We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A twenty-something couple, we decided to visit Copenhagen for New Years having never been to Denmark before - searching for hotels was tricky and in the end we decided on this from the Trip Advisor top ten list.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the central station, easy to find and the staff were so welcoming on arrival. The hotel has a pink welcoming carpet and the décor of reception is really funky. We stayed on the fifth floor, the room was a little small but so nicely decorated it actually didn't impact. There was a (complimentary) plate of fruit and chocolate to welcome us too!

What really makes this hotel superb is the breakfast: 2 or 3 different kinds of cheeses presented beautifully, 2 or 3 different kinds of bread, rolled herrings, 4 kinds of cereal, fruit bowls, bowls of yogurt, freshly boiled eggs, more kinds of tea than I can count, coffee pots for each table, all sorts of pastries and for me, gluten free bread that was really delicious. What was even better was that they provided this bread without raised eyebrows, as if it were entirely normal. There was jam, nutella, honey, butter and more for the bread and plenty of table space for everyone again in really nicely decorated surroundings. Breakfast was on average from 8 to about 10:30 so lots of time to wander down.

Every day whichever staff member was on duty would ask if we needed anything looked up or booked, they advised on restaurants or things to do for new years eve. The concept 24 (check in at 6pm, check out at 6pm!) was brilliant as our flight was a late one.

The water pressure in the shower was excellent, bath was nice and the hotel has conditioner! This isn't something you find in all hotels.

There is one computer in the foyer with printing, all free and lots of magazines, books, board games and blankets to relax with.

Honestly it was amazing and I would stay here again - any little things you might take issue with were dampened in the greater scheme of brilliant service and lovely surroundings and comfort.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is nice but there isn't a view per se. We stayed for new years and the fireworks wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank portiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for a truly amazing review.

I am pleased to hear you really enjoyed the stay. It sounds like you could be tempted to come back to celebrate New Year next year.

We are happy when our guests enjoy the lobby lounge. At the moment both Chess and Backgammon are vey popular - maybe due to the cold weather and the nice coffee,

CONCEPT24 is our own invention -the room is yours fo 24 hours without any surcharge. Excellent for a late flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    830
    202
    51
    16
See reviews for
352
1,093
112
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

As a 50 year young lady I was slightly nervous to read the reviews about the hotel being in the red light district and though I am pretty well travelled and seen many things, I thought the area might feel a little seedy. Well - I have no idea what all the fuss was about (and slightly disappointed!) as the most shocking thing I saw was a dimly lit sex shop with a few "toys" on display in the window - I've seen a lot worse in the window of Anne Summers! There are lots of other hotels on the same street and it feels much like any other tourist area. It literally was a couple of minutes walk from the station (ask the hotel to send you walking directions as these were excellent and I came out the nearest entrance) and we were welcomed by Sean who was absolutely brilliant and after showing us to our room opened a bottle of the sparkly stuff for us before giving some advice on what we might want to do on our first evening. He is a real asset to the hotel and we had a "catch up" each time we came in and made us feel really special.
The room was more than adequate in size, very clean and nicely decorated.
We both enjoyed our buffet breakfast with plenty of choice and danish pastries to die for :-)
I would highly recommend it and would not stay anywhere else if I went to Copenhagen again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your views on Andersen Hotel and Vesterbro.

It is both positive and comforting to hear how you enjoyed your visit.

The neighborhood is something we can talk about all year around. But I agree it is very quiet these days and I hope it will stay like that. In the newest local plan there are exiting plans for the Church area next to the hotel. A few Foundations have donated a substantial amount to the project.

Thank you for mentioning Sean, our staff are definately our biggest asset.

Please come back to visit us - and Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during a city-trip to Copenhagen. Located just two minutes at the back entrance of the main station. The surroundings are dominated by several hotels and a red light district. This could be a bit surprising if you are not prepared for it. But even in the dark it was not really a problem. We were upgraded to a superior room although this was not really spacious. The room had a wonderful bed and was very clean. During night it can be a bit noisy, especially with open window. If you are sensitive take earplugs with you. Wifi was free and fast.
Breakfast was really tasty in a nice surrounding. Staff was pretty friendly and helpfull. I would highly recommend to rent a bike (from Andersen Hotel) and explore this cycle-friendly city on two wheels! Fast access to the airport via metro/train (25 min). Would stay here definitely again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knabberbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful posting.

It seems like you truly captured our experience from bikes, free wi-fi to breakfast. Good to hear you liked the bed.

We hope to see you again at andersen hotel.

Happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I am regularly going to Denmark for work and I have tried a lot of hotels in Copenhagen. Recently I have been to the Andersen and I have to say I love it.
I love the decoration, quite minimalist with a lot of colors, the room wasn't spacious but it was enough for me and the bathroom was correct and in working order.
The staff is great, polite and helpful and welcoming even for someone who knows the town like me.
The breakfast/restaurant is nothing fancy but it is good.
The hotel is in a good neighborhood, specially for transports, not my favourite part of the town but convenient enough for my business.
This hotel has a lot of charm and a great staff, I most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your time reviewing Andersen Hotel.

It is especially nice to receive positive feedback from a regular business traveller to Copenhagen, who is familiar with the hotels and locations.

It is nice to hear how you enjoyed the design, staff and the neighborhood.

We hope to welcome you back as a regular guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in December and found the Andersen Hotel warm, welcoming and conveniently situated. It has been recently refurbished to a good standard and the room was comfortable and stylish. All staff we encountered were helpful and friendly and special mention must go to Sean who found us a good restaurant to visit and made us tea when we came in frozen from the snow!

Room Tip: Room 33 experienced some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireScoobySoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your nice compliments.

Our tea selection is Østerlandsk Teahouse (The oldest teahouse in Denmark). Sean is a fantastic employee and it is reassuring to hear how he did not miss the opportunity to serve you some of our new seasonal tea flavours.

It is always lovely to get positive feedback and we look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights, 8th & 9th December. Very handy for the Central station and an easy walk to the main shops and Nyhavn. Our room (75) was very clean and with a comfortable bed, big flat screen tv, safe, fridge, and nice and warm (we had 5" of snow in two days!) I can only describe the welcome as outstanding. We were greeted by Bjorn who immediately offered us tea and coffee as he did each evening when we returned tired and cold from a hard days sightseeing and shopping, he was also more than happy to recommend restaurants etc. You couldn't ask for anyone more helpful on the frontdesk.The breakfast buffet was extensive and all very fresh. We couldn't fault this hotel and all the staff were outstanding. We would recommend and would deffinitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 75 which was fourth floor at the front and were not disturbed by any noise. The road the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56RDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for a nice warm review written on a cold winter day.

I am pleased to hear that Bjørn took such good care of you and made some nice warm drinks. You really experienced Copenhagen from the snowy side, which afterall adds a bit of charm to the city.

Please come back to see us in the summmer - it is a different experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

the hotel is very close to the central station, hence to the Tivoli and the Town Centre.
The area is quite safe although this was a red district.
Very close to the hotel is an area called the Meatpacking district where you can have dinner.
The hotel rooms are very nice. We stayed in a standard double room: I can't say it was a huge room by it wasn't a tiny little one. The rooms have a safe, a beautiful bathroom with very good products offered by the hotel and a good tv set. Wi fi was included.
Breakfast at the hotel let us save quite some money because there was plenty of food for any demand (and that's a plus in a city that is quite expensive).
This hotel is recommended to all those who like purple in all its shades: and I'm one of the sort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCPicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and compliments on the colour purple.

The old Meatpacking District (Kødbyen) is a fun place to eat and we are lucky to have many good restaurants in our neighbourhood.

You are always more than welcome to contact us prior to your arrival to get recommendations and make restaurants reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing