We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, fab rooms, fantastic staff and comfiest beds ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central location, fab rooms, fantastic staff and comfiest beds ever!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Came for work, but am planning a return visit for leisure. The rooms are fantastic, the bed is amazing! I have literally never experienced a bed as comfy as theirs. The decor is stylish, but there is still a sense of cosy comfort. The staff (particularly Sean on reception) were really friendly and helpful and made me feel really at home.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review and compliments

Our beds are made in Denmark and I am pleased to hear, you had a good nights sleep. A few of our international guests have bought the same bed for their own home.

I will forward the compliments to my hard working staff, it is a great motivation to keep up the spirit and good work.

It is good to hear that you appreciated the central location near the train station, the city center and various restaurants.

We all look forward to your return to Andersen Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    854
    205
    51
    16
See reviews for
361
1,128
117
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's the small details... which makes this centrally located hotel quite special!

The Andersen Hotel is actually an old 1-star hotel - which has been thoughtfully upgraded. Room decor is really funny - almost bizarre - you have to experience that by yourself. Not the way I decorate my own house - but certainly interesting :) But most importantly - everyting is new, nice, clean - and the bed is simply excellent!

To give you an idea about the service: I had an early morning meeting in Sweden - and had to leave by 6 am - breakfast is served from 7 am. While checking out - the kind girl at the reception smiled at me and told me that I could not possibly leave without a cup of coffee and a freshly baked croissant. And a minute later I was served a small to-go breakfast meal. My colleague, which picked me up a few minutes later - was immediately approached in the same smiling manner and given the same offer - even though she did not stay at the hotel.

Excellent! Hope you get the idea!

Note - there are no "hot meal" options for breakfast. No scrambled eggs, no bacon, etc. But the stuff they do have is just fine. Also note that the location is in the middle of the Copenhagen red-light district - if you bring kids - you can select an alternative route to the hotel and avoid "Istedgade".

Room Tip: If your are really noise sensitive - ask for a room facing away from Istedgade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you an outstanding review praising our service.

The decoration is fresh and colorful. Maybe you like to try a Mermaid room next time in green og turquoise or if you prefer a more traditional decor our Wonderful rooms are kept in a pale blue Designers Guild scheme.

Thank you for sharing your early morning breakfast experience, I am proud to hear how we walked the extra mile. After all the small touches makes the difference.

We look forward to welcome you back and hopefully also your colleague to Andersen Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location, extremely helpful and cheerful staff at reception and throughout hotel, excellent breakfast buffet and a pleasant lounge with backgammon and chess... everything as it should be. Do remember that the hotel bikes are not free - that was not mentioned at check in. Rooms clean, reasonable size, decor amusingly 60s retro, bathrooms fine.. Most positive!

Room Tip: Higher rooms better, but one is in the middle of a night-active part of town - that's life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for a valuable review.

I am sorry about the poor information about the bikes. The price is DKK 100.- per day. We also have a Christiania bike, which is a bike where two children may sit in the front ( or a lucky partner). This bike is a bit more expensive and we recommend you book it prior to your arrival as it is a popular bike.

We appreciate your kind words on our staff. We really like to have happy guests and are happy to help with anything. We have a profound knowledge of Copenhagen and know many small local places - just ask.

The rooms facing the back yard are more quiet, if you are a light sleeper.

We look forward to welcome you back to Andersen Boutique Hoel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was superb.
It is close to the railway station and although some of the other reviewers speak about the 'dodgy' street, we found no problems at all
The room was great so was the bathroom. Beds were super comfortable.
Breakfast was included and could not be faulted.
I would recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive and nice review.

We hope to welcome you back, and maybe youlike try a room with different colours from Designers Guild.

Mermaid rooms are kept in turquise and green colours. Princess rooms purple and magenta. And if you are not too keen on fresh colours opt for our Wonderful rooms in a pale blue.

It is comforting that you liked the area and felt safe at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Andersen Hotel is a warm and colorful hotel. The deco is chic and colorful that give me lots energy. I like the location that is very close to the train station(just 5 min walk ). Besides, it's close to meat packing area where with lots unique restaurant. The staff of the hotel give me lots information about restaurant and sightseeing. They are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is rich. I will choose this hotel again as I come back to Copenhagen.
是一間溫暖且色彩洋溢的旅店,打破北歐極簡的風格。服務非常好,位置也很好,距離火車站走路五分鐘以內。飯店附近有一個肉品包裝廠,那裡有很多有意撕得餐廳,價格又合理,可看見哥本哈根很有意思的飲食風情。飯店櫃台會給許多餐飲和旅行的建議

Room Tip: no swimming pool. You can choose the color of the room (green or pink. etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_Huang_Taiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for a pleasant review.

it is always nice to have international guest staying with us and we appreciate your compliments especially about the hotel making you feel good and our great service

The location is convenient and hopefully you will take a bike ride next time. It is possible to join a daily bike sightseeing tour free of charge for all our hotel guest.

We hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter and had a great time. Very conveniently located to train station taking only a few minutes to get there. The room was lovely, modern decor and spotless. Benefits from a safe in the room and a fridge. Toiletries were from Molton brown. The location of the hotel made Copenhagen very accessible and let us experience the up and coming meat packing area. We felt very safe in the area and walked to restaurants locally for our dinner.
The breakfast is very varied and offers great choice. Free wifi is also a bonus. The staff are all very friendly and happy to help. Would definitely staff here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_M296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review.

It sounds like you are the perfect guest for Andersen Hotel and enjoyed everything from the design, the breakfast and the location.

The room fridge is left empty, as many of our guests appreciated the freedom to fill it according to their own needs and not the hotels needs. We are considering preparing a small basket in the room to purchase from. We sell a wide selection of beverages including local beer, wine and organic juices in our Lobby Lounge.

All our rooms have a safe in the room

We would very much like to welcome you back to Andersen Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteau, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice little hotel. Descent breakfast, but still missing the eggs and bacon that I prefer. However, the bread, cheese and coffee are very good. The rooms are nice and adequte for being solo on business, but I don't think I'd come here with a family.

It's only a few blocks walk from the train station, but it's right on the edge of what I would call the red light district. Hookers on the corner of the hotel. Not really a problem, but you do walk past a few "erotic" shops on the way to the hotel.

On the plus side it's not a bad walk to the major tourist streets of the city and the convenience to the train station is nice.

Overall. Hotel is very nice, but the location is just average.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our Cold Continental Breakfast is complimentary and we apologize that we do not serve egg and bacon for breakfast. I am glad you did find the breakfast to your liking, we especially believe in serving a good cup of coffee and a wide selection of tea.

As previously discussed there are pro and cons regarding Vesterbro. We love the neighborhood, the diversity and the feeling of a metropole. Many families with young kids now live here and you will see kindergartens walk up and down Istedgade. If you walk on the left side of Istedgade from the train station you do pass by the adult shop.

Since our opening we have welcomed many families and children

You are more than welcome to visit us again and hopefully your family will join you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing