We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was the highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast was the highlight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel city - we were very pleased with our choice as it was nicely situated near the harbour and the closest metro to get us back to the airport was only about a 10 minute walk so all in all a well sited place.

The room was a fair size for a European Hotel ( booked standard not superior) - had a couple of chairs and low coffee table as well as a window desk and chair. The bed was a 6ft - very welcome in a hot room ( which over reviewers have mentioned!). We had to use the 'plug in' fan constantly at night.

Bathroom was fine...shower with curtain was decent size, wet floor not in a bath tub so easy to get in and out. I thought cleanliness was OK - could have done with a bit more of a scrub for my standards.

I was shocked to find a half bottle of whiskey and unfinished bottle of red wine at back of the top shelf of the wardrobe when I took down the extra pillows for use!!! Either the maid is having a quick swig :-) or it belonged to a previous visitor? Either way it suggests that cleaning is not always thorough.

Breakfast was very good - had a great selection so no complaints there - as a previous reviewer suggested, it was a valued meal as eating out in Copenhagen is extortionate at times.

I would stay here again if visiting Denmark as overall it was well sited and comfy.

Room Tip: Corner room - standard seems to be a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    554
    205
    34
    12
See reviews for
143
544
98
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel and it was a great deal. Things are very expensive in Copenhagen, so getting breakfast included is a real plus. The location is great, right near the canals and area with lots of restaurants and bars. The staff was very friendly. Free wi-fi. The room we received was spacious and clean.

Room Tip: 513 was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Copenhagen is an expensive city and finding a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location is hard. Best Western Hotel City is a great value in a great location. It's right next to Nyhavn and all other sites but not right on a main road. The metro from the airport is right near Kongens Nytorv and there's a useful bus stop at Holbergsgade down the street.

Service was excellent and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early and were able to check-in right away.

Wifi was fast and stable. TV had several English channels.

The breakfast was full of choices and excellent. Almost worth the stay just for it.

The room was small, but I was expecting that and was fine considering the low price. There was a single bed, chair and small desk, which is all I need. The bathroom was also small and the shower was tight. Thankfully it wasn't a fully enclosed shower so you could move around.

Overall this hotel is an excellent value in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WNY_traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel when we were unable to get a room at the Admiral Hotel where we had stayed on previous visits to Copenhagen. The ladies at reception are exceptional, particularly the young lady who took me outside to explain on her own bicycle how bicycle locks in Copenhagen work. Wow! So friendly and helpful I thought for a moment she must be the owners' daughter. The breakfast is included in the room cost and is very tasty. There's lots of variety. Seems many business men and women who are looking for value for money stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, the beds were good, and the sunshine poured into the room in the morning. The one drawback was when we flushed the toilet a smell of urine entered the bathroom— from where, we don't know. Two guest computers are available and all programs are up-to-date. Not so in some of the 5-star hotels. The hotel is super close to Nyhavn, good restaurants and the pedestrian-only shopping street. We'll stay here again as we think the toilet problem will be repaired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteknight63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location, very helpful staff, breakfast was very generous and delicious. The rooms were very small, it was warm so the portable fans helped (no AC), bathrooms tiny. It is fine for a night or two. We were off a cruise ship so it was very handy to the cruise ship ports.

Room Tip: okay for a night or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. We walked to all the sites including Tivoli Gardens (30 minute walk). The breakfast is wonderful and large...all the men in our group were happy! Because the hotel has no air conditioning we had to leave the window open. We always use a sound machine (white noise) when we sleep so we had no problem with any street noise. The others in our group who slept without a sound machine complained that the garbage trucks showed up at 5:00am and there were some other street noises that woke them. The rooms had fans so there was plenty of air circulation and the temps were in the 70's so no problem with heat. We requested a queen size bed and got one...it was very comfortable and the linens were great. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel bar was always open. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are worried about street noise request a back location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAX148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The room is nothing fancy, could do with a safe but otherwise perfectly adequate


Breakfast is very very good


Hotel would appear to be on a quiet street, however as its very warm here we have had to keep the window open .the noise is pretty bad I have no idea where is coming from but there is shouting all night at 7 am this morning there was still loud music and shouting

For me the worse thing is the bed , it is so soft it is causing me back problems.and I can't sleep.however my husband thinks it's the best bed ever and has slept like a log !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KClausen, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Lesley H,
Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and hotel.

We do consider the location of our hotel as quiet but at the same time we are located in the city center and therefore noise may occur from people going home from clubs or a neighbour's party.
Our night porter is attentive where he can take action.

Regarding the bed, which as you state is a very subjective object, but to your information we have just changed 30 beds and we will continue to do so within the next course of time.

Best regards,
K Clausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing