We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fantastic-nice, clean, new rooms, very friendly staff. Bottle of wine and plate of fruits and chocolates when we arrived! On our first night the bed was two singles pushed together rather than a double mattress, and we asked to change-the staff couldn't have been better-they showed us various rooms and let us choose, and were even flexible about when we could move our stuff. The breakfast was great, suited us perfectly, and was worth getting out of bed for! Location is very convenient, very near central station, and easy to reach everywhere. We'd definitely stay there again (and will).

Only thing to mention-and it's not about the hotel at all, but while we were in Copenhagen my boyfriend had his wallet stolen-walking back from near central station at night, quite close to the hotel. There's a group of 'dancing thieves' (the police's term) who apparently target tourists-I wasn't there so can't describe it, but he says they did do a little dance (he thought they were being friendly, but he'd had a few..) anyway, he lost his wallet. I was a bit sceptical, but it happened to someone else too. Anyway, if you're in the area at night-be aware!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_martha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Perfect hotel..... Thanks a million for the compliments

We look forward to welcome you back, and I am so sorry for the wallet incident. I have spoken to the police as this set-up was new to me. The Police believe they have caught this group of "tourists" and we hope it is a closed case.

All our rooms have a safe, a fridge for your private drinks and slippers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Andersen hotel is literally 200m from Copenhagen Central train station. The city is very accessible generally and on a four day stay, we walked absolutely everywhere from the hotel. The staff are polite and gave out some excellent restaurant and bar tips, including the brilliant Meat Packing District a 5 minute walk from the hotel (a new up and coming area well worth a visit and not listed in many guidebooks). The rooms themselves are well designed, spacious for European city centre hotels and well cleaned. The continental breakfast is definitely one of the best I have had on a city break.

Yes, the hotel is in the red light district, but all this means is one dodgy shop and the occasional girl standing on the corner. Do not let this put you off the area, there are a lot of other hotels on the same street as well as a number of restaurants, there are always people there and it is not an intimidating atmosphere. Furhtermore, when you exit the Central Station, you can see the sign for the hotel, it is literally a 200m walk, and bearable, even if you found the area daunting.

One issue to be aware of is the 'mood music' playing in the reception area from very early to very late and some of the rooms on the first floor (notably 15) are directly on top of this. The music went on until late and started again at 7am, this meant we found it very hard to sleep. When we mentioned this, the staff moved us into a different room with no fuss at all.

On the whole, thoroughly recommended, great location, well designed rooms, knowledgeable staff and good value for the price.

Room Tip: See the comment above about the music impacting on some of the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Weeked_Break87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

First of all thank you for a very useful review.

We have adjusted the music (brand new installation) and we have turned the music down. I have not heard any comments after this action and trust all our guests may get a good nights sleep after 22.00 hrs. We often have a DJ playing on Friday nights until 22.00 hrs in the lobby lounge.

Your candid description of the neighborhood is appreciated and it sounds like you fully enjoyed the area. The vicinity of the Central Station is very convenient when travelling to Louisiana Art Museum or the Airport (12 minutes ride).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Andersen Hotel doesn't have a spa, a swimming pool or a restaurant. With only one elevator, and about 4-5 stories, this is what you may call a small hotel. What it lacks in size it makes up for in alot of other things. I was there for a long weekend with my girlfriend and i have never experienced better personal service from hotel staff anywhere. A gift-basket was sent to our room on the day of our arrival simply because the staff wanted to assure us that they would accomodate our every need. One of the receptionists even gave us a bottle of wine for free, when there was some malfunction with their credit card machine. Andersen Hotel knows how to make you feel welcome, and at home. The hotel is perfectly stationed in the heart of copenhagen, and we recommend you to rent a pair of bicycles from the hotel and enjoy the city for all it's worth!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chessmaster_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for a very positive review.

We strive towards excellent service and hope this will create happy memories and return guests.

I hope you found time to play a game of chess in the lobby lounge while you enjoyed a glass of wine.

We look forward to welcome you and your girlfriend back to Andersen Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel for one night in November 2012, and it is just a little gem.
So nicely decorated, the rooms were so beautiful, and the hotel Staff was just so helpful, and really acted as they enjoyed their jobs very much.
The hotel is in the middle of a quite dodgy area (like "red lightish area"), but it doesn't really matter, you don't spend the time in the street outside anyway.
If you like walking a bit, the location is also great, other wise there are a lot of taxis.
The breakfast also was splendid, and nicely served. It was even possible to drink "gammel dansk" beside, for those who fancy such in the morning.
I most often use another hotel when in Copenhagen, but now Andersen's has become my new favourite!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your valuable recommendation.

We love to hear you will come back to stay with us at Andersen Hotel. Hopefully you had time to explore the old Meatpacking District (Kødbyen) with nice restaurants and galleries. Some of our favorites are Fiskebaren, Bio Mio and Pate Pate.

Hopefully it is a bit warmer next time you are in Copenhagen and we will have the rental bikes ready, polished and pumped.

We look forward to welcome you back as a regular Andersen guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay when in Copenhagen! It is right next to the train station making it easy to get to and from the airport. The front staff was very helpful when trying to find a restaurant to eat at. Also, the hotel is only a five minute walk to the shopping district, Strøget. Breakfast in the morning has a wide selection to choose from. The beds are very comfortable and the color scheme of the rooms are beautiful! (Colors are either blue or pink/purple. We stayed in a blue room.)The rooms were very clean and everything was great during our three day stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for a very positive review.

The "blue" colour scheme are our Wonderful Rooms on the 1.Floor. These rooms all have a bathtub, double duvet and Le klint design desk lamps "the Snake". The fabircs in all rooms are Designers Guild, although Wonderful rooms are not as colourful as our Mermaid and Princess Rooms.

You are always welcome to ask us about our restaurant suggestions, we have many favorites in the Vesterbro Neighbourhood.

Check out Pinterest: Andersen Boutique Hotel for ideas on restaurants, things to do and ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

First off, Copenhagan is an expensive city. We were already aware of this, but for some reason were still somehow surprised when we got here? For that reason I'm not sure if the Andersen Hotel should really be given a straight 5/5 rather than 4/5 as for the relative affordable price it would seem to offer great value for money.

I'm guessing that the main reason for this is the area of Copenhagen that it is situated in, being the 'wrong' side of the Central Train station? Having read the many reviews on Trip Advisor we were right not to be worried by this and it had the wonderful advantage of being so convenient for everything in the city.

The hotel itself prides itself on being a boutique style and it has achieved this admirably. The staff were all wonderful (including Sean who I promised to namecheck on here) and our standard room (number 33), although not exactly large was much bigger than we had expected. It even had a bath, albeit the smallest one that I have ever seen!

The TV was large sized and had a perfect reception and the bed was extremely comfy.

The buffet breakfast was reasonable and the eating area for it and indeed the whole hotel was both stylish and modern.

A terrific hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your nice review.

We try to offer a bit more than just a bed - and believe ambiance in a cozy setting and excellent service are great assets. Those added to value for money ( in Copenhagen) is a real compliment.

The size of the rooms vary and so does the price. Cool standard is cool in a small way. I believe all the bathtubs are standard Danish size and they are far from jacuzzi size. It is the first comment on the bathtub size and something we will check. A few of the bathrooms have a shower. You are always welcome to request either shower or bathtub.

We really like you to come back and next time leave with a 5/5 experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Following a recent early week stay at the splendid Andersen In Copenhagen my expectations were far exceeded. From easily sourcing the location, which is ultimately superb, a matter of steps from the central station right through to checkout the stay was impeccable.

Ultimately our principal host Bjorn was more than accommodating, welcoming, and very informative. His relaxed manner and enthusiasm about the city, with a host of recommendations was much appreciated.

The rooms are of a good standard with any additional amenities made available from the reception staff (who are the key to the hotel's success).

Breakfast in the morning is very relaxed with a delightful selection of the continental variety, an abundance of hot drinks available, which is generously extended throughout the stay.

In addition the privacy factor of the boutique hotel is immense, with a very safe feeling for the anxious traveller visiting the beautiful city.

Overall Andersen Hotel is a winner all round! Everything is commendable!

We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank embankment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you a superb review.

Most of all it was warming to achieve the best compliment of all: 'Expectations were far exceeded". We strive towards at least meeting our guests expectations, but we really aim towards exceeding them and it is nice to succeed once a while.

Bjorn and the rest of the team all take pride in knowing and sharing the local area and all the small, secret and interesting places.

Please come back to see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,037 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 118 in Copenhagen
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $158 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing