaching with the cab service about expectations since they obviously get a lot of referrals from you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Windlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for a highly valuable review.

First of all, it sounds like you prepared very well for your stay and had a profound knowledge of what to expect prior to your arrival. This is highly recommended and I was thrilled to read how you enjoyed Andersen Hotel and the Vesterbro neighborhood.

I apologize about the nightly noise issue which we are investigating. The restaurant next door do not use the back courtyard. We have talked to the renovation company and we are in the process of revising our lined pick-up procedures. We have restocked our supply of free earplugs at the reception. Fortunately, your second night was peaceful.

Finally, your comments on the taxi company are very helpful. We will definitely talk with them as we expect a high and professional service level from all our partners. Apparently the union of Danish taxi drivers believe they are not expected to carry luggage. In my opinion a helpful and friendly attitude is the least o be expected.

We hope to welcome you back to Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Andersen Hotel from 26th - 31st May. The hotel is well situated for the central attractions, and the interior is well appointed with quirky, modern décor, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent. Our first room was adequate for three people (no complaints). Because we went to bed late on the first night we failed to notice that one of the sheets had a stain on it (although it was obvious that the bed linen had been laundered). The following morning we reported this to Sean at reception. Within seconds he offered us profound apologies, an upgraded room and a bottle of wine. During breakfast Sean spoke to us and said he had talked to the manager, and they had agreed to move us to one of their larger suites. Our new suite was splendid and gave the three of us more space. We felt that the management and Sean had gone the extra mile to make our stay with them memorable. We can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for a wonderful recommendation and your nice compliments on the way we handled an issue in practice. We are very fortunate to have an excellent staff with high commitment to service.

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback on the interior, which you found well appointed with quirky, modern décor, and spotlessly clean. And we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our cold Breakfast Buffet.

We look forward to welcome you back - most likely to an Amazing Junior Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great stay. It was more expensive than our previous stays on the trip but it may be a good price for Denmark! The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean but small. The hotel has a modern feel to it. It was close to the train station and the Tivoli gardens but a reasonable walk to the palaces etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajesticM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

Although Copenhagen is an expensive City, many things are free e.g. The Botanical Garden, The National Museum, Museum of Fine Art, Swimming in the Harbor, Fleamarkets and much more.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Would have rated higher if the location (away from busy streets) and if their "concept 24" really works. first when we arrived we were told the room would be ready at 4pm, so we went out for the day and came back after dinner. we had already asked if we can keep the room longer on checkout day, as we had an evening flight plus we are travelling with a toddler, but were told we can only keep the room until 2pm. so somehow the idea of concept 24 does not work. We stayed 2 nights when it was very hot weather and as there is no air conditioning we had to keep windows open which faced the street, but this was very very noisy. Even at 3am the street noise was incredible. Otherwise the hotel staff were very good. Our room was a bit small but clean and bathroom was very clean too. I think the website mentioned Morton brown toiletries but actually it was "green park" which I have never heard of. Breakfast was great. It's a good boutique hotel except for the noisy street. Should try the rooms facing the courtyard instead if you plan to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard room, otherwise it's very noisy. Apparently you have to spell out that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller188888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for an interesting review.

I apologize for not being able to honor CONCEPT24. We will internally try to improve the concept.

Our room amenities are from Molton Brown's exclusive hotel line "Green Park". They have promised us to look at the design, as we like the Molton Brown name to be written clearly on the front.

Andersen Hotel does not have A/C, we have fans available to help on the warm summer days.

After all, we appreciate your opinion on Andersen Boutique Hotel being a better hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is ideally placed - about 2mins walk from the Central Station. If you have a large suitcase in tow then find the exit at the opposite side to the Tivoili exit - it takes you directly onto the street.
The staff were so helpful and friendly. We were on a business trip, booked into two single rooms but were upgraded to two double rooms - the beds were so comfy! The rooms are very modern in style - and a nice touch is the fridge to store your own drinks. There is a 'fridge bar' downstairs and they stocked small bottles of wine at reception!
Breakfast was good with an extensive buffet. A really great place to spend a night or two. The area around isn't great but we felt very safe walking to and from the centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at Andersen Boutique Hotel and writing a review.

Friendly is something we really like to hear, as we want to offer the best service.

It is nice that you liked the beds, the empty fridge for you to fill and our cold breakfast buffet

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Wonderful Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my fourth night at this lovely Hotel. The staff are so helpful and always pleasant. Rooms are nice and Wifi works well. I look forward to all the goodies set out for a delicious breakfast. The Andersen Hotel is so convenient to all you need. The train station is five minutes away and I used it many times with my Copenhagen card. The Tivoli is so close. I stayed until midnight to watch the fireworks there last night knowing I had but a short walk back to the Hotel. The area is unique but I always felt safe walking alone. Thanks Trip Advisor. I booked this Hotel on your recommendation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for a positive and lovely review.

We sell the Copenhagen Card at the Front Desk, and it is great value if you are traveling with public transportation and visiting some of the more expensive attraction and museums.

Tivoli Garden is not only for young kids. They offer e wide program of free concerts throughout the season and we are only a short walk away. The Tivoli fireworks looked amazing on your photo. Thank you for sharing your pictures.

We look forward to welcome you back to Andersen Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing