We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All brand new & a Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Andersen Hotel was completely remodeled in the spring or 2012. Everything was new, clean and up to date. The room was a little small, but a great value. Our room at the Axel up the street was twice the price a week earlier. Our room off the courtyard was very quiet. The bathroom configuration was a little odd. You walk through the shower to get to the toilet. A fine breakfast was included in the price of the room and served from 7 a.m. till 10 a.m. The free internet was provided via the cloud which seemed very slow. The reception desk staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and very centrally located.

Room Tip: Try and get one not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michigander5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We needed a hotel in Copenhagen for after a Baltic cruise. and the hotels all seemed very overpriced - Was grateful to find this hotel that reopened in May. It is convenient to the train station, Tivoli Gardens, etc. Our room was small, but no smaller than rooms in central London or Paris. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very fresh, modern and clean. There was free wifi and a good size safe. We stayed Saturday night and there was a DJ, a free flute of champagne and snacks in the bar/lobby. They loaned us a cell phone so they could give us a wake up call.
As other reviews state, there are some ladies of the evening on the streets nearby.
Breakfast was included. There was a wonderful selection and the presentation was beautiful. There were fresh and dried fruits, yogurt, cheese, eggs, lots of pastries and a delicious dense, dark bread. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Bjorn. If you are going to the airport you can prepay for a taxi through the hotel desk and ensure a fair price. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back courtyard away from the street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank powell_diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

First of all, thank you for all the compliments on the breakfast, the room and our Receptionist. A majority of our guests appreciate the complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, a safe in the room and I am delighted that you took advantage of the free cell phone.

Secondly, feedback on our Electric Lounge with DJ and champagne is welcome, as we have been testing the concept during the summer months.

We look forward to welcome you back, and will keep you up to date on future events on Facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived on Tuesday late night and almost checked inn for another person by mistake.
Rooms are too small, mattress are too soft and there is no telephone in the room.
When we needed to contact reception we called from our mobile phone; it is a real stupid!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank avi052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

I apologize for the small room ("Cool Double" our smallest room type) but I hope you did not miss anything in the room except a telephone. Our "Wonderful Rooms" on the first floor all have telephones. At the front desk we keep cell phones for complimentary use during our guests stay in Copenhagen. It is regrettable that you were not offered a free phone. You are welcome to contact us for a refund of the calls made to the reception.

All the beds are new, Danish produced and accredited for its high quality. I am sorry that you found the mattress too soft, as we aim for all our guests to sleep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. The room was EXTREMELY small, but we expected that and only were there to sleep so it wasn't a problem. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very nicely decorated. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. The design of the hotel is very cool and modern and the staff was friendly. The only complaint I would have is we had drinks in the room and when the maid service came through they did not clean up the dirty cups. However, the hotel had free drinks both nights we were there (Friday and Saturday) which was great. Other reviews have mentioned that the hotel is surrounded by sex shops and prostitutes but we never had an issue. There was definitely a strip club and a shop right next door but we didn't notice any prostitutes nor did this detract from our stay. We were also able to rent bikes from the hotel to use all day, which was a great way to see Copenhagen. This was well worth the extra ~$15 as the city is more spread out than I had expected. We were even able to take them out with us at night to dinner and the bars. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if ever returning to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skemmer1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank your for your valuable review.

Your point of dirty cups in the room during your stay made us change stayover cleaning procedures. And we truly appreciate your honest opinion.

All our bicycles have excellent lights, as we recommend riding bikes after dark (4 pm)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and the fact it was a newly renovated property. It was great for touring the city a couple of days before a cruise. It is just a couple of blocks from the Central Station railway and near Tivoli Gardens, Stroget and other city landmarks. It is also in an area that is undergoing renovation with a few ladies of the evening still in need of business and a strip club down the street, but is is safe. The breakfast buffet was ample and the personnel were all personable and accommodating. The rooms are rather small, and there is no AC. But, we really did not need it, but sometimes with the windows open, the outside activity was disturbing. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinspeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments on our hotel.

From our many cruise guests we have learned that a large room is appreciated, as a cruise often means big luggage. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the location, the breakfast and our personnel.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Newly done up place in great location walking distance from train station (less than 5 mins) and Tivoli Gardens, so ideal for exploring city centre. We'd booked a special rate which included room upgrade and chocs/bubbly, but said treats weren't there on arrival. Asked at reception, who said they'd send them up for our second night - they didn't arrive. Wasn't a disaster for us as we were having a great time exploring the city but mentioned it on checkout - think this time we got the manager who was extremely embarrassed and apologetic, and immediately gave us the extra money back plus a further discount. So quite happy about that!
Breakfast was decent, everything in the room very brightly coloured, slightly cramped breakfast room. Reception was nice, with nice seating area and place to store bags. Bedroom was very nice, 'funky' new decor, lovely products in bathroom, only gripe was nowhere in bathroom to put your wash bag. Loved the light fittings in bedroom!
Altogether a very nice hotel although possibly some staff not quite up to speed (although everyone was friendly).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you sharing your experiences.

It is a good reminder of the importance of continuously training our staff and never forget the consequences of not paying attention to details. It is reassuring that our Manager solved the forgotten amenity mistake in a professional and courteous way.

The Molton Brown´s products are a part of the "Green Park" hotel amenity line, and the lights are Danish design.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on a celebratory holiday to Copenhagen. The hotel is very close to the station, which has brilliant links to the airport, and was very easy to find. The rooms were bright and well furnished, lacking only tea and coffee making facilities but I think this is common in Europe. The only criticism we have of the room is that they gave us 2 single duvets instead of one king on the bed which was 2 singles pushed together, this didn't bother us too much though as we did not raise it with the staff. Breakfast is a large continental with plenty of coffee and the manager/owner coming round daily with bizarre Danish drinks or just to say hi, which is a nice touch. The staff were all very friendly especially the excitable multilingual Shaun who is always willing to give great restaurant recommendations and is corteous above and beyond.
Overall a bright central location, well priced for what they offer, we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Most of our rooms have one large feather duvet, but we also offer two single duvets. You are always more than welcome to request either (most Danes prefer two single duvets....). We also have non allergic pillows and duvets.

The drink on the Breakfast Buffet is a Bitter "Gammel Dansk" (Old Danish) - some people believe it is a fine way to start the day and I hope it will aid digesting the sometimes weird and wonderful Danish food.

Most of our receptionists live in the neighbourhood and they all have a broad restaurant and local knowledge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,155 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 119 in Copenhagen
378 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 119 in Copenhagen
413 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 119 in Copenhagen
467 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: $160 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip, trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, snack bar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing