We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Nearby Hotels
$267
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copenhagen Strand(Copenhagen)
$246
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel(Copenhagen)
$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
$355
$346
SKT. PETRI
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$416
$362
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tivoli Hotel(Copenhagen)
$266
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)
$236
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andersen Boutique Hotel(Copenhagen)
$272
$242
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel(Copenhagen)
$502
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveler rating
365
631
232
39
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
631
232
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetgreat locationclose to nyhavnsuperior roomkongens nytorvmetro stationwithin walking distanceminute walkfree wificentral locationexcellent breakfastnyhavn areadanish designwould stay here againsmall bathroomair conditioningthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We used our BW points to stay 2 nights at this hotel after a baltic cruise. This hotel exceeded my expectation. The hotel doesn't look that appealing from outside but it's nicely decorated in the lobby. Our standard room was very standard but was comfortable. Not like the N. American BW hotels, the room didn't come with the coffee/tea maker but after asking the front desk, we were able to "borrow" a set from them at no extra charge.

The location is excellent. Since Copenhagen is so walkable, we didn't even need to take the HOHO bus. We simply plan our walking route and tour the entire city on foot in 2 days.

The included breakfast was more than enough, it had everything to please everyone, either Europeans or N. Americans. They even had a live band playing nice jazz songs for us on Sunday morning!

The only thing I didn't like was the entrance to the hotel. There was no ramp. So we had to lift our luggages up a few steps before we can reach the front desk and the elevators. I guess they can't do anything about it because that's how the building was designed in the old days. It will definitely be a challenge for anyone with a wheelchair or has difficulties with stairs.

Overall, we were very satisfied with the hotel. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean, check-in/out was a breeze. Great value with the BW rewards points. We are very light sleepers and we had great sleeps. Will definitely recommend others to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are cooler and quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jag1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel has a great breakfast and is located convenient to metro and other amenities. It also has free wireless internet, whichh I was not expecting. The entire staff has a customer focus attitude but we wanted to especially mention Nete, who went out of her way to help us. We came with food wrapped in tin foil from an aborted attempt at dining at Nyhavn 17. She quickly brought up plates, silverware, and a bucket of ice. She could not have been nicer and more helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammySedonaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear SammySedonaBlue

Thank you for your positive feedback – I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our hotel.
We are always happy to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you for your kind words about my staff. I really appreciate it and will make sure to pass on your feedback to them all and especially to Nete.

I hope to welcome you back again someday and wish you a nice day.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. The location was great and the hotel very clean. The rooms are small but adaquate. We were very happy there was a fan which we put in the window at night and it made sleeping very comfortable (as it was humid that day). It was easy to get to from the train station and it's general location was excellent. We walked everywhere, even to Tivoli. The staff was wonderful. It had a very nice breakfast and we were very happy it was included. I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was able to get our cabs to take us to the ship the next day. I certainly wouldd stay here again.. It was a great value for the money

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBSTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear DBSTexas

Always glad to hear positive words about my staff, the hotel and our breakfast. We do pride ourselves in having a quite good product situated in a central location.

Thank you for taking your time to offer your feedback.
I hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Hotel City in Copenhagen, Denmark prior to our cruise in May. The price is very reasonable compared to some other hotels. We chose this hotel because of its location. You can walk to many of the attractions including the Royal Palace, Straget shopping district and the very picturesque Nyhavn. The bus stop for the hop on/off bus is only 2 blocks from the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the canal boat tour with Netto. It is lower cost than the other boat tour company. The open boat is great for taking pictures as long as it is not raining.
The breakfast at BW Hotel City is very good...better than what we were expecting. There were excellent choices of both hot and cold food, cereals and fruits. The coffee was also what I need to start off the day.
Our group of 20 booked 10 rooms with the hotel. Check in was fast and efficient. The rooms were small but clean which is all we needed since we were planning to check out Copenhagen and not stay in the hotel anyway.
In addition, we booked our transfers to the pier and airport through the hotel. Everything went ok except the bus was a little late in arriving to take us to the airport. I would stay in this hotel again and have recommend it to a friend.
Tony

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timber288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel city - we were very pleased with our choice as it was nicely situated near the harbour and the closest metro to get us back to the airport was only about a 10 minute walk so all in all a well sited place.

The room was a fair size for a European Hotel ( booked standard not superior) - had a couple of chairs and low coffee table as well as a window desk and chair. The bed was a 6ft - very welcome in a hot room ( which over reviewers have mentioned!). We had to use the 'plug in' fan constantly at night.

Bathroom was fine...shower with curtain was decent size, wet floor not in a bath tub so easy to get in and out. I thought cleanliness was OK - could have done with a bit more of a scrub for my standards.

I was shocked to find a half bottle of whiskey and unfinished bottle of red wine at back of the top shelf of the wardrobe when I took down the extra pillows for use!!! Either the maid is having a quick swig :-) or it belonged to a previous visitor? Either way it suggests that cleaning is not always thorough.

Breakfast was very good - had a great selection so no complaints there - as a previous reviewer suggested, it was a valued meal as eating out in Copenhagen is extortionate at times.

I would stay here again if visiting Denmark as overall it was well sited and comfy.

Room Tip: Corner room - standard seems to be a good size
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews