We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“combines close to train station and very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“combines close to train station and very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you're traveling by train in Copenhagen, this hotel would be hard to beat. It's only about a 200m walk from the Central Station, at the corner of Istedgade and Helgolandsgade. Rooms are decent size with large (by European standards) bathrooms, very comfy and quiet, more quiet on the courtyard side per the staff. We found the bed to be comfortable queen size. Hotel is kept very clean and orderly. Breakfast is superb with gracious service and very full buffet. Front desk personnel are extremely helpful and gracious. Björn gives great restaurant advice, and one of the best is just next door.

Room Tip: Courtyard side is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambleyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review.

It is nice to hear how you took advantage of the Train station being so close to the hotel - especially if you use the rear exit to the left from the arrival hall. You may take your bike on the S-train for free in Copenhagen.

Our neighbor Frk. Barners Kælder restaurant is serving traditional Danish cuisine. A fun place to try if you are looking for a non fancy, plain lunch or dinner place.

Your wonderful information on the cleanliness, the breakfast and our staff is much appreciated

Please come back to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    830
    202
    51
    16
See reviews for
352
1,093
112
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is nice and confortable, the concierge was extremely helpful and the location is good, making possible to visit all the main attractions by walking. Although it is close to the "red district", it was not a issue at all. It was a safe area very convenient to attend the meatpacking district and the nice restaurants over there. I would recommend this hotel specially for couples or friends without kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianaelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We appreciate your review and kind comments.

It is pleasant to hear you found Andersen Hotel nice and liked the Vesterbro neighborhood including the old Meatpacking Area "Kødbyen". There are also some interesting Galleries e.g. Bo Bjerregaard in the area

We value your recommendation and hopefully we may welcome you back i the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have to admit most of the reviews are good hence why it is No 2 rated. It actually should be X-Rated as we had 2 nights with no sleep from the abusive loud Prostitutes below us pimps & drug pushers with traffic noise stopping and starting. By the 2nd night at 3.00am I had enough. I could not telephone reception as there are no phones so I emailed the hotel with my complaint. I never received a reply but I had an interesting conversation with Karen the Manager the next morning.

I was informed that prostitutes are legal to work in Copenhagen and so are using drugs. They will not cause you any harm as you are safe regardless of the level of abusive noise. Mobile phones are available on check in. As I told Karen whether they are legal or not guests do not wish to hear abuse during the night and also it is not pleasant to see the sex and drug trade in action from the hotel windows. Apparently one of the afternoon prostitutes is studying during the evening hence why she does the afternoon shift.

There is a sex dance show a few doors down. I can't believe this hotel is rated no 2. And I can't believe Visit Copenhagen website advertises Andersen Hotel. Everyone in Denmark knows the area as that but instead of pink facade - it really should be neon RED. Maybe then on check in I would have moved to another hotel.

Karen did compensate with a reduction on my 2nd night stay, taxi voucher and offer of lunch, water and a candle. I got the feeling Karen is good with answering complaints to do with the outside guests - but Karen maybe it's time to be good at informing and looking at your inside guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotteeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate all points of view, they are important and aids the process of continuously improving our guest service and the comfort of our valuable guests.

I like to use this opportunity to apologize in writing. It is unfortunate that you did not know about the diversity that Vesterbro neighborhood is known for. As previously talked about in this forum Istedgade does offer a bit of everything from working women, adults shops and designer boutiques. It is understandable if novice travelers prefer to stay in a more quiet residential area.

I regret you did not contact my friendly and helpful staff after check- in and especially because you were not satisfied with the room. We are in an old building and the rooms varies in size, decoration and view. We are always happy to offer a choice of room, and it is important to us that our guests like the accommodation. It is obviously much easier to solve a problem as soon as it occurs and not upon check-out.

Thank you for mentioning the lack of telephones in the rooms. We are in the process of updating our in-room guest information and will be certain to mention the offer of free mobile phones from the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A very nice hotel located in the heart of Copenhagen. Not far from the sentral railway station aprox. 3 min. walk.
Cosy rooms with a lot of colors and very quiet.
Perfect staff to greet you, a very nice breakfast which included all I could ask for. Possible to rent a bike, which is a perfect way to see Copenhagen.
We were very happy to be able to check out as late as 8 p.m.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmpaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We appreciate you like our hotel, the rooms and the decor with Designers Guild fresh colours.

The central location is perfect if you arrive with train. And it takes only 12 minutes from the airport. Just remember to take the rear exit on the left side from the arrival hall.

Bikes are for rent at the reception for DKK 100.- per day. A wonderful way to explore the city.

Our breakfast is a cold buffet (no eggs & bacon) and it is great that you were satisfied with the selection - hopefully including a Gammel Dansk.

We look forward to welcome you back to Andersen Boutique Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, RI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

While the rooms and general decor of the Andersen were very nice, the best part of our hotel stay was the staff service. They were all extremely helpful and solicitous (especially Sean), anticipating our needs and responding to our requests for information, assistance etc. The location was a short walk from the train station and a few blocks from an area with charming cafes. Although the location was also on the edge of a "red light" district, we had no problems. We walked to Tivoli Gardens, Nyhaven (harbor), the Town Hall (where we met the free walking tour (highly recommended) at 11 am, and the national museum (free!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review.

I suppose Sean told you about all the free things in Copenhagen. If you are on a budget it is worth visiting e.g. the Museum of Fine Arts and the Botanical Gardens. Lunch is often a better deal than dinner - opt for a large lunch and a small dinner. And ride a bike, the public transportation is not cheap. A Copenhagen Card is good value, if you like to travel the city and visit some of the expensive attractions.

Until next time please follow us on Facebook. We will share fun and low budget events and attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel with chic designs and friendly service. The location was also very convenience as it is very close to the main train station and the city center. The staffs are friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for a superb review including a valuable recommendation.

Our aim is to have happy, satisfied and returning guests and any recommendation of previous guests is truly appreciated.

We sell Tivoli Tickets and Copenhagen Cards at the Front Desk for your convenience.

We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Wonderful Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in a single bed room, it was small, but not overly so. There was some bathroom noise from the room next door - perhaps because they were single rooms.

Overall it was a nice hotel. The staff were delightful. The room was very clean and it was generally nice experience.

The breakfast, which was included in my room price, was the best I had in Copenhagen.

Try to get a good price on the room and it's worth it. Having said that, I also stayed at the Axel across the road and thought the room ambiance was much nicer. (For the best room stay there, for the best breakfast stay here).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xdamianx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for an interesting review.

We are very fortunate to have some nice hotel properties in our street. We are all individually owned and try to be strong in various areas and hence do not consider us self competitors.

Decoration and design are always a wonderful topic to discuss as everybody has an opinion.

It is nice to read your compliments on our breakfast buffet and I am glad you did not miss egg and bacon. For many people it is very important to start the morning with a hearty breakfast.

We hope you will choose to stay with us next time you are in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing