We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for those who like purple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“for those who like purple”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

the hotel is very close to the central station, hence to the Tivoli and the Town Centre.
The area is quite safe although this was a red district.
Very close to the hotel is an area called the Meatpacking district where you can have dinner.
The hotel rooms are very nice. We stayed in a standard double room: I can't say it was a huge room by it wasn't a tiny little one. The rooms have a safe, a beautiful bathroom with very good products offered by the hotel and a good tv set. Wi fi was included.
Breakfast at the hotel let us save quite some money because there was plenty of food for any demand (and that's a plus in a city that is quite expensive).
This hotel is recommended to all those who like purple in all its shades: and I'm one of the sort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCPicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and compliments on the colour purple.

The old Meatpacking District (Kødbyen) is a fun place to eat and we are lucky to have many good restaurants in our neighbourhood.

You are always more than welcome to contact us prior to your arrival to get recommendations and make restaurants reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    874
    208
    50
    16
See reviews for
378
1,163
117
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights, and chose it because it was close to the train station and Tivoli. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is really stylish, especially the lobby/dining/common lounge areas. Lots of spots to chill out with a coffee or drink, read a magazine, work etc. The room was also stylish and very warm. The bathroom toiletries are from Molten Brown and they're nice (no shower cap, however).

Breakfast was great - the staff were really attentive and helpful (always quick with the coffee pot) and the food was very good. The croissants were particularly good (too good, really!). Some people may want a hot breakfast, but this was very substantial - eggs, meats, lovely breads, pastries etc.

The only down-side was the bed. It was two single beds pushed together - it was extremely bouncy and soft, and a fairly large gap kept opening up between the two beds.

Room Tip: Room 69 has two single beds pushed together - the mattresses were very soft and bouncy, so not recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your valuable review.

It is nice to hear how you enjoyed realxing in our lobby lounge with coffee, magazines and free
wi-fi.

We agree the central Vesterbro location is excellent for shopping, sights and dining.

I will have the bed hook checked, as the beds must be kept together for a comfortable sleep. We also have double beds with one matress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Copenhagen being very expensive, this hotel offer a reasonable quality/price ratio. Staff at the front desk are wonderful. However, there are some caveat you should be aware;

Rooms are very small, shower in the bath tube, noise from the street will disturb your night sleep and, breakfast is below average, served with bad coffee. As for the "boutique hotel" feature, I am still confused.

Neighborhood, well... prostitute, strip club, sex shops pickpocket etc.

Room Tip: Fishmarket restaurant is at a 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Do not miss that place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It appears your are content with the price / value for money and liked our much praised staff.

The Vesterbro neighbourhood is a popular topic, we also like "Kødbyens Fiskerestaurant" located in the old Meatpacking Area.

Our continental breakfast buffet is complimentary including black coffee and a large tea selection. We make specialty coffee for a surcharge. At the moment "Flat White" and Espresso are popular.

The bathrooms either have stand alone showers or bathtubs with shower within. Please let us know your preference, and we will do our utmost to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I read some of the reviews of this hotel and it was true, the hotel is great and in a perfect location close to Tivoli. We had a brilliant room/corner and it was very nice decorated.

The breakfast was superb. No warm dishes but stillvery good selection.

Björn (I think) in the reception was friendly and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Go for some of the more expensive rooms, they are larger. I enjoyed our corner room.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PelleStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for a great review.

The smallest rooms are "Cool" rooms and the larger rooms are "Brilliant" rooms. Feel free to choose between a a Princess room in colour scheme pink/purple or a Mermaid colour scheme in turquise/lime.

If you are not into Designers Guild fresh colours our "Wonderful" rooms a kept in a pale blue scheme.

We hope to have you as regular Andersen guest in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A great 4 nights in Copenhagen in december, great for the Christmas markets.Trip was part of a BA package, flight and hotel.Hotel is central, very well presented, clean and quiet and very helpful staff. Unfortunatly no kettle or cups in the room- Staff happy to supply these on request which was great.Late check out was easily arranged.Would highly recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: I had asked for a twin room- and got a double- we didn't challenge this- but maybe contact prior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny06_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, General Manager at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great compliments.

I apologize for not offering you twin beds, especially as quite a few of our rooms have the possibility of twins beds.

We hope to see you back at Andersen Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This attractive and clean hotel is very convenient for the central station. The price was reasonable for Copenhagen, which is an expensive city. Do not miss the Scandinavian buffet breakfast, which is first-rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful headline and compliments on our "Smart hotel and excellent breakfast"

Copenhagen is not the cheapest destination to travel to, but remember that VAT are included in the shown price. We only leave a tip to the waiter if the service was excellent. It is not custom to tip the hairdresser, the babysitter or the taxidriver. Please ask us for suggestions on tipping and taxfree shopping in Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great. It is very nice and just 2 short blocks from Copenhagen Central Station as well as walking distance to anything else you'd want to see in Copenhagen. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, especially Sean. He is worth staying here alone. We would highly recommend staying in this hotel if you are visiting Copenhagen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wicked8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for a nice and precise review.

Andersen Hotel has a perfect location if you like walking to most sights, nightlife and restaurants. The public transportation is excellent in Copenhagen ( cars and parking is expensive). But we recommend renting a bike to get around in a fast and fun way.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,821 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing